We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, somewhat uneven service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #95 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a small but stunning hotel done is a clean very cool and modern style. The building is really beautiful and it has beautiful and unique spaces for restaurants and a bar. The rooms are nice and some have a view of the New York harbor.

The staff always seem to mean well. But sometimes they don't listen to what you really want. We have stayed there ten times and have noticed this on all visits.

Despite that, this is a very Romantic environment and is a good bet for special occasions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. It's what you'd expect from a Ritz Carlton hotel - the staff are polite, the rooms are modern and clean and our bathroom was large for New York, with a separate shower. It takes just under 10 minutes to walk to the nearest subway station on Rector St, which is the subway stop in the Financial District close to Wall St. and Ground Zero.
The only issue that some travellers may have is the location. You're right across from Battery Park and the buildings around it are apartments. There are no restaurants or cafes in this area. We walked back to our room from the subway at 11 PM on Saturday night and passed no-one between the subway and the hotel. The area was completely empty.The walk is along a busy road so it's safe but I usually stay in midtown hotels and I missed the bustle of midtown. Also, over the weekend, I had to buy 4 rides a day on the subway because any attractions I wanted to see were in midtown and then going out at night meant coming all the way back south to change.
There are a few restaurants in an area beyond the Rector St station, near Ground Zero and a cluster of pubs around Pearl St. I think business travellers would love this hotel, as it's so close to Wall St.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Lovely hotel and a fine example of what Ritz Carlton is all about.

If you're travelling to sight-see etc. it's perhaps not located in the best position (apart from ground zero and the Statue of Liberty). It's well worth a walk up to central park stopping off in Tribeca en-route.

Also well worth mentioning that presumably given its location in Battery Park, this hotel is not as expensive as the other premium hotels located closer to Times Square and Central Park.

The concierge also seems to be able to get you a table at just about any restaurant you ask them to!

ENJOY

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Consistently excellent hotel. Staff always very professional and quite friendly. Have only had breakfast here, and that, only light breakfast, so cannot really comment on food quality. They keep track of their guests, and treat you like a returning valued guest, usually delivering a cupcake or fruit plate to your room. This last time, the handwritten note made reference to our company's travel agency, so not sure how much that might factor into it. Anyway, this hotel never disappoints, it's in an excellent location for the Financial District, and it's a wonderful area to walk around, especially with a lot of the construction done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Statue of Liberty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I've been to NYC several times, but this was my first stay here. LOVED it. The location was wonderful...away from the craziness of mid-town, but still so much to see and do. It was lovely to be able to stroll along the river, watch the sunset, enjoy the view of the Statue of Liberty - very relaxing. Subway was a short walk. Staff was extremely nice. Beds so comfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank TravelForFun444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the moment we walked through the door, the hotel staff were so accommodating, friendly and helpful. The acting manager, Jonathan, made us feel very welcome and made an extra effort when he discovered our trip to NYC was for my birthday! Made us feel very special. The hotel was spotless, room was a great size, bed was super comfortable and it was quiet. We would go back there tomorrow.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

If you are looking for a superbly located 5 star hotel this is it. Although it is on the opposite bank to the Statue of Liberty it is a great base for walking and stopping on the way to the main attractions. Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Room service excellent, great value for money. Lovely bath and shower, TV in case you need it. Restaurant absolutely amazing, the night we visited (too tired to move) special was Rib Eye with Lobster Mash, OMG too die for.
We would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose the view of the statue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#17 of 469 in New York City
353 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#32 of 469 in New York City
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#57 of 469 in New York City
1,492 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,291 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $372 - $1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing