We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Indeed a hidden gem”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First class hotel in an unexpected neighborhood, excellent service levels, comfortable and accommodating. Nice common areas on lobby level, good fitness equipment and coffee available around the clock.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    1,053
    279
    106
    55
See reviews for
595
1,380
219
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed a weekend here on the way home from Canada to the UK. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable, well-appointed room (no.1032, a Deluxe Queen, on the 10th floor so nice and quiet). Good bathroom (shower only) with all the necessaries. There is a small lounge off the lobby with TV and some excellent books on the City. Very well located in midtown just a few blocks from the Empire State. Overall an excellent base in NYC at a reasonable price. Not a flashy hotel but it has its own immaculate charm. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet go for a higher floor room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rbr8ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having stayed at the Hotel Chandler for 3 nights last week I have to say what a nice hotel it is. Very clean everywhere. Courteous staff who are only too happy to help with ordering taxis, opening doors etc. My husbands only gripe was that with it being 4* he expected tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There was a mini bar and sweets (very expensive) but thats all. There was however FREE tea, coffee * lemon water in the hotel foyer.
The locations good too. 5 minutes to the Empire State Building. All in all we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a superior queen room which was small BUT certainly big enough. The bathroom was large and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenerifelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Any review entitled LOVELY HOTEL makes my day!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, complimentary coffee and tea service and the now fully completed remodeling of the lobby, library, breakfast lounge, bar and guest rooms. We shall be opening a new restaurant towards the beginning of next year. I will keep you posted!

Kind regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I went to NYC for a business trip. Our work is internet based so when we booked our tickets we called the hotel to ask if they have wifi. The person answering the phone said they did. Well we arrived after a long flight and after the front desk staff charged our credit card, he said- 'Here's your room key. This is the internet login and password. But there's a problem- It does not work. '
My husband explained that we needed internet for work and asked how long it would take to fix the problem. He replied-' Its your luck. If you can connect, good for you. else we cant help you.' Well we did try our luck, but the internet was not working. So we decided to check out immediately. The front desk staff refused to refund our money for the 1st night since according to him, non availability of internet is not a reason for refund.And this was after we called the hotel to confirm about the internet availability and told them how important it was to us. We finally had to talk to the manager. The manager was helpful and understood the situation and refunded all our money.
Apart from this annoying incident, the hotel lobby and room looked pretty nice.The bell boys were very eager and helpful.
But the elevators were creepily small and looked dangerous.
I would suggest confirming whether they have internet before driving down and paying to save yourself the hassle.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilMayJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the slow internet speed we experienced on September 9 for one day, this was a city wide problem and has never happened before at Hotel Chandler. Our WiFi is complimentary in all guestrooms and public spaces.

I am pleased were able to waive the early departure fee as we fully understood your issue.

Kind regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Chandler for a week when we visited NY a wee while ago. The hotel is very conveniently located and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were small as expected but comfortable. The air-conditioner was noisy and the bathroom was cramped and needed refurbishment. We had a plumbing issue which took a while to get sorted.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is renovated it's just around the corner from the Empire State building. The rooms very small but impecable.
I would recommed this hotel the street is very quiet and the service is great! I just did not like the queen deluxe room because of it's size very tiny. They offer continental breakfast for 15 dlls.

Room Tip: I would recommed to get a king instead of a queen deluxe wich is way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our experience at the Hotel Chandler was well worth the money. The room (while on the small side) was VERY clean. The staff always had a smile & the service -OUTSTANDING. I would defenitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#149 of 467 in New York City
2,584 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
1,567 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,246 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 467 in New York City
915 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing