We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wagner at the Battery
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$162
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$139
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$217
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$230
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$207
$200
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
$169
Yotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$139
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,390)
Filter reviews
2,390 results
Traveler rating
1,510
532
213
79
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,510
532
213
79
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ritz carltonstatue of libertybattery parkclub levelharbor view roomellis islandwall streetnew yorklower manhattanthe financial districtroom servicehudson riverin room diningquiet locationfreedom towercupcakesfour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
1,291 - 1,296 of 2,390 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I admit that every few years I absolutely have to book a suite here with visiting relatives and groove out with the telescope overlooking the harbor. Gives you a great sense of the majesty of NYC. Have tried the Club Floor and it delivers very nicely. Excellent snacks, but as a nondrinker, I might not be getting my money's worth from the Club Floor. making an effort to negotiate at the point of reservation can usually get you a satisfying price break. No swimming pool, however.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my other half to celebrate my 21st birthday. I'd never been to NY before and was looking for a good but good value for money.

The room in the hotel was lovely, we had paid for the view of the statue of liberty which was a nice touch but once you had seen it once it wasn't that exciting.

The location of the hotel wasn't great if you wanted to be heading into town to Times Square or central park. However it was good for the heli trip we had booked and also for the 9/11 memorial.

The staff were friendly but the hotel was more tailored towards business rather than leisure.

We had a breakfast in the room which cost me £100 dollars and was nothing more than the £5 English fry up I have at my local greasy spoon!!

All in all, I wouldn't return to this hotel, but it was the Ritz and it felt good!

Room Tip: Wouldn't suggest paying for the extra view as you can see the statue of liberty from outside the hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Wagner at the Battery, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisors readers and happy belated birthday! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the magnificent views from your guest room. Although you enjoyed some of the offerings in this area, please know that lower Manhattan is undergoing a revitalization and rebuilding with a number of new shops, boutiques and restaurants emerging every day and of course the soon to open Freedom Tower. Thank you as well, for your feedback regarding our In Room Dining breakfast prices. We take all comments such as yours, into consideration. On a brighter note, we are happy that you enjoyed your interaction with our friendly staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,


Greg Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked to stay at this hotel as 4 years ago we stayed at the ritz Carlton Central Park and that was amazing so expected the same from this.. We were wrong. Firstly we are travelling as a family We got into our room to find one king sized bed we booked as a family so how they expect to fit 2 adults and 2 kids in one bed is beyond me. We ordered a crib and spare bed which took ages to arrive on top of that the mini bar had been removed which is a massive disappointment on a '5star' hotel the second night we stayed the toilet flooded and overflowed all over the bathroom floor it took at least 20 mins for the attendant to come and fix it in the mean time we threw all towels in the floor to soak it up. Requesting more fresh towels took over an hour and also the spare bed for the children hadn't been made and when the bedding was 'dropped off' I made the bed myself. If anyone is planning to stay here don't expect a 5 * experience it really isn't. Was a massive disappointment from beginning to end, the only good thing was the door staff very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrsr1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Wagner at the Battery, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisors readers. We sincerely apologize that we did not have the right information in your reservation to provide the correct bedding for you and your family when you arrived. To make matters worse, we did not deliver the crib and rollaway in a timely manner. We definitely failed to meet your expectations on several fronts and we are truly sorry. I can understand your disappointment being a repeat guest to Ritz-Carlton; this was clearly not the level of service that you were expecting from us, or one that we are accustomed to provide our guests. On a brighter note, I am happy to see that our door staff was welcoming and helpful. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Greg Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Battery Park hotel is located a stone's throw from Wall Street, and some of the better rooms have impressive views. Our room had a view of the Statue of Liberty (which was pretty far away), but they provide a telescope for a better look. The rooms were nice, with very comfortable beds and spacious toilets, to Ritz-Carlton standards.

We were very disappointed with the standard of service at the hotel - the minibar had been removed (apparently hotel policy) and room service took a long time to arrive. We were surprised to find that wifi was not free of charge, as would be expected of a 5*Star hotel in the financial district. There was also no pool or sauna, which we also expected from the chain.

The concierge painted a pretty dismal picture of the surroundings when asked for recommendations for shopping & sightseeing in the area, but we found a Century 21 shopping mall walking distance from the hotel, as well as several restaurant options nearby. Soho is about 15mins away by taxi at off-peak times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColomboJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
audrey f, General Manager at The Wagner at the Battery, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisors readers. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the view from your room, the comfortable bed and spaciousness of our bathroom. However we apologize if some of the amenities you were expecting to find were not available. Although there is a charge for Wi-Fi in our rooms, we do provide complimentary Wi-Fi in our Lobby and Restaurant area for the convenience of our guests. In lieu of an Honor Bar, we offer some of the same items through In Room Dining and or our Gift Shop. Again, we appreciate your comments and feedback, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Greg Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our first time in New York with 2 teenage children. A great choice as fantastic view and lovely quiet location. Got the subway up town which was very easy and the stations are very near the hotel. Taxis are very reasonable for Chelsea Market, Soho and Greenwich. For 4 of us a taxi was as expensive as the subway for mid town. Schillers, The Mercer Kitchen and Lure were fab restaurants we visited on friend's recommendations and booked them via the internet from the UK before leaving (otherwise you won't get in).
Ground Zero was inspiring especially the survivor tree. The Staten Island Ferry was good too. A great view of Manhatten. Grand Central Station worth a visit - flew Delta and couldn't fault them. The economy seats were very comfortable and my son is 6ft 3". Have fun and take a taxi from the airport as only flat rate of $52 dollars in the yellow cabs. Avoid the shuttle service as they only go when full up and when you get to your hotel apparently the drivers then say you haven't paid even though you have a pre-paid voucher and won't let you have your luggage unless you pay again!!
Defo stay at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park - great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123debbie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews