We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, dry rooms, iffy Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #151 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Large, dry rooms, iffy Internet”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The suites are large, very clean, well maintained, with spacious single sink bathrooms. The "extras" are limited, no hair conditioner, low quality hair dryers, no bathroom fan extractor, but an iPod clock is there in your room, a fridge thankfully uncrowded by hotel smalls (alcohol), and a large TV if you need a break from NYC nightlife. The concierge is great, but don't expect knowledgeable desk staff at night. They push their contracted food supplier if you ask them for "take out" advice, but you can order from anywhere that delivers. Deliveries can be made online only (as well as by phone to other places), but you pay 10$ a day for Internet access. Our access came in at 1-2 bar strength (dial up equivalent) and required a call to the ISProvider for technical assistance. As the windows cannot be opened the rooms remain hot and dry, leading to nose bleeds. Take saline solution with you or put up with the cooler fan. The location is terrific--nearby access to the Broadway subway at 28th and 32-34th, a walk from the Flat Iron, and good breakfast places (hotel bagels and pink doughnuts are not too pleasing). I would recommend this hotel--300$ per night for 2 double beds and a lounge area.

Room Tip: A room on upper levels gives you a better view of the Empire State building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    626
    175
    50
    27
See reviews for
376
413
46
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is a gem! Located in an up and coming neighborhood, the Broadway Plaza was a perfect place to stay. A doorman is usually there to greet you and the front desk staff is very friendly. They have a nice continental breakfast with fresh bagels, croissants, and other pastries. VERY clean which was a nice surprise. It looked like they were doing minor renevations as we were getting ready to leave so it may be getting even better!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was skeptical about finding an affordable hotel in NYC that was near the theater hosting the reading of my dancical "Jitterbug!" when I discovered the Broadway Plaza through TripAdvisior. It's not that big-- it's entrance is just a single glass door with a doorman (two people trying to get through at the same time requires walking sideways :)-- but it makes up for its modest exterior with superior accommodations and a friendly and helpful staff. Once inside, you have a long and narrow hallway to the front desk off to the left and two elevator banks to the right. Any doubts about having made the right decision about booking the place begin to vanish with the efficient front desk folks. Seeing our large hotel room with two double beds and a flatscreen TV began to encourage the idea that we had made the right decision. We were on the 2nd floor and the hustle and bustle of the city below outside our window on Broadway and 27th Street was like watching a silent movie. Quiet is the word. Continental breakfast is included. However, the thing that made us true believers in the Broadway Plaza was how it handled our lost Nook. My daughter had inadvertently left it behind in one of the drawers. We discovered this while standing in line to get into Museum of Natural History just after checking out. We called the hotel immediately to alert them and got a phone call back just as quickly. It had been found and would be waiting for us at the front desk. Fast is the word. You can't go wrong at the Broadway Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hi myself and five others stayed at the broadway plaza in New York. Once booking it I was a bit worried as I hadn't heard great things. But when arriving I was pleasantly surprised. Someone came to get our bags as soon as we stepped out of the taxi. All 3 rooms were so spacious. My mums room had no view at all and they could hear the lift, but mine and my nans room were fine, no noise at all. And we had the most amazing view of the Empire State Building, it was stunning! The hotel was clean, staff were friendly. Breakfast was good if you like cakes. There were 4 small tables to sit and eat breakfast but u can take a tray to your room which was fine. Good location. If I went back to NY I would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location, nice view from my window!!
Room is nice and bright!!
Only one negative review, there wasn't Micro in room!!
I was on 7th floor and in that floor there are food and drink machines 24 hours!! Very good!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zonzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Would recommend this hotel perfect location clean and great staff.the hotel was central to everything Empire State Building could be seen from our window the fee breakfast was excellent you could walk to time square from here and Macy was just round the corner would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steelie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our family stayed at the Broadway Plaza recently. We had two rooms, one with a King Bed, and one with two beds. We'd seen their pictures online, but the hotel actually looked nothing like their pictures. Apparently the hotel had been renovated - which made our stay even better than expected. The lobby was a bit small, but functional and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. In the lobby, hallways, and rooms we had, there was some really cool artwork. The rooms were just great! Very spacious, clean, comfortable beds, beautiful furniture, great TV with a lot of channels, free wifi, and everything looked new. The free daily breakfast was a nice, convenient touch. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Broadway Plaza.

Room Tip: make sure you get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChelseaSunMgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 468 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 468 in New York City
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#172 of 468 in New York City
572 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#46 of 468 in New York City
239 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Plaza Hotel

Property: Broadway Plaza Hotel
Address: 1155 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadway Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 69 room boutique hotel located in the heart of mid town Manhattan in the Chelsea-Flatiron-Herald Square area at 27th Street and Broadway. All guestrooms were renovated in January 2016. All public space was renovated in March, 2013. We are known for our spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, moderate prices, extra value and offer a convenient midtown location. Complimentary light continental breakfast is served daily between 7:00 AM-10:00 AM as well as 24 hour self serve fresh ground Starbucks coffee and Lipton tea available in our 4th floor lounge. Within walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park, Macy's, Herald Square as well as all the fabulous shopping of the Nomad district and 5th and 6th Avenues. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we offer a easy and convenient location to all points of the city. Within 15-20 minutes of our front door, you can be anywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Plaza Boutique Hotel
Hotel Broadway Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing