We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Cover on Mattress and Possible Bed Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Ranked #203 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night. We were pleased with the location, size of the room, and price, BUT we woke up at 4am to catch a flight home and we each had bites on our bodies. I had bites on my arm, leg, and back. He had a similar looking bite on his arm. Five years ago I encountered bed bugs in Fiji, so I know the warning signs. We bagged our luggage and washed all our clothes when we got home. What blew us both away was that when we checked the mattress there was NO cover on the mattress, of any kind. We didn't find any bugs, so the only evidence we have is the bites on both our bodies. I had incorrectly assumed that all nice hotels in NYC were protecting their mattresses from bed bugs and any other kind of stain, but there was NOTHING. I called the hotel and told them about our experience and their response was that they would have housekeeping look into it and I have not heard back from them. I would never stay in a hotel in NYC that did not put protective covers on their mattresses.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turquoise20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2010

the hotels location is fantastic, between 5th and 6th avenues. great if your a toursit, 5 streets away from the Rockefeller centre and a few minutes from the empire state building.
pricing for new york standards is good, but your paying for what you get, very tiny rooms and even smaller bathrooms. if your ok spending lots of time out of your room then this is a good choice, otherwise i dont reccomend it

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chets_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Won this hotel on a Priceline bid for 4 nights in July. I was a little worried after reading some reviews, mostly about possible lack of air conditioning. My window unit air conditioner worked fine. It presented no problems but I did not stay during the heat wave either. We were getting highs around 90 and the a/c managed just fine.

I arrived at 8 a.m. and was not allowed to check in early, even though a gentleman just ahead of me was clearly allowed to do this. The front desk is more of a kiosk and the staff person was not friendly or welcoming in the least. I think you have to join some sort of club to get special privileges at this chain of hotels. It did not strike me as having the amenities you would expect to see at a 3 star hotel, like a properly staffed front desk, bellmen in the lobby, and things like that.

I was directed to come back after 2 o'clock and I did and was given a key to my room on the 11th floor. The two elevators are tiny and slow, but the waits were not too bad when I was there. The room was small (expected that) but it had a nice, modern look and feel and the bed was comfortable. Everything was very clean, including the bathroom. The shower was great. Nice soaps and shampoos in the bathroom. Small window with not much of a view. The television was very small and there was no channel guide. Also no pay per view movies. Very strange set up with the television. Never did quite figure it out. Not like any hotel cable television I've ever experienced.

Housekeeping was quite good and were the only staff there that I found to be friendly. Virtually ignored by the rest of the staff the entire time. Very strange experience in that regard. Location could not be better and makes up for a lot. This place is in a prime location near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. Great places to eat all around. Great shopping on 5th Avenue close by. I would stay here again just for the location. It's located on a relatively quiet street and I had no problem sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed here for my 30th birthday and thanks to the staff it was the most stressful experience I have ever had in an hotel.

To cut a VERY LONG story short - the hotel took 3 payments off our credit card for our stay here! This left us with virtually NO money for the remainder of our 2 weeks in the States. We eventually got it back a couple of days later, but you can imagine how stressful and time consuming it was sorting this with several managers at the hotel.

And did we get an apology - NO!

The hotel is a lovely place to stay though, vert clean and spacious. Just a shame the staff are useless..............

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJPLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend with my gf. Isn't much to look at from the outside, but inside is simple and clean. Asked for a room with a queen bed, but there was only a double. The hotel did remove the additional charge at checkout without incident. The room was small but they definitely maximized the space so it doesn't feel crowded at all. bed was comfortable and the bathroom well-apportioned.

The location is great. you are only a couple blocks from times square and grand central. I booked on priceline and was concerned because i hadn't heard of this place but was pleasantly surprised. A nice touch was the chilled water dispenser (and free plastic bottles). That really came in handy in july. Parking is validated at a garage a block over for $22 a day. Definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank severity845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Got a decent rate on Priceline. Room small but adaquate and expected for New York. Clean. Two girlfirends hitting the big city so the two single beds were awesome. Friendly & helpful staff. 2 computers to use in business area. Free bottled water downstairs in exercise room. Air conditioning but as we were there during a major heat wave, it worked hard. No view but very quiet - no street noise at all. Didn't use hotel restaurant facilities but great place to eat breakfast & lunch across the street (Cafe Manhattan). It had great fresh food and good prices. Starbucks also across the street. Totally recommend it as a choice for 1st timers to New york

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

It's 3 blocks from Times Square and very easy to access from the Lincoln Tunnel. They have an arrangement with a parking garage a few blocks away to park for $22 for 24 hours; a great deal. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The room was small but exactly what I expected for such a great price. Actually, it was a little nicer than expected because the room did not have an 'old' feel to it. Wouldn't hesitate staying here again, in fact I plan on it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#109 of 471 in New York City
719 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#289 of 471 in New York City
1,459 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#122 of 471 in New York City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#110 of 471 in New York City
1,546 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Address: 40 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4261
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $133 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 170 rooms located in a historic landmark building right off Fifth Avenue. Minutes from major office buildings, Grand Central Station, Times Square, shopping, theater district and restaurant row on West 46th Street. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled, purified bottled water • 4 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment and yoga mats delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Midtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Quarters Midtown
Club Quarters New York City
Quarters Midtown Hotel
Club Quarters Midtown New York
Club Quarters Midtown Manhattan
Club Quarters Midtown Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing