We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chandler - the perfect Manhattan location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #123 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Chandler - the perfect Manhattan location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We took care to chose the perfect location....and we found it in the Chandler!!! We arrived on a rainy Friday afternoon and were welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. They took time each and every time to point out street addresses and easy ways to locate the metro. An unbrella was offered to keep us dry! The hotel itself is very charming, comfortable and quaint! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    1,023
    263
    96
    51
See reviews for
564
1,342
212
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Ideally situated, 2 min from Empire state building and from great shopping.
Only part of is open for now (they're renovating the other 2/3), but none of the renovations impede your stay. Free coffee and tea all day everyday. Hotel room is quite beautiful and in great shape for an NYC hotel, also on average, a relatively large room for what you pay (I had a room with 2 doubles).

Consensus:
Definitely would recommend it. (Not to my enemies though, haha).
Definitely would stay there again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

After planning my trip to NYC last month for over 10 years I spent hours pouring over the internet in an attempt to pick the best hotel for my partner and I during our stay.

The Hotel Chandler was perfect! Everyone says about the room size, which yes, are small, but if you are travelling solo or as a couple they are big enough with enough space for suitcases etc. so that wasn't a problem. The room and bathroom were very clean and nicely decorated with all the modern necesseties that are needed from a hotel room.

The view from our room was of the inner courtyard which meant there wasnt much natural light, also make sure your blinds are drawn if you have one of these rooms as you can see into other rooms.

Staff were very helpful and always friendly and were very knowledgable regarding transport and where to find nearest subways, coffee shops and attractions.

The real selling point for this hotel is it's location. It's on east 31st just off fifth avenue, two blocks away from the empire state building and a few blocks up from the flatiron building. Subways are very close by, the nearest being only two blocks away, and if you dont mind walking (like us) everything was pretty close and easily accessible.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it was the perfect, cosy little space in the middle of a bustling, busy city and just made our trip all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Recently stayed at hotel Chandler for 6 nights. The hotel is ideally situated for getting around New York close to Penn Station and Empire State building only 2 mins away.Never actually used the subway as we walked everywhere, uptown to downtown.Rooms was small but who is sitting in there room all day! overall cleanlineses of hotel was excellent and staff could not be any more helpfull. As other reviewers have said the A/C is quite noisy but nothing that a bit of cotton wool in your ears sorts out! Would definately recommend and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was the perfect hotel to explore New York City from. The hotel lobby is recently renovated and was well airconditioned during our stay in August. Complementary tea, coffee and lemon iced water were welcomed after our days shopping and sight-seeing. All of the staff are knowledgable, friendly and helpful without getting up in your face - they were the best staff we have ever met at a US hotel and went out of their way to help us. Our room was comfortable and by NY standards, spacious (we stayed in an executive suite booked from the hotel's website). Shower pressure was perfect. Linen was clean and crisp. The airconditioner was loud and broke down once, but we had it running pretty much 24/7 due to the summer heat. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I hope my title gives a hint!
This was our second stay in three years and we were really glad we returned. Rooms, above average size for New York, are really well-equipped and totally clean and well serviced. Staff are really friendly but also efficient and really do go that extra mile with a smile. A good lounge space with free tea and coffee all day; and a great central location in Midtown - on a quiet street but half a block from 5th with great transport nearby, whether subway, bus or cab.
For most people this would be great - but I have one small quibble - last time we visited - 2009 - the bar was comfortable and friendly but now it's been totally 'modernised' - the bar now takes up about two thirds of what is essentially a small space so you're left with 7 or 8 bar stools, a few tables and with the most uncomfortable chairs I've sat in for a long time - despite a friendly staff it has become an unwelcoming space and it now closes at 11pm - so no last drink before bed.
However, it did mean I had to search out other watering holes - recommend Foley's and the Crooked Knife! So please - do stay here - a great hotel - just a pity about the bar!

Room Tip: Both those looking out on E 31st and into the light well are quiet - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meic_watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is such a surprise. The staff is great. The lobby area and registration has recently been remodeled and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The rooms are small but very nice. The Chandler is also in a great location, you can get get just about anywhere quickly. I've stayed at the Chandler many times in the past two years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing