We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cormfortable, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Ranked #223 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cormfortable, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed for two nights at CQ Midtown on a solo trip to New York. I'm a big theater-goer—but not a big fan of Times Square—so the location was perfect for me: just close enough to walk to Broadway theaters, but far enough from the noise and crazy crowds. I booked a single room for a good price through Expedia, which was actually larger than the average New York hotel room; it had a single (twin) bed—quite comfortable—and also an ample desk and free-standing closet. (No view whatsoever, but who needs one when you're out and about most of the day and evening?) The bathroom had plenty of room to store toiletries and a large shower (no tub). A single-cup coffee maker was a nice touch, as is the purified water dispenser on each floor. The hotel's restaurant is currently closed for renovation, so a complimentary continental breakfast was offered in a nice lounge off the lobby, which also had coffee, soft drinks and snacks available throughout the day and evening. (The hotel is also currently offering a 25% discount for dinner at the Club Quarters Rockefeller Center, which I didn't take advantage of but seems like a good deal.) In truth, the hotel does need a make-over—interiors and furnishings are a bit dated and faded—but it was scrupulously clean, and the staff very welcoming. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    464
    183
    66
    46
See reviews for
156
351
127
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. It is in a great location near Grand Central station, 5th Avenue shopping,Rockefeller Center, and Time Square.

The room was a nice size. Bedroom with a separate sitting room with pull out couch. TV in each room. Hotel is small in size and lacks the grandness of the 4 star hotels in the area. Still the front desk and staff make up with amazing hospitality for all guests.

There is no restaurant in hotel, but they have free continental breakfast in the morning that was perfect! Snacks all evening long.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

At first sight before getting into the premises, were scaffoldings, and so are every other hotel nearby. It would have been good to see its facade without the obstructions. Anyway, the hotel placed a note near the elevators to bear with that. The guy at the front desk was really nice, not intimidating at all. The hallways looked a bit odd, because I have to go through two doors, which looked like I'm on my way to the stairwell instead of the guest rooms. I was expecting the hallways to go straight through without barriers. The room was smaller than expected, but the space was enough for me to move around, no need for long strides going to the bathroom. Sadly, the view from the window were buildings nearby, nothing much to see.

Despite these things, I had a pretty good experience with this hotel. There's complimentary drinking water by the hallway. This is a plus since bottled water in NYC is pricey. And I love the coffee machine, no need to request for one, it's in the room as you arrive. And check out the lounge around 5pm, there's free coffee, hot choco and snacks like M&M's, nuts, etc. The M&Ms always run out first so be there early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yanni_ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in the city. We stayed in a junior suite that had a queen bed and a sofa bed. The hotel is very clean, and the staff is very helpful and friendly.This hotel offers you with free plastic bottles to refill with their purified water machine. There is a really nice lobby area where you can sit an enjoy a capuchino, esspresso or latte for free. They also have mac computers and cellphone charging stations. The hotel is very well located, We had to walk only two blocks to get to times sq. There are nice convenience stores around the hotel and the area feels very safe. Great hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titina49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while on a short trip to New York by myself. I've been to New York many times before and have stayed in many different hotels, but given the price and the location of Club Quarters its difficult to see how you could do better, if you know what you are getting for your money.

The location is superb, on a quiet street in the heart of mid-town. All the main sites - Times Sq, Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller - are literally a few minutes walk away. There are plenty of eating places near by (a Pret A Manger a few doors down, for example). For book lovers there is a second-hand book shop directly across the street and a big Barnes and Noble around the corner The hotel is in a nice old building which has a lovely lounge where guests can relax during the day and take advantage of complementary drinks and snacks (as well as a decent breakfast of pastries and fruit juice in the morning) and have the use of PCs and printers.

I had a double room on the tenth floor. The room was small but not uncomfortably so for one person and it was spotlessly clean and felt very fresh. The bed was very comfortable, air conditioning was good and not too loud, and the bathroom was just the right size. Gilchrist and Soames toiletries were a nice touch. The room included a wardrobe and a desk for working, as well as a TV with all the main cable channels. I heard some noise from adjoining rooms but not enough to disturb me. My room over-looked the back of adjoining buildings so there was no street noise. A nice touch was the free chilled and filtered water on every floor.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and helped arrange as car to JFK for me. The front desk is manned 24 hours a day. A nice touch for security is that the lift only works with room keys.

I would happily stay here again if in New York. In fact, given the very good value of the room and the excellent location I would probably make this place my first choice and check it first before looking elsewhere. Recommended.

Room Tip: The standard double room was fine for one person but might be a squeeze for two people with a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Quaint hotel in a fabulous location, room was very basic and small, but it was clean and the bed was cozy, nice to have tea/coffee facilities & fridge in room, convenience store located across the street. Staff were friendly and helpful, but only one person (most of the time) on reception/check-in desk. Breakfast was your mainstream, but it was good to start the day with, no restaurant in the evening, but heaps of great eateries in the area, we did enjoy a champagne Christmas Eve in their lovely little lounge/bar area. Walking distance to Time Square and even Central Park. It was our first trip to New York, if I was to stay there again, would probably up-grade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

what I love about ClubQuarters is that every room is basically the same no matter what city you are in. all your basic needs are met. free wifi that works, clean comfy bed, clean functional bathrooms with hairdryer, convenient to transport. perks are their mini bookshelf with fun useful books in each room, the ability to order from local restaurants like you would order takeout at home, enough space that you don't feel cramped, ipod docking stations in most places and bedside tables that don't take up too much floor space. Wish they had better closets available in all locations but this location is hit and miss with closet space. some rooms have a cupboard and some only a few hooks. but all in all, a decent clean place to stay in midtown.

Room Tip: make sure to ask that your room is not next to the elevator! also make sure if you book a club room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyfroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#253 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#156 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#105 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#169 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#336 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Address: 40 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4261
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Midtown provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 170 rooms located in a historic landmark building right off Fifth Avenue. Minutes from major office buildings, Grand Central Station, Times Square, shopping, theater district and restaurant row on West 46th Street. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled, purified bottled water • 4 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment and yoga mats delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Midtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Quarters Midtown
Club Quarters New York City
Quarters Midtown Hotel
Club Quarters Midtown New York
Club Quarters Midtown Manhattan
Club Quarters Midtown Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing