We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel with Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #92 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and the overall experience was decent. We had a standard "liberty view" room which was spacious, way more so than most NY hotels, and the view was fantastic. Sweeping views over the harbour with a great view of the statue and New Jersey. The surprising and disappointing thing was that we had to pay for in room internet, despite the huge price tag for the room, so we didn't bother. Also, there are no mini bars in the rooms. This is staggering for a 5* hotel in NYC. Still a decent hotel in a great location.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

To caveat this review, my Marriott membership got us an upgrade to a room with a view to the Statue of Liberty (which I could see while lying in bed!), so that, of course, ups this glowing review.

The hotel is right at the most southern end of the island, so there are no obstructions to viewing across the river and harbor. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and full of all necessary amenities. But the unique touch was having a telescope with which to get close views of everything in the harbor, especially the Statue, which I have been fascinated with since I was a child. I did not interact with the staff much...most were friendly, though I found one of the morning reception desk staffers to be argumentative when I was in the right to a disputed charge on our bill. But even that could not have ruined our wonderful stay.

The largest draw-back to this hotel is the "spa", if you call it that. Yes, they have a decent menu if services, but did I see only two rooms to provide the services? I guess there isn't much demand. But I did have a massage, and it was great...the robe not as plush as the one in the room, though (over-washed). The gym has just about everything you need.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank numberonueve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this Ritz Carlton for one night. We had stayed at the other Ritz property in New York the day before because of its proximity to shopping, Central park and the theatre. Our only wish was that we had stayed 2 nights at the property at Battery Park.

We booked through American Express Platinum travel which offers an amazing deal which includes late checkout and a possible room up-grade. We were upgraded to a suite with the most amazing views of Statue of Liberty and Hudson River. The room was immaculate and had all the essentials that you would need in the room for a comfortable stay.

The service was incredible with special nods to Lee, Max, Nino. I broke my i-phone charger and Nino offered to go to radio shack to obtain a replacement ! Fortunately, the hotel had chargers for purchase on site.
We also used the club level facilities and were impressed by the scope of food choices as well as the bar. Max was exceptional and should be commended for his service.

Even though the location is not mid-town, it only took us 20 minutes to go from Central Park to this property which was well worth it.

This will be our hotel of choice when visiting New York!

Room Tip: Corner suites have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I checked into the RC Battery Park with my entire family. We booked through Amex platinum travel, which was a very good deal to begin with. We arrived at the hotel around midnight and my young kids were a bit out of sorts after a long cross county. Alexis who was working at reception immediately made us feel at home for our 7 night stay. She upgraded us to a different one bedroom suite that had panoramic views of the Statue of Liberty and lower Manhattan (this suite is in the 17 block, e.g., room 817, 917, etc). Our package also included breakfast for my wife and I but she saw to it that we could get access to the club level. Incredible!! Given the late hour and the room switch, the bell staff made sure to reposition the crib we requested in our new room quickly so the baby could go to sleep. And they were incredibly thoughtful about asking whether we needed a mini fridge for her bottles.
Next few mornings, I had arranged business breakfasts in the main dining room. Seth Pearlman, the Maître d, greeted each visit with a smile and warm welcome. His attention to detail and endearing nature will guarantee he will go far in life. The rest of the staff, from the maids who helped pick up after three little ones to the uber friendly team on the 11th floor, were of the same caliber.
In summary, this place is operating at a world class level. Had it not been for an early flight home this am, I would have gone to see the GM and commend him for such excellent execution. I have stayed at a dozen RCs around the world from Tokyo to New Orleans to Naples to Maui....etc...etc. All are great properties but this one really has it figured out.

See you again soon.




  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seaurchineceviche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The views are worth the price. The security and staff are up to par for a Ritz Carlton. Within walking distance there are Ferry to Ellis Island and Statue of Liberty, Skyscraper, American Indian, Jewish Heritage Museums. Freedom Tower and 9/11 Memorial . Little further walk to Brooklyn Bridge and the Tenement Museum.
Great bike/walking paths going up the east side or west side with the Hudson Greenway and Esplande. City bikes available right outside the hotel door. Concierge level is open all week-end HUGE PLUS. They put out quite a spread 3 times a day!. Highest floor is #12 because there are apartments above that. Terrific weekend visit (without children..don't bring them they won't like it). Overall a wonderful experience for a short visit. A longer visit should be further uptown if you
want to be where the action is. The restaurant at the Ritz 2 West leaves a lot to be desired and
the bar isn't much better BUT there are fun places to eat and drink if you take a walk. The spa doesn't have any wet facilities like steam,sauna etc. AND would really like to have a move active attempt at recycling . Some Marriotts are now providing a separate trash basket for recyclables.
So pay a little more get a concierge level room with a view and you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ReddyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel has a great location if you need to be near Wall Street and lower Manhattan. It is within walking distance to the 9/11 memorial. There are beautiful views of the Harbor and the 14th floor observation deck is a perfect location to watch the sunset. The staff and service were very good. The room was exceptionally quiet. However, this seems like a tired property for the Ritz Carlton brand. For example, there were stains and threadbare sections on the carpet in the lobby area and the Club level floor and lounge looks like it needs a make-over.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisor readers. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location. As you mentioned, the hotel is a perfect sanctuary whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure. We appreciate your feedback regarding the condition of the lobby carpet and Club Lounge. While this is certainly not the impression we want you to have of our property, we will evaluate the situation and take the necessary immediate action. In the meantime, I hope you will return to our property in the future and enjoy the other wonderful aspects of our hotel.

Sincerely,


Greg Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautiful hotel, as you would expect of the Ritz-Carlton. Fantastic location near the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and the Freedom Tower. Disappointed that wifi is not included for the price of the room. Come on now.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank FirenzeDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#20 of 469 in New York City
322 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#32 of 469 in New York City
3,355 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#117 of 469 in New York City
2,984 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#77 of 469 in New York City
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $417 - $976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing