We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excellent choice for lower manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #89 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“excellent choice for lower manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we traveled with kids 4 and 7 and we were extremely happy
we decided for the Ritz because of the Statue of Liberty view with a telescope in the room! kids had a lot of fun with that.
excellent position especially if you want to visit the Statue. you will get quick to the ferry and back.
also close to subway lines 1,4,5 which basically takes you to upper Manhattan in 20 min a lot faster than taxi.
very friendly with the kids. have kids menu. always provided an extra for the kids at the restaurant.
cookies at night for kids plus activity book and a small plush toy.
room itself is medium to large in size. for NYC is enormous, if compared to older hotels.
the bathroom however is magnificent for NYC standards - large, shower and full bath and lot of space; hard to beat that in NYc
parking is extra 60 or 70 for SUV per night and every time you pull the car out another 70 is charged
no free wifi apart from lobby

Room Tip: statue of libery view with a telescope
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me74126500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    411
    137
    49
    32
See reviews for
410
536
67
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent the week-end after the 4th of July, got a great rate and enjoyed the hotel and the area. It was perfect. Could not have asked for a better front desk experience, a better concierge( Carlos Leon was superb), a better room, or a better view. It was really hot outside, so we took full advantage of room service and were not disappointed. However, I was disappointed that the outside deck is no longer available to hotel guest(only for private parties), it should be open when there is no party...I'm saving up for a return visit. If you want to experience New York and stay in a area that has seen much pain, and has transformed that pain to beauty, then this is the place. They say that one man's fruit is another man's candy- but not at the Ritz...it's all candy...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abovelamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved this Ritz! One of the nicest I have stayed in. Loved the location of Battery Park and feeling like you are in the city, but not so fast paced. The views of the Statue of Liberty are amazing. Concierge was very helpful. Beds very comfortable, rooms very clean. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Statue of Liberty views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a very cool location, despite extensive construction just outside the property.
The staff was very nice in general.
They could use some tech upgrades in the rooms, i.e. usb ports, and internet access that is reliable. The Wi-fi was out for two days.
This hotel has a very cool looking rooftop terrace that they don't use. The restaurant is nice, but ordinary.
On the morning of our check-out, they lost the keys to the car we were traveling in. They did get us a driver however.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a last minute room at the Ritz a couple of weeks ago. We did upgrade to the Statue of Liberty view and it was worth it, my kid loved the telescope.

I'm marriott gold but had never stayed in ritz before. For the price we paid, I thought it was going to be some incredible experience. It was a hotel that was more friendly than typical marriotts but I didn't feel like I was in the lap of luxury at all. In fact, we had asked for something when a staff member was passing by and it never arrived.

We would probably go back just for the location itself but only if it was a good last minute rate again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puff007NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here in Aug from 16-22 Aug. Great location. But as a recurring guest at many of the ritz carlton's other hotels, this property disappoints in terms of service and amenities in the room. Service was lackluster generally and concierge was more forced than forthcoming. I understand prices in NYC are high but that should correspond with good service. Clearly, I expected more but was left with no more words to say. Oh yes, Wendy at the Club Lounge was the best, the friendliest and genuine with her smiles. Maybe the rest of the staff could take a leaf out of her book.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Easily one of my favorite hotels in NYC. Great location and amazing views of Lady Liberty. I highly recommend the the "liberty" rooms to anybody travelling for the first time to NY. Rooms are super comfy and room service very efficient despite being a big place. Great gym too.

Room Tip: Definitely the "liberty" rooms for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#31 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,614 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#69 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,543 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#51 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#101 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,659 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
#70 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing