We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100%value for money!”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #132 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
1 review
“100%value for money!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

we just came from great" honey moon" in ny- love the hotel, the prime location, the kind hospitality,the clean rooms- and the value for money! we'll come again!!!soon....
we arrived early in the morning from la- get our room quickly , with a friendly welcome,
great shower, large beds, fresh towels and emenities every day.... everything was 100%!

Room Tip: king size bed high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    1,047
    277
    103
    54
See reviews for
588
1,374
219
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here whilst in New York.
Just a stones throw from Empire State Building too.
Ok there was scafolding nearby but there was a lot of this around N Y
Good position to get to all the places to see
Staff very friendly especially Scott who was most helpful.
Rooms lovely and clean, fresh towels everyday and bedding.
Mini bar and snacks available but very expensive I thought
Hotel areas spotless.
Free internet access which was excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived early on a red-eye flight, and given the popularity of this Hotel, we were sure we won't get our rooms until much later in the day. However, the hotel staff was super friendly and helpful, and we were told the moment house-keeping cleared a room, they would call us. Sure enough, 30 minutes later, we were told a room was available. What a pleasant surprise!

The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. The hotel is in the perfect location for those who want to do some shopping on the 5th Ave. But what stood out about Hotel Chandler is the friendliness and helpfulness of their staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Brandon W:

Thank you so much for your kind words! I am delighted we were able to accommodate your early check in. We pride ourselves in our customer service and I am glad to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful.

Yours sincerely,

Kate Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night while attending a special event. The room was very nice and reasonably sized as far as NYC hotels go, perhaps even larger than average. *Note to those not familiar with NYC accomadations: Most everything is smaller than your typical hotel room, even at the chain hotels you may be used to staying at elsewhere, prepare yourself for that reality.* The decor was in line with a sofiaticated boutique, but not over the top, subway tiled bathroom, huge rain shower, plush bed. Overall very clean hotel. Paid a promotional rate of less than $300 for a night (which in that price range in NYC usual doesn't get you much) and was very pleasantly surprised. The location is central to many NYC attractions, either waking or short cab, very good if you plan on visiting several areas of the city. Overall an excellent value for well appointed accommodations, location, and service. Request a room in the front of the hotel if you're looking for a view.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Normally the first thing I do is call housekeeping to replace the down and feather pillows and comforter that so many "upscale" hotels furnish in the rooms. This time was no different. I was pleasantly surprised when the front desk informed me that the rooms were hypoallergenic. No feathers or down. I could see the positive effects right away. My husband never sneezed or needed allergy meds. Very clean and nice. I don't know how they were able to get the cozy feel of down without the down but the beds were fabulous and comfortable.

I reserved a suite and was happy with the accommodations; AC was COLD; great shower; fantastic location; never tried the breakfast. I appreciated the low noise level on the 12th floor. The concierge was very friendly and helpful and the whole place felt a bit business/homey. Business crowd with the intimacy and quiet refuge of a home. My husband and 8 year old son enjoyed our stay. The only "con" was size of bathroom. But for NYC, it was just fine. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 12th floor was very quiet. Reserve a suite if you can afford it. The size and having a separate li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaScottTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotels in New York tend to be outrageously expensive, specially those that are located in Manhattan island.

I was happily surprised by this centric, comfortable and reasonable-price hotel.

Let me enumerate at set of pros and cons:
Location: excellent, just 2 blocks away from the empire state.
Front desk: very polite and clear cut personel, rather targeted to a "bussiness" clientele.
Building: construction site next to the main building, lacking a bit of character.
Breakfast: did not try it but it seemed kind of pricy considering that there are plenty of coffee shops around the corner (my favourite is Eataly only ten blocks away).
Rooms: large and comfortable, great bed, AC, well functioning WiFi, safety box, flat tv screen, fridge, you can order some snacks but no dinner is served. Decoration is sober and very classic...nothing out of the extraordinary. Lovely shower and medium size bathroom.

All in all, I would recommend it for a first trip to NYC because location is PERFECT and also for bussiness travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Chandler on business for the past 3 or 4 years now. Consistently thoughout all those stays, the hotel is clean and the staff gragious and accomodating. This is how a hotel should be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,492 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#35 of 468 in New York City
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,198 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 468 in New York City
890 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing