We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely visit”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #129 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I visit NY about 3 times a year and each time stay at the Chandler. The location is central but it's on a quiet side street, away from the hub-bub (but not construction, beyond their control). The front desk, the concierge, the bellmen, everyone is gracious and pleasant, always a smile. I printed my boarding pass at the hotel computer and left a bag with purchases there. Five minutes later I got a call from Lubie at the front desk that they'd found my bag (which I hadn't missed yet) and she was sending it up. Even though it didn't have anything identifying it was mine, somehow they knew. There are comfy beds, fine linens, well-appointed bathroom, hot coffee all the time. They all make Hotel Chandler my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,091 - 2,097 of 3,432 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was fantastic , rooms although small were well equiped and everything was top quality
Staff were extremely friendly nothing was too much bother

Breakfast was overpriced and consisted only off continental , that was not an issue as being so central there was plenty of breakfast places in walking distance

I would recommend this hotel to anyone , location was fantastic very central to everything

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank papading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Service, cleanliness, quality of room all would have made it at least a 4 star, but the clogged shower drain and the clogged wash basin were the deal breakers. I have relatively few needs when I get a hotel room, but a nice functioning bathroom is one of them. After my first attempted shower, the ridiculously slow drain caused water to overflow onto the main bathroom floor. At the same time, the wash basin also had a slow drain with clogged overflow, further worsening the problem on the bathroom floor. I gave them a chance to unclog everything while I went out for a bit to eat. Came back and tried to take a shower again. Exactly the same problem recurred. I stayed my one night and left, never attempting to take another shower.

Room Tip: Booked through Small Luxury Hotels and got instant upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHuPiTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear JHuPiTer:

I am so sorry to hear about what occurred during your stay. I do see notations that an engineer did go up to your room to fix your issues however it appears they were not. We will be reviewing this internally to see why this was not fixed correctly.

Once again my sincerest apologies and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your sincerely,
Kate Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This small, boutique hotel is located just around the corner from the Empire State Building. It is an easy walk to Penn railway station, the 34th Street subway and also Times Square. The location is therefor quite good. Rooms are a decent size,especially for New York City and are very well appointed. Bathrooms are however a little on the small size.They contain a bar fridge a safe and there is good,in room free wi fi. The management and staff are extremely helpful making this a very pleasant place to stay. The concierge will arrange anything you could possibly want. The only complaint that we had was the recently opened bar. It was a little too antiseptic -especially for New York.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking 31st Street. They let in more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall everything and everyone was fantastic the only thing that was in my eyes ridiculous was the breakfast a price of $15.00 is silly I've stayed in other hotels that the breakfast is free and way better. Also the room I originally stayed in the AC broke in the night about 1 am they sent up maintenance to fix it ( at 1 am why we are trying to sleep) he fixed it and 30 mins after it broke again and we where moved to another room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but they could update the AC's for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We found this to be a very pleasant hotel about 20 minutes walk to Times Square. The rooms were very comfortable but if there are two of you book a room with two wardrobes. The bathrooms with walk in shower and Moulton Brown toiletries were to a high standard. We were able to take advantage of free tea and coffee in the lobby and at the time we visited they were offereing free cheese and wine in the evenings. The staff were attentive and friendly. We would definitely stay here again when visiting New York again which we would love to do! Ask for the location of the restaurant The Crooked Fork which was a great local eatery and was Tasty Cafe for breakfast just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two wardrobes if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I spent seen days here. Small boutique hotel convenitently located on 31st not far from the Empire State on 5th. Small rooms but you probably get that in NYC. Bed was comfy although peaked in the middle. Rooms were clean. Hotel was not tired. Staff extremely helpful. Only annoying things were the slow lifts and that you had to enter passwords every time you logged on the the wifi if I had to be picky. All in all a pleasant stay and would recommended if you want somewhere mid town, clean, comfy with helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandCathy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear JoeandCathy08:

Thank you for your review. We have noted all your comments regarding the elevators, the bed and the wifi and will look into how we can improve on these items.

We are happy the staff were friendly and able to assist you.

Your sincerely,

Kate Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#40 of 469 in New York City
540 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#151 of 469 in New York City
2,839 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 469 in New York City
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#224 of 469 in New York City
201 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 469 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#163 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $223 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing