We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Me in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #132 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Me in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Excellent location to visiting Manhattan just around the corner you will find the Empire state building. The Chandler is OK, nice room no to big but I think it is a Manhattan standard. good bed maybe to soft for my european back and evething was very clean, every evening we had turndown of our room. Though there were small working in progress in the lobby, the room was quiet, for the trouble ( really nonexixtent) we were offered a small breakfast and a snack at 5 pm with wine and cheese. internet is free and fast enough. Take advice from the concierge for your dinner. I can not wait to come back. good job!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brehme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    970
    252
    93
    49
See reviews for
523
1,274
198
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor. My husband and I stayed there this weekend. It was exactly as advertised. Very clean, very nice staff. The room was nicely appointed and adequate in size. For New York, it was a great price, too. The neighborhood is safe and had some nice restaurants nearby. The location is a little off the beaten path; in Murray Hill neighborhood. Subway is close by. Also, very close to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, The Empire State Buidling and Macy's Herald Square. The hotel is cozy. They are still offering complimentary continental breakfast and wine and cheese, because they are still renovating the restaurant and lounges. All of the rooms have been redone, so there was no construction going on that was disturbing.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator on a higher level. The room was on the 10th floor and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlynsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

From the lovely amenities (fine toiletries, umbrella on loan in the room, tasty complimentary breakfast) to the immaculately clean room, the Chandler was a great choice for our weekend in NYC. Location off 5th Ave. was a short walk to theater district and Hell's Kitchen restaurants. We will definitely make this hotel our home base for future visits to the city.

Room Tip: Quiet on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyFanNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Clean, cozy room - not spacious but fine for New York. Great high pressure overhead shower in the bathroom. No complaints.
What really stood out for me was the staff. I left my toothbrush at home - front desk sent one up within 2 mins of me calling. Concierge was helpful and friendly. Bell staff immediately helped with bags or called a cab if needed.
Impressive service at a reasonable price. And a good location too - just a couple of blocks from the Empire State.
I would stay here again and recommend Hotel Chandler to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusSW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had a long weekend in Nrew York taking n some sights, cultural events and just generally soaking up the atmosphere. Second visit to this hotel - so I must like it! Just completing a refurb. My room was small - but this is new York - and had everything that I needed. Clean and stylish, can't ask for more. Staff are helpful and friendly. Just down from the empire state building I love the location. I enjoy walking in this city but subway stations are close. I'm sure I'll be back for a third visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb500Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Not too expensive, not too cheap, not too stylish, not too dowdy, the Chandler hits that perfect median. A step down from a boutique hotel, it still has enough style to be several big steps up from the Holiday Inn. The rooms are a good size by NYC standards and offer all the little things that warm the business travelers' heart: Frette towels, Aveda products, an iPod dock, free (and fast and functional) wireless, flatscreen LG TV, lots of power outlets. The staff were all kind and efficient. The location isn't sexy but it is very convenient, a few blocks away from Herald Square and Penn Station, Korean Kanyon, the Empire State. 31st street is quiet, so you'll be able to sleep even if you're on the street side, even on a Friday night. The furnishings and fittings are all new, and the bathrooms are tile and glass and porcelain, not a piece of molded plastic in sight. But here let me selfishly take the chance to issue an open plea to hotel designers: please stop with the overhead rainfall showerheads. Those of us of the female persuasion who would prefer not get our hair wet each time we bathe would appreciate it. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

What a great find in New York! I only live a Metro North train ride away, but when looking to stay in New York City for a birthday weekend, the Hotel Chandler caught my eye. It looked modern, sleek, and hip. I was right. The staff was always friendly, and helpful - nice touch with the free continental breakfast, and while they are renovating the lobby, you also are welcome to a free wine and cheese presentation from 5-8:00 p.m. (along the lines of a Kimpton Hotel Wine and Cheese) - a very nice touch. By the way, the bar, and the restaurant that are attached will be opening soon - within weeks. The rooms were CLEAN, the linen was perfect, including amazing white fluffy towels - an Ipod charger, room darkening shades, - all little extras that added up to a really nice touch. Also, they were kind enough to upgrade us to a King for my birthday "stay". The room size was adequate for New York, especially - and so cozy. All in all - this was a fantastic place to park ourselves for 3 nights of fun in New York, and the location is just a 15 minutes walk from the heart of Times Square. I would definitely stay at this property again - for business, pleasure, etc. - and will recommend to my friends and associates.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a King Sized bed - if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PauletteOliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#125 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#112 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#185 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#178 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#116 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing