We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better than i expected it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Ranked #238 of 477 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Better than i expected it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

When i arrived, I noticed how professional Angela was and very helpful. She even let me choose which room and let me see it in person. Impressive front desk person. I particularly like the hang out area with a big fireplace and complimentary snacks and drinks. I strongly recommend this hotel and its sisters'

Room Tip: ask for the street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    483
    191
    74
    48
See reviews for
162
371
134
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night over the 4th of July weekend after staying at the Hilton on 6th and 54th. After staying in a huge hotel which spans a block, I was apprehensive of checking into CQ. However, my fears were quickly allayed and we loved this cute hotel within a stone's throw from the Rockefeller plaza. This hotel is more in the pod style, where rooms are small, but have all the basic necessities one can ask for. In two occasions, I needed some assistance from the front desk. Both times they were very courteous and quick in their response. The best part of this hotel is how they have spent the money on what adds value to the customer. For example, instead of having a fancy lobby, they lounge for the guests to meet their friends over a cup of complimentary coffee or filtered water. The lounge is open 24/7, so u can have your coffee and re-fill your water bottle with filtered water while printing your boarding pass without going to different floors and using ure hotel key for access for basic stuff. The other unusual perk of this hotel is that apart from free wifi in rooms, u can actually borrow Ipads. I did not have to borrow, but the fact that someone thought about adding that as a perk gets my respect. There is a restaurant on site. But honestly who needs a restaurant on site in midtown. You are better off walking in any direction outside the hotel at any hour to grab hamburgers to humus. We absolutely pigged out on the street food that is omnipresent in Midtown. Overall, two thumbs up.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank panditjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed for four nights in a standard room, queen bed and the room was a nice size for a single person or a couple. Only one chair, no refrigerator or microwave - but I was attending a conference where the meals were provided so it was fine for me. Plenty of restaurants close by. Staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel and my room were very clean and well maintained. I was on the 12th floor in the back with a nice view of the buildings on 44th St. and further south. No street noise, but the a/c unit on top of the building was on constantly. Some people would consider that background or white noise that helps cover the other sounds of the city, I had to use earplugs. That's really my only complaint, can't comment on the hallway noise because I didn't seem to have neighbors on either side. It's a great location for those who like to walk, close to Grand Central for transportation, a few blocks from Time Square, Empire State Bldg, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dstravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Club Quarters is a great hidden gem in NYC. It is just a few blocks from Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Avenue, subways and Grand Central Station. Very quiet block, safe in that a room key is required to work the elevator, restaurant, business/fitness center and bottled water station are super convenient. Room is clean, comfortable and quiet. I was across from the elevator and I wasn't disturbed at all. I've stayed there before and had the same wonderful experience. If you are looking for consistency in your hotel when visiting NYC (which is rare), stay at Club Quarters Midtown!

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serenity74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was the first time that we stayed at a Club Quarters. We got the recommendation from Trivago/Expedia. We reserved the second from the smallest rooms, 300 sq/ ft and were fortunate enough to be placed on the top floor, corner room. It was very cozy and clean. Friendly staff at check in and during the stay. May stay at a Club Quarters again.

Room Tip: It seems that all the rooms are nice. The hotel isn't too large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minni9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband & I stayed at Club Quarters Midtown for an evening in June. We chose the hotel for the location (we were attending a party right by the hotel) & price & we were not disappointed. The hotel is very simple & the rooms small, just as reviews had said, but also very clean & comfortable. We took the advice of reviews & asked for a higher up floor, so the street noise level was low. The filtered water in the hall is a nice touch & hotel staff friendly. Overall, if your looking for a clean, comfortable place to spend the night in the city, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbhigs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Conveniently located near Fifth Avenue, Times Square and Grand Central Station. Definitely within working distance to the Port Authority Bus Terminal (by New Yorkers' standards).

Staff are friendly and generally accommodative to requests. Room is slightly small but good enough for solo travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#263 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#128 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#101 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#106 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Address: 40 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Midtown provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 170 rooms located in a historic landmark building right off Fifth Avenue. Minutes from major office buildings, Grand Central Station, Times Square, shopping, theater district and restaurant row on West 46th Street. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled, purified bottled water • 4 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment and yoga mats delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Midtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Quarters Midtown
Club Quarters New York City
Quarters Midtown Hotel
Club Quarters Midtown New York
Club Quarters Midtown Manhattan
Club Quarters Midtown Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing