We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Chandler Hotel is a small hotel in a great, central location just a few blocks away from the Empire State Building.

Check was very quick and efficient and staff were very helpful and friendly which makes a nice change to previous experiences in New York hotels.
A member of staff accompanied us to our room and explained everything there was to explain. After a few minutes we had a complimentary bottle of wine and a box of chocolates delivered and there was a call to check everything was ok. Ten out of ten for customer care!

We stayed in a de luxe king bedroom at the front of the hotel with a bit of a view (we were on the 10th floor so you couldn't see the street below).
Rooms were not overly big but that is to be expected in New York. The bathroom was very spacious with a walk-in shower and nice Molton Brown toiletries.

The restaurant was being finished and should be open by now. As compensation guests could have wine and chesse in the late afternoon.

There is a lot of construction work outside the hotel going on as the building next door is being added to the hotel to create more rooms.
It didn't cause any problems while we were there for us.

If it is a nice day you should try and go to 230 on 5th, a rooftop bar/restaurant where you'll have a spectulair view of the Empire State Building.
The Crooked Knife is just a block away from the hotel if you want to eat something within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front and away from the lift
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Janny20:

We are so happy you had an enjoyable stay and that the staff met your expectations. We strive to make our guests feel at home so we are delighted when we manage to achieve this! Our new restaurant Juni is opening up in a few weeks and our bar has already re opened.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,412)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chandler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,082 - 2,088 of 3,412 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very nice hotel , very clean, staff helpful , it felt safe and in a good location. It has soñé construction, but it was not inconveniente at all, they offered free cheese and wine to guests for not having The Restaurant working. Overall it was a very nice stay .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajer008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I think you have the option to upgrade to a view, but we went with the basic pre-paid price which saved us significantly. I'm pretty sure the website never said anything like "your room that you are choosing has a terrible view, are you sure you want to continue?" The accomodations are nice and bed quite soft and comfortable, but the bathroom is extremely small (think knees touching the wall while on the toilet) and virtually no counter space. The bath robes were a nice touch. The shower was nicely appointed with tile, rainshower head and moulton brown toiletries. My only real complaints are the lack of view since our window looked out into another building that was under construction as of late June 2013, but as I mentioned before I think you can pay more for a view that actually has some sunlight! Additionally, the air conditioning was quite loud but I think we still fell asleep quickly because we were so exhausted from traveling. If you're a light sleeper, beforewarned if you go in summer and need the A/C on. We will consider going back there again because of the location and price, but may upgrade for at least something of a view. We enjoyed the complementary tea/coffee and wine and snacks between 5:30-8 PM. Hotel is a short walk from the Line 6 subway line, which we did easily with suitcases in tow from our trip overseas.

Room Tip: Ask what the view from the room will be...that may make you reconsider which one you choose!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WakebdrGRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A great location making it easy to walk just about anywhere. The ambience and charm of a small European hotel. The staff, every single one of them, could not be nicer or more helpful. I will definitely stay here again as we'll as recommend it to friends traveling to NY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a trip to New York. Stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Chandler located between 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue on East 31st Street. It is between Times Square and the Village and a good location, although taxis to the theater district are necessary. The hotel is very well appointed with excellent linens and personal products - shampoo, etc. The service was outstanding and there was someone available to answer all our questions. The hotel is under renovation with a bar and restaurant being added. Because the bar was not open there was complimentary wine and cheese in the hotel lounge each night from 5:30 to 8:00 p.m. although we were too busy to enjoy this except for our first night. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to the experienced traveller. The rooms run on the small side but are well appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay, very helpful staff, uncomplicated, clean. Room a bit small, but that's nothing unusual for NY. Excellent location if you need to be in the area around 5th avenue and the 30's.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandler-III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Chandler III:

We are happy that the Hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel, very friendly staff & extremely helpful. Great location, clean property and rooms, and excellent service overall.
I would really recommend it for anyone that goes to NYC as i would personally stay there again anytime I go to NYC

Room Tip: High floor would be great and not close to the elevator
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaleya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 468 in New York City
512 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 468 in New York City
2,756 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 468 in New York City
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#191 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,338 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#163 of 468 in New York City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $224 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing