We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to know about”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Place to know about”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We found the Chandler when looking for a place on short notice for the weekend after Christmas.. This was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were small but clean, the staff was helpful and friendly. The concierge was knowledgable and kept in touch until all was arranged. Very convenient to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, and the Empire State building. Subways about 2 blocks away in Herold square.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank entshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Your title made my New Year's Day extra special! I so look forward to opening our fabulous new restaurant, Juni, this year! It was quite a year, last year, with Hurricane Sandy and all. It is reviews like yours that makes it all worthwile. Happy New Year everyone!!!

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,800
    1,031
    267
    98
    51
See reviews for
572
1,354
215
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Lovely hotel, classy, very comfortable and clean. Beautiful, classic design. Was, however, really disappointed that my special request made when booking (which was very important to me and I'm sure could have been easily fulfilled) was not acted on or even acknowledged. Also disappointed that although taxi was booked for us on check out, noone helped us to the taxi with our bags, leaving my mum, who is in her senior years, to struggle before I intervened. Generally, the staff were good, but in the ways that I have described, were not as attentive as previous reviews had led me to believe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina_s07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure discussing your feedback and I am sorry that we did not receive your special request from your booking on Travelocity.com
I do hope you enjoy the Chandler bathrobe per your special request, whcih we mailed to you.

Regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay in hotel Chandler. 20th Dec to Dec27th 2012

We have been to many hotels ,and this hotel is by far the best one we have been in . The staff could not help us enough and were so friendly too. The room was big enough and the big shower was great always had hot water day and night . The tv in the room was bigger than I was expecting , and the bed was so so comfy and the room was cleaned to a high standard. This was are 1st visit to new york and the US and we will be back again to stay in this hotel. And not least free tea and coffee 24hrs a day . I would advise anyone looking to go to nyc book this hotel ,they won,t let you down

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas this year. It was in a great location for us in that it was mid-way between uptown stuff and Chinatown and the Village. It is just a couple of blocks from Macys and close to multiple subways. It is also an easy walk to Eatlay.

So here we go. We valeted our car at the front door which was nice as opposed to having to drive the car to parking and there didn't seem to be a surcharge for valet. As expected, no in/out privledges but really, who wants to drive in NYC? Our check-in was super smooth and the receptionist was very friendly. Our first room was right by the elevator and they were very accomodating and moved us to a different room that was at the end of the building.

The room was very nice with the amount of space you would expect in NYC. We were in a disability-accessible room so was a bit roomer than the first room we were in. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was roomy with a nice shower. Everything was new, clean and in excellent shape. The turndown service with chocolate was a nice touch.

Throughout the entire stay all the staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel will probably be our first choice when we return to the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our second stay and the hotel continues to impress. Great shower, comfortable bed and a nice fitness room complimented by an excellent staff. Convenient to restaurants, business and shopping. Parking is offsite and is $50/day valet.

Room Tip: Try to stay off street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckcocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

4.5 stars (i bumped it to a 5 due to the wanks that give it a 1 because of superficial BS).
Excellent location. Clean. Helpful staff. Quiet (the hotel that is, NYC is loud...honk!!!) The rooms are a bit small but on par in NYC. You come to the Big Apple for the city not the size of the hotel room... keep sight of the big picture people.

Cons: Renovation/construction of a new restaurant and front façade on main level... hey it's expansion, it wasn't noisy. This didn't detract from the stay. And next time I come back the hotel will be even better.

If you want a good restaurant go to Les Halles at Park between 28/29th. Gotta have the beef bourguignon with frites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very comfortable hotel rooms with Frette linens, great rainfall shower heads, perfect for business travel. Convenient to Macy's, subway, SOHO bars and restaurants, and the Empire State Building. Perfect for business travelers.

Room Tip: Frequent guests are rewarded with larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkinCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChandlerManager, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!

I wish you and all the Trip Advisor Readers and Reviewers a Happy and Healthy 2013!!!

Kind regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing