We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Manhattan”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #127 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A great location making it easy to walk just about anywhere. The ambience and charm of a small European hotel. The staff, every single one of them, could not be nicer or more helpful. I will definitely stay here again as we'll as recommend it to friends traveling to NY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,407)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chandler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 3,408 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a trip to New York. Stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Chandler located between 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue on East 31st Street. It is between Times Square and the Village and a good location, although taxis to the theater district are necessary. The hotel is very well appointed with excellent linens and personal products - shampoo, etc. The service was outstanding and there was someone available to answer all our questions. The hotel is under renovation with a bar and restaurant being added. Because the bar was not open there was complimentary wine and cheese in the hotel lounge each night from 5:30 to 8:00 p.m. although we were too busy to enjoy this except for our first night. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to the experienced traveller. The rooms run on the small side but are well appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay, very helpful staff, uncomplicated, clean. Room a bit small, but that's nothing unusual for NY. Excellent location if you need to be in the area around 5th avenue and the 30's.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandler-III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Chandler III:

We are happy that the Hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back,

Sincerely,
Kate Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel, very friendly staff & extremely helpful. Great location, clean property and rooms, and excellent service overall.
I would really recommend it for anyone that goes to NYC as i would personally stay there again anytime I go to NYC

Room Tip: High floor would be great and not close to the elevator
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaleya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel was very nice even with all of the construction going on next door. The location was good for us. The rooms were quite small but that is what I expect in NYC but the bathroom was a good size. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating with the exception of one of the concierges (wore glasses). He was very condescending and unpleasant. We did not leave him a tip (I don't tip to be insulted!) The other concierge was very pleasant. Everything else about this hotel was good and I would recommend it to others if the location is good for them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times for business and have never been disappointed. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are very nice and "homey". The hotel is always very clean as well. I would rather stay here than at the bigger hotels in Times Square. It is truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After some sort of disappointement when discovering the very tiny room, I must reckon that I enjoyed my stay in this hotel (3 nights). Very helpful staff who made nice recommendations for dinner. Wine, cheese & fruits offered in the late afternoon, much appreciated after long days of visits. I did not try the breakfast there since there are a lot of good options very close by for much less than 15$ a continental one.
Very conveniently located, and last but not least, very quiet for NYC! No noise at all for perfect nights...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophiedesmontagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, General Manager at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear sophiedesmontagnes:

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were helpful. I am sorry you found your room to be small, we do have different sizes and configurations as we are a boutique hotel. Please make sure to mention this when reserving your room in the future and we will try an allocate a different room lay out for you.
We are happy you were able to enjoy the cheese and wine reception while our bar was closed. It has since re opened and our restaurant Juni is due to open in August.

Sincerely,
Kate Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 468 in New York City
509 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 468 in New York City
2,746 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#197 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,328 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#160 of 468 in New York City
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $227 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing