We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view makes it worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #82 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
new england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The view makes it worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a last minute room at the Ritz a couple of weeks ago. We did upgrade to the Statue of Liberty view and it was worth it, my kid loved the telescope.

I'm marriott gold but had never stayed in ritz before. For the price we paid, I thought it was going to be some incredible experience. It was a hotel that was more friendly than typical marriotts but I didn't feel like I was in the lap of luxury at all. In fact, we had asked for something when a staff member was passing by and it never arrived.

We would probably go back just for the location itself but only if it was a good last minute rate again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puff007NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    417
    140
    49
    32
See reviews for
423
544
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here in Aug from 16-22 Aug. Great location. But as a recurring guest at many of the ritz carlton's other hotels, this property disappoints in terms of service and amenities in the room. Service was lackluster generally and concierge was more forced than forthcoming. I understand prices in NYC are high but that should correspond with good service. Clearly, I expected more but was left with no more words to say. Oh yes, Wendy at the Club Lounge was the best, the friendliest and genuine with her smiles. Maybe the rest of the staff could take a leaf out of her book.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Easily one of my favorite hotels in NYC. Great location and amazing views of Lady Liberty. I highly recommend the the "liberty" rooms to anybody travelling for the first time to NY. Rooms are super comfy and room service very efficient despite being a big place. Great gym too.

Room Tip: Definitely the "liberty" rooms for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is convenient for meetings near Wall St. The area has two main contrasts – the quiet residential area of Battery City and the crowded touristy area across Broadway which includes the Staten Island ferry, and hordes of tourists taking photos with the bull while mingling with busy Wall Street office workers. Ground Zero and the new construction at that site is also nearby. The hotel is in the quiet residential area. I have mixed feelings about the hotel. The quiet location is fine if you come to New York frequently. If you come only occasionally, there are probably better locations. The suite was quite spacious, but the feel was less luxurious than other Ritz Carltons I’ve stayed in. The interior was quite business-like and basic. The suite included 1.5 lovely bathrooms and a basic living room, bedroom and spacious closet. There was a lack of natural light – all of that space just didn’t feel that great in the dark. Perhaps this could have been rectified by booking a view of the Statue of Liberty – which wasn't a view I cared about although I do like natural light. I had to keep turning on all of the lamps. Services were also spotty – from getting taxis and help with bags to how turndown service was executed. Finally, the mattress was really hard. I tried sleeping on a layer of pillows after the first uncomfortable night. Neither the hard bed nor the pillow layer worked well for my normally pain-free back. So if a hard mattress is ok, the hotel is nice enough but does not have the feel of a top tier luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at Ritz Carlton Battery Park in May. A perfect base for exploring Downtown part of Manhattan and the Ground Zero site that will soon have 4 stunning new buildings to replace the famous Twin Towers. It is very much worthwhile paying the extra for Club Lounge access to enjoy the Champagne on tap and the free wifi access of the lounge after a day out exploring New York.
We love the unique idea of the Kaleidoscope in the Statue of Liberty View rooms.

Room Tip: Statue of Liberty View with club access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The night before, my girlfriend and I got engaged and I decided to take her into the city to the Ritz Carlton down in Battery Park. (The Ritz is one of our fave hotel chains). We drove in from LI and we pulled up and were greated by the valet team, who inquired about our visit. We told him the occasion and he told us to go right inside to check in. Upon arriving at the front desk we were greeted by name and out came a hotel employee with 2 flutes of champagne! Fantastic touch that went a long way. The room offered a spectacular view of lower NY harbor and Statue of Liberty. We had a phenominal meal at 2 West the restaurant in the lobby and the chef even sent out an assortment of deserts with a chocolate inscription of "Congratulations" on our enegagement. Prior to Battery Park, we stayed at the Ritz in San Juan, PR and we now know why the Ritz has the reputation it does -- outstanding service and outstanding food/bev (thanks to Jason in NYC)..all the way from the valet to housekeeping to the concierge...a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DirtyDave516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently spent 4 days and 3 nites at the Ritz Carlton Hotel at Battery Park in NYC. The hotel was in a great location to view the harbor and Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island area. Actually this hotel was nice in that this particular area is very nice and not as busy as the rest of NYC seems to be, kind of like a separate area where we could relax and get ready for the next trip to the various stores. We enjoyed the suite with a view on 6th floor overlooking the Statue of Liberty and harbor area. The room service and restaurant food had some small issues, overall was good. I think the room should have had the carpet cleaned though, spots in several places. I normally don't complain, but since this was a "using my Ritz Rewards Points" stay, I tend to be more picky. The suite was very pricey retail wise, but really took alot of points to upgrade to a suite life. Everyone seemed nice and personable as you would expect from a Ritz, front desk staff seemed a little overwhelmed and not as friendly as they could be. Compared to other Ritz locations, this property rates about an 8 on a scale of 1-10.

Room Tip: You need to request a room with a view of the harbor if possible. They should be able to upgrade yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,663 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#59 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,577 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#48 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#112 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,704 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
#73 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing