We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hudson Hotel New York
Ranked #393 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Preface: we were generally happy with our 4-days stay and the overall experience. Our key criteria were (1) Dog friendly, (2) clean, (3) affordable. Hudson gets top notes on those 3 counts. But you need to know about some of the facilities listed. For example, outdoor terrace is nice but unavailable during most of our exceptionally warm Labor Day weekend. 2 Bars but in development. Express check-in not express. Check-out is perfect. Luggage handling perfect. Concierge service stiff if not hostile. Vending machines on every floor but Ice on our floor defective. Prompt elevators considering full house. Design hotel, most ingenious but rooms ar miniature. WiFi is free and awful (keeps hanging). Valet parking costs USD 50 per day but staff do not tell you USD 30 available one block away. Our most negative comment: this is one of very few hotels in the world where you have to walk a block to get coffee in the morning or else you must pay room service for a cup at a time if they can find staff to deliver on the floors. And we suggest the put up more ID on street entrance, e.g. a canape, a rug, a name plate because right now the bland entrance looks like a hole in the wall and you drive by.

Room Tip: Tell them your Chihuahua is a guide dog because the establishment pet policy is unclear except for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeniatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

zeniatrips,

Thank you for your detailed review. We're glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay at Hudson. We have a pet policy which is $100 per pet for the entire stay, its non-refundable non-negotiable. Of course if you have a service animal the fee is waived as per NYS law. All of our venues are open to the public, the one under development which is now open to the public is Henry, a Liquor Bar. You should certainly check it out when you return to Hudson. Please know we have a variety of rooms at Hudson and we can assist finding a room more suited to your needs for your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,209 - 4,215 of 6,877 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have read a lot of reviews about the rooms being small at this hotel. We stayed from 30th August to 2nd September 2013 for my partner's birthday. I notified the hotel that it was my partner's birthday a few weeks before we arrived. Upon check-in we were instantly upgraded for free to a junior suite, room 747, which was a lovely room with a spacious bedroom and shower room and very clean. The room was air-conditioned, which you could turn off at the wall if you wish. All the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. I would recommend the breakfast at The Flame Restaurant just across the road where there was ample choice and good value for money. I would also recommend that you get a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel as it cost us from Newark Airport $80 to the hotel and $90 return. Only one small point that I thought let the hotel down was that the roof terrace was only open until 10.00 p.m. All-in-all we had a great stay in New York at this lovely hotel, which is in a great location for Central Park and Columbus Circle for shopping.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine_123836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

lorraine_123836,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you and your partner enjoyed a lovely birthday weekend! All of our outdoor venues close at 10pm to keep in compliance with NYS laws. You should check out Hudson Common, Library or Henry next time you are with us!

Hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is a great location, close to Central park, Columbus Circle, subway restaurants & shops. Rooms are painfully small. Service was adequate. At check-in their was an issue with our rooms & the reservationist made a snarky remark about our having booked with Hotels.com. If the Hudson contracts with Hotels.com & similar site then they need to deal with those issues.
Food service in non existent before 5pm. Hudson Common bar is totally self-service, odd for such a nice space.
However given the price & location I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms over courtyard are noisy on busy nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

paulagrav,

Thank you for taking the time to contribute your feedback about your stay. We're sorry to hear about your poor check in experience. We value all of our guests regardless of their method of booking. We hope this particular experience does not deter you from Hudson as that encounter is not indicative of our service.


Kind Regards,
Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pros: [1] Awesome location - close to the Park and uptown. It's right on the Metro - so easy to traverse the city from this location. [2] cool roof deck. Very laid back - nothing fancy. Sit in an adirondack chair and enjoy the night sky with a cocktail. No over the top NY atmosphere here. [3] Awesome downstairs outside patio/bar area. Was hopping with a DJ and "taco" night when we arrived. Cool crowd, good vibe, awesome outside space. You can access it during the day as just a place to hang in between things. [4] Friendly staff. Lobby was always busy but they were fast and efficient.

Other [not really cons] - but responsding to some of the other "negative feedback." [1] Rooms are small. It's NYC - should be enough said - but I'll say that these are some of the smallest I've been in while in NYC. For two adults this honestly wasn't a big deal. You aren't in the city to hang in your room. Bed was super comfy - not a lot of noise - so got a very good night's sleep. [2] Bathrooms are probably the biggest drawback. You DO touch the wall with your knees when you sit on the toilet. You DO have to go over the toilet to get in the shower. NOT a big deal for me - but just so you know.

For short stays - this is a cool place to stay in the City.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

ASwee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed Hudson's location and the fun atmosphere our venues provide! We have larger rooms at Hudson so next time you plan your trip contact us directly so we can help you find the best room for your needs. Also, Henry, our newest venue will be opening this week-- I suggest you check it out because I am sure you will enjoy it!

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards,
Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is very posh, and staff is friendly. The rooms are definitely on the smaller side, but even in a suite, the bathroom is extremely tiny. Literally can't move around freely from the sink to the shower. I would say thats one of the biggest downsides, but if you can get over that, its a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

AHK2012,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Hudson experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have a variety of rooms at Hudson with that said our bathroom sizes vary as well. Feel free to contact us directly next time you book so we find a room suited to your needs.

Kind Regards,
Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although this hotel did not get consistently great reviews we booked there on the recommendation of a business associate. First I'd like to say that the hotel is in a very good location. The décor is eclectic and creative with a real "New York" feel. When we arrived at 1:30pm we were told the rooms were not ready and would have to wait until the usual check in time of 3:00pm. We were told we would be called when rooms were ready. This was no problem, we went into the lounge to relax and wait. At 3:00 we went to the front desk to check on the status of the rooms since we had not been contacted, at this time the front desk staff informed us that they were short on housekeeping staff and the rooms may not be ready for another hour. This news was very disappointing as we had early dinner reservations and show tickets for that evening. Although the front desk representative was very apologetic we never did receive a call when the rooms were finally ready at 4:15pm. With only 15 minutes to change and get ready we were 20 minutes late for our dinner. When we returned to the hotel for the evening we went to the roof top bar for a drink but found that this bar closes at 10:00pm. The downstairs bar was open but the outside courtyard seating was closed off at this time. No much going on here for a Saturday night although some previous reviews had mentioned the popularity of the bar here.
The rooms are painfully small. It is impossible to describe just how small but I have never stayed in a cruise ship cabin as small as my room at the Hudson Hotel. Although the room was tiny it was well equipped with the essentials, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. One very strange and surprising feature of the room however was the window from the bedroom area into the bathroom! In the morning the only coffee available is from room service or down the block at the Starbucks. When it was time to leave one of our party called the front desk to ask about a later check out time. She was told that there would be a charge by the hour for check out later than 1pm. She reminded them of our experience checking in and we were graciously allowed to check out at 2pm free of charge. I must not forget to mention that the young men who open the doors and call the cabs were excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Cindy O,

Thank you for contributing your candid feedback about your stay. We're sorry to hear our staff did not follow up with you in regards to your room being ready. This is certainly not indicative of the service we provide at Hudson and we apologize for the inconvenience this had on your dinner plans. We hope to this does not deter you from returning to us, I'd like to mention we have a variety of rooms at Hudson without the "peek-a-boo" bathroom feature.

Feel free to contact us directly should you wish to return to Hudson.

Kind Regards,
Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As the Grinch complains about the Whoville Christmas celebration: Oh the noise, noise, noise, noise... I read several reviews about the air conditioning units being really loud, but thought "Hey, how bad can it be?" Very bad. Wake up throughout the night bad. We finally figured out that we could open a few windows (just a crack... we were on the 17th floor after all) and turn the silly thing off. It was quieter then, if not a tad warm. And the unit was right behind the headboard. The hotel also does not have coffee available except from room service. There are a couple of cafes and two Starbucks within walking distance tho. But even with these complaints, we had a very nice stay. Staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well decorated for a small space, and the restaurants and bars were very good. The location was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WKirkpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

wzellers,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear about the noise issue you had with your AC unit. I hope you someone from our staff was able to fix this during your stay. We hope this does not deter you from Hudson in the future as we would love to have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,996 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#355 of 471 in New York City
4,495 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#338 of 471 in New York City
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#346 of 471 in New York City
6,321 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#399 of 471 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 471 in New York City
20,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Address: 358 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $118 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing