We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYC boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #127 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you enjoy smaller, boutique hotels you will love this hotel. Located at 31st and Madison you are close to everything. Walk to Broadway, near to subways or just take a cab. Rooms are nicely equipped and comfortable. Lobby has great meeting areas and bar. Charlie, the conceirge is a gem

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gerald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Gerald V:

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very lucky to have Charlie our Chief Concierge as he is a true expert on NYC.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,408)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chandler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 3,408 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I booked my stay through SLH (Small Luxury Hotels), which only chooses great properties as members. Once again SLH has chosen an excellent Property. Staff is quick and appreciative. Rooms are great, clean and well appointed. Nice views. Close to Subway and easy to get anywhere in Manhattan. LOVE MY NEW HOTEL IN NYC!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Logan R:

We are so happy that you found us through SLH! It is so nice to hear that we will be your home away from home while travelling to NYC. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

On the one hand, if I give this hotel an honest review? I'm terrified that it will skyrocket out of my price range. But on the other hand? Not singing Hotel Chandler's praises would be a crime.

I arrived, as a result of flight changes, at the hotel at 7am. I was surprised to know I would be allowed to check in and shocked that a room was made available for me.

The next evening, I lost my ID. The concierge spent considerable time making calls to make sure I could board my flight.

But after I was gone, the housekeeper found my ID and the manager immediately called me. The next day, he mailed my ID to me.

I can't say enough about the service at this hotel. I certainly hope it stays a hidden value!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffDDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear JeffDDean:

Thank you for your funny review! Please make sure to sign up for our news letter and emails on our website as we do run promotions from time to time which make your stay more affordable. Being that January is statistically our slowest month the rates do tend to be lower.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here twice now and both times have been excellent. From arrival to departure nothing is too much trouble, everything is as expected and the hotel is a haven of peace and quite in hectic NYC.

Every single member of staff makes you feel welcome and at home while providing a fantastic level of customer service.

The location is perfect, with the Empire State building literally around the corner and within walking distance of many main NYC attractions. There are a number of decent places to eat very close to the Hotel Chandler and the in house restaurant looks delightful (although we never tried it).

The rooms are clean and comfortable and my only small gripe is the lighting could be better in the room. Apart from that everything is absolutely perfect and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very nice hotel, will return for sure. Staff is super friendly and very helpful with everything. Would like if they included breakfast in the price. Complimentary coffee and tea was much appreciated..


  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Belluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Belluan:

Thank you so much for your recent review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a breakfast package available on our website if that is more convenient for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Aside from the loud jackhammering outside my window , the HC is a great value....very comfortable bed, big bathroom, and the best little hotel bar in town. The food was average but the bartender was a craft cocktail master. An international, ecclectic crowd at the bar.

Room Tip: get a room away from 31st street if you want to sleep past 6
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed for one night for an event we attended. The staff was very helpful and welcoming especially door staff and bellman. We used the dining room for breakfast only and it was very nicely done. The food was very good and staff very eager and accommodating! The room although small was very comfortable, but could have used better lighting. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerMgr, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear PeterMmertoNY:

Thank you for your recent review! We appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at Juni.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 468 in New York City
509 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 468 in New York City
2,748 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#197 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,328 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#160 of 468 in New York City
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $227 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing