We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, good service, small rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hudson Hotel New York
Ranked #389 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Trendy, good service, small rooms.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Hudson is a trendy boutique hotel, I felt it offered good value for money, I knew to expect a small room - and that's what we got. It was completely fine and has everything we needed. There's a great bar in the hotel, it has a very young feel to the hotel and the service was fine. I'd stay here again due to its good location and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsdothis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaPomilio, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear stevo8626,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Hudson experience with others! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Indeed we are located in a great area to enjoy many famous NYC landmarks. We encourage you to return sometime soon so you can also enjoy our outdoor venues, Sky Terrace and Private Park, when they re-open for Spring.

We hope to see you again soon, please reach out when you plan your next visit!

Warm regards,
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    2,066
    1,447
    846
    673
See reviews for
853
2,472
448
1,071
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

is a good hotel, conveniently located one block from Central Park, a little dark but modern, first we got a room with one bed and was axtremadamente small could not even walk and we travel my husband, myself and my daughter and was very uncomfortable also because the bathroom is transparent so you can see thevperson insaide so we had to move to a double room for a higher rate but it was really well and a good size room, what you need is a Restorant for breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinelleCorrea, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Vivian P,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with a larger room that you and your family were comfortable in. Though our restaurant doesn't serve breakfast yet (this will be coming soon), we do have room service available. We also offer complimentary coffee and tea daily on our lobby level. I hope that once you and your family moved to the new room, you had an amazing stay!

We hope to see you again soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything that I can help you with in the future.

Best,

Ginelle Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited the Hudson for a second time to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday after visiting on our honeymoon two years ago. It had undergone a refurbishment in the last couple of years, but looked good for it, the extremely modern bar was gone but in its place a new restaurant. Having emailed to say we were returning we received an upgraded room to a suite, which was lovely. Very nice decor and extremely comfy bed, and also very clean with a small fridge to use. We didn't spend a huge amount of time in the room with only being there for three nights, but the time we did spend was very comfortable! Again, the hotel is close to most attractions and we walked from there to broadway, times square, central station, central park, the met, the zoo...only got in a cab twice during our trip! We also received excellent recommendations on where to brunch in the village from the concierge, and would highly recommend cluny's bar to others looking for a nice cocktail with their eggs benedict! I love this hotel for it's location and style, and have always found the staff incredibly helpful. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Inform staff of any special occasions/requests, they are very helpful and you could be lucky enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlass24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinelleCorrea, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Scottishlass24,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of Hudson with others. I am so happy to see that we were able to make your 2nd stay just as special as the first. We love when guests reach out to us when they are celebrating special occasions or have special requests so that we can do everything we can to make it an amazing stay for them.

I am also delighted to see that you fully utilized our central location and explored the city. We would love to have you back for a 3rd stay, so please do not hesitate to contact us when you will be returning to New York

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best,

Ginelle Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I like the fact this hotel is discrete, however on arrival there were two guys just standing there waiting for our luggage and without distinctive uniforms we felt a little uneasy leaving our bags so hung around a bit until they came in.

The lobby is lovely, very impressive indeed and the check in process was very smooth. The reception staff were very helpful and very friendly so no problems there.

Going up in the stylish lift was good and the corridors were clean and modern. Then we arrived to the room. It is as small as everyone says and the view was of the dirty internal courtyard. Unfortunate, but at least it was very quiet. Now, there is a small area next to the door to store 2 suitcases and hang up a few things but that's it. The rest is just wood-panelled wall. The TV is also at an awkward viewing angle against the wall rather than in front of the bed, but there is no room in front of the bed for it.

The bathroom is equally tiny and if you are sharing with a friend, get ready to see them in all their glory as the separating wall is clear glass. No storage for toiletries but the shower was reasonably big and quite adequate, but not amazing. The real problem is the toilet. It's so close to the wall your legs have to be wide open or you need to perch on sideways. I've never seen anything like it and banged my knees on more than one occasion. An odd thing is they have a special little tray attached to the wall specifically for leaving the chambermaid her tip!

Apart from that, the room was clean and there was a good choice of TV channels.

The Library Bar is lovely, very nice feel to this room with great service. Nice pool table with enormous feature light make it a nice way to start an evening. $16 for a glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc is a bit steep but it was delicious!

The other bar (not the famous one, which was unfortunately closed for refurbishment) had a lively feel but ALL the wine is disgusting. We went for a $16 a glass Sauvignon Blanc but it was revolting. We returned it to the barman who said that they were all undrinkable! Why would they serve such atrocious wine knowingly... anyway, we had cava instead, more expensive but thankfully they didn't charge the extra, in view of the inconvenience!

A nice touch is the tea bar in the morning, free tea and coffee with cream or milk. It's nice to tip the guy $1 for every two drinks though.

The location really makes the hotel. An easy stroll to Central Park or Times Square and just off Broadway. The location really is perfect and is the best thing. It was about $200 a night per room so not cheap and you will find more room for less money, however I would consider staying again but would ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-courtyard view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxxxsensation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinelleCorrea, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Maxxxsensation,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience at Hudson. I am glad to see that you would like to join us again. We do have a large number of room categories, so I will be more than happy to discuss the different options with you prior to you next stay. We also have rooms that do not have a glass divider if you will be traveling with a friend.

I do hope that you reach out to me prior to your next visit to New York City. I would love to make sure that you are taken care of and that your stay is even better than the last.

Hope to speak to you soon.

Best,

Ginelle Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am writing to draw your attention to a problem in your customer service section in Hudson Morgan Original (NY, USA).
Unfortunately, the service was inadequate because on the 12th of March I called to your hotel and spoke to James, who works in reception. My flight was delayed and I asked him about booking. He said that it would be no problem if I came on the 13th of March. I am disappointed because when I came to the hotel my reservation had already been canceled. I lost a lot of money. The management is very poor and the service at this hotel is terrible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlzhasBaimagambetov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinelleCorrea, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
OlzhasBaimagambetov,

Thank you for your feedback and I do regret to see this miscommunication effected your stay. If this is something that has not already been addressed with management, or if you would like someone to look deeper into this situation, please do not hesitate to contact me. I would really like to look into your account and make sure that you were not charged for an extra night.

I hope to hear from you soon and wish to have this resolved as soon as possible.

Best,

Ginelle Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is excellent and the place is amazing. The staff is nice. It is true that rooms are small here, but the price and location make it a perfect hotel in my opinion. The library bar is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaremontiMkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinelleCorrea, Guest Relations Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Licassuncao,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hudson during your NYC visit. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us including our location and outlets. Hopefully you will be back to the city soon so that we can provide you with another great Hudson experience.

Best,

Ginelle Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I arrived at Hudson at 12:00 am and was told that my room was being cleaned, so I would have to wait in the lobby. 15-20 others guests were also waiting for rooms. Some had been waiting over 40 minutes. Hotel staff told us that a people had checked out late and the cleaning staff was behind. I still cannot understand how late checkouts could result in multiple rooms being unavailable at midnight. At 1:15 am, after waiting for an hour, I offered to clean my own room and was rebuffed. Several of the other guests in the lobby asked the manager on duty for a better explanation. I suggested that whatever she was doing to remedy the issue wasn’t working because I had not seen anyone get a room since I had arrived (by then some guests had been waiting two hours). Rather than rethink whatever failing strategy she was using to deal with the issue or explain how it would take over two hours to clean a room, the manager told us to "be patient." Needless to say, everyone was enraged. Her request to "be patient" meant waiting until even later in the morning before sleeping, which , obviously, is the purpose of a hotel. I was finally able to get a room at 2:00 am after customer service at hotels.com (which I had used to book the hotel) called the manager directly. At least ten guests, including some who had arrived before me, still did not have a room. I told the hotel staff that if they did not do something different to address the issue people would be waiting until 4:00 am for a room. I see from reviews here that some waited until 4:30 am for a room.

The fact that I could only get into a room after hotel.com/expedia called the hotel should be a red flag for other guests. Hudson must be concerned about it's relationship with these sites, but didn't care enough about its other paying guests to get them a room.

It's clear that the people running this hotel do not know what they are doing. Having rooms available at night seems to me to be the most basic function of a hotel. If Hudson can't get that right, what else is it screwing up? Do not stay at Hudson.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bpo117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 468 in New York City
5,885 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,467 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,547 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#349 of 468 in New York City
4,204 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Property: Hudson Hotel New York
Address: 358 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing