We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel with good pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Ranked #207 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK hotel with good pricing”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Pricing is good, you get what you pay for.
Room are clean but worn down and small. I had no place to put suitcase and there were no drawers for my clothes.
Airconditioning is noicy but is working as it should.
Check-in and -out is easy with ATM like service.
Breakfast is no good, expensive and no good.
Plus for service and good wifi in all building!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bjohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    549
    217
    80
    53
See reviews for
202
440
158
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Red Oak, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I like the way Club Quarters works -- they provide only the basics and keep costs low. The rooms are small, but clean, and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is well-maintained and in a great location that is close to both business and tourist areas. I stayed at the Hilton on my previous trip, and thought this hotel was much better.

Room Tip: Not good for wheelchirs/walkers - this is an old building and has several doors as you go to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jentimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This past weekend, my husband surprised me with a trip into NYC. This hotel is conveniently located to many shops, restaurants, gyms and St. Patrick's Cathedral. The rooms are well decorated. They are small but you have everything you need. The elevators are extremely slow. Be sure to request at least a queen bed. We had a full which is small for a couple. Upon departure, be sure to ask for a coupon to Central Parking on 46th Street between 5th and 6th. They give you a voucher for 24 hour parking for just $25! For NYC, that's a bargain!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxingTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

CQM is a good hotel! Location is perfect, rooms are nice and clean, however very small and surprisingly dark. I have stayed at several hotels in Manhattan in the same price range considering this, it's an excellent choice! Staff is very helpful and friendly, the lobbyarea is nice to hang out in and the hotel provides several add on services such as printer, wifi, bottled water free of charge. In most cases I would probably give the hotel 3 out of 5 but due to value for money- it's 4!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 109Stina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The Club Quarters in midtown is in a great location as it it tucked between 5th Ave and Times Square. Rooms are a bit small but have everything you need. The major downfall is the street noise that is often heard along 45th street. Doesn't matter which floor you stay on as I stayed on the 11th floor on my last visit and have stayed here previously on lower floors. Great value for business trips to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haras690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are going to NYC for two days R&R in the off season. We know this hotel chain, Club Quarters, they have very small rooms making for tight quarters, but the low price justifies the inconvenience. When we made the reservation, the agent assured us that for an extra fee the room will be a larger room with a sofa-bed. When we arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk said, yes you will get the larger room but no sofa-bed, only a queen bed. When we mentioned the reservation agent's promise, she said "we only allow you to ask for it but we do not guarantee it." Not certain what that means! Anyway, we take the larger room and settle in. Next there is not enough towels for two people, there is not enough condiments for making coffee, there is not enough pillows on the bed to accommodate two adults. The guest request closet, which is supposed to provide these things is absolutely empty. We call the front desk several times to get what we need. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and fulfilled our needs immediately. We noticed that the flower of the room has crumbs left by the previous resident, the coffee maker is stuck to the counter from lack of cleaning under it, and the chair shows ugly stains. The next day, housekeeping left enough towels, but did not replenish the coffee condiments, so we had to call the front desk again and they brought it up immediately. Normally the house keeping is much better as is the level of cleanliness but not this time. Actually, there was an empty bottle of juice or soda sitting on a windowsill all weekend long with dirty liquid in it a bent straw and electric wire next to it. Why was it not removed by housekeeping over three days is a mystery to us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valiant10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at Club Quarters on W. 45th between 5th and 6th Avenue, on business for 4 days from January 2-5, 2013. The location is terrific as it is close to Broadway, Rockefeller Center and Times Square. Sofitel is right next door and the Algonquin is on the next block. Club Quarters is a mixed-bag in my opinion.

I had a room on the Penthouse floor with a glimpse view of the Empire State Building through my window. I paid $179 before taxes on a "corporate rate" that my company gets for its employees. The room was so small that I just told myself I was staying in a cruise ship room to get used to the size-it looked to be about 120 square feet with a small shallow closet and a tiny bathroom. The shower didn't drain very well and the water would slow way down from time to time. The bed was queen size and adequate. Having free Wi Fi, Keurig morning coffee and some decent plug ins on the desk and an i-Phone docking/alarm system was great.

The lounge and dining room downstairs are very nice and they are huge compared to the rooms or the two elevators that serve all 14 floors. They feature a small breakfast buffet for $18.95 per person that has a continental breakfast plus eggs, bacon and sausages, Monday through Friday and just a continental breakfast on the weekends. Sofitel's breakfast next door is much better but you'll pay $25-$28 for breakfast there.

There isn't really a lobby at Club Quarters-you walk in and a person at a valet station takes you to a visual screen that is like self check in at the airport. The housekeeping service when I was there was outstanding and is the hotel's best feature in my opinion. Everything was very clean, and the housekeeper did a great job with my room on a daily basis.

There is a Duane Reade drugstore (great for snacks) just around the corner and a British Pub across the street that had a great bar and staff. I've stayed at the Sofitel before with my family and next time will skip this place and stay there again. The rooms at Sofitel are much bigger and luxurious for about $50 more a night and you still get a great location. If you are here on business and not in your room much, this place will do, but I wouldn't bring my spouse or family here-it is way too small. It does feel safe though and the wait staff in the lounge and restaurant are very good. My advice for rooms if you stay ay Club Quarters is to call them and tell them you want a room with a kitchenette-they are larger and would be a little more comfortable for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Their "club rooms" are the size of my walk in closet at home. Ask for a room with a kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gben88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#121 of 466 in New York City
619 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#271 of 466 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 466 in New York City
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#270 of 466 in New York City
4,042 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#104 of 466 in New York City
1,826 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#101 of 466 in New York City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Address: 40 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4261
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 170 rooms located in a historic landmark building right off Fifth Avenue. Minutes from major office buildings, Grand Central Station, Times Square, shopping, theater district and restaurant row on West 46th Street. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled, purified bottled water • 4 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment and yoga mats delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Midtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Quarters Midtown
Club Quarters New York City
Quarters Midtown Hotel
Club Quarters Midtown New York
Club Quarters Midtown Manhattan
Club Quarters Midtown Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing