We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We chose this hotel for our second stay in New York, wanting to explore lower Manhatten. After having a fantastic stay in Midtown last year, we hoped this trip would be as memorable and it most certainly was! Upon arrival the exceptional level of customer service began and remained the same throughout our stay. As we checked in, our daughter was given a teddy which was a great start to our stay for her! Our room had the most incredible view of Lady Liberty and an ice skating rink across the street. We had complimentary chocolates delivered to the room with a welcome card and again later in the week hoping we were enjoying our stay. All the staff were courteous and helpful and made our stay a very special one. We did not eat at the hotel but found a great place for breakfast called "George's" which had delicious food and steaming hot coffee! We also took a cab to other parts of the city, eating in different places which was fun (Bill's Bar and Burgers in the Rockefellar do gorgious burgers) and Ruby Tuesdays in Times Square was good for steak. We absolutely love New York and whilst Battery Park area is quieter was just as enjoyable with a variety of places to visit. I had thought long and hard about what clothes to take and my advise would be "layers", good waterproof footwear (for sleet/snow) and warm coat, hat, gloves and scarf. We went just after Christmas and stayed for New Year. Watching all the fireworks and boats lighting up the Hudson River and Lady Liberty is something we will never forget. Thanks to all at the The Ritz Carlton Battery Park, we will certainly return again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    494
    188
    61
    45
See reviews for
592
706
81
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my 3rd stay for an annual conference at the hotel. This time I was given a corner room which included a view of the new Freedom Tower(room 405). Beds are very comfortable and a large room certainly by Manhattan standards. Very clean; lots of light; live person for wake up calls and a snooze with the person calling bacin in 15mins. if you want. Very nice shower, robes, and toiletries. Rooms also seem well built as minimal noise. Workout room is compact but lost of options there. The breakfast and lunch served at the conference were top notch. I could also leave my bag there after checking out. The only drawback is that it's a bit of a walk to the trains, and away from midtown, theatre district etc.

Room Tip: I was given a corner rm #405 which have the Freedom Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdwchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Seriously no coffee in the rooms and no where to purchase a cup within the hotel itself!!! My first and last time at this hotel....the rooms are average and the hotel isolated from conveniences. Stuck here for 3 days due to a conference...grrr!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own snacks and beverages otherwise you will be hungry and grouchy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Although not in the most desirable location, RC Battery Park is pretty much flawless. Service from check-in to check-out is excellent, the staff is always prompt to help you and the rooms will certainly not disappoint you.
I was upgraded to an incredible Liberty Statue View Suite and given Club access, which is a really nice plus considering the free breakfast and beverages / nibbles all day long.
Definitely one of the best options if you have business in the Financial District area and also worth a shot if you don't mind staying in the region.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I treated my newlywed cousins to a weekend in NYC at the Ritz Battery Park. The room view was the main reason--we overlooked NY harbor and the Statue of Liberty. I was worried about the Ritz which is basically a Marriott with that level of service. You have to push staff for better service which is tiresome yet productive eventually (like a room available for check-in at 3 pm--imagine? or free Internet for a room costing nearly $600 per night). Gone are the days when there was a door person to smile and open the door (it happens rarely now). Gone are the days when there is tea with the coffee in the morning for those folks on the run. Gone are the days when the staff in the restaurant don't congregate, don't banter and don't forget to bring you a cup of $14 black tea that you have to get up and ask to receive. The cost of a few breakfast drinks and 2 fruit yogurt granola cocktails was over $80. (Hint: go outside the hotel to the left of the front entrance, down the street a block for two good choices: a quick serve food and coffee bar or a sit down cafe). The room was comfortable, had a very good view and a luxurious bathroom although the tv didn't work well (sound was only on select channels which they tried but failed to resolve). Would I stay here again for personal reasons? No, there are more optimal choices in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Statue of Liberty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is my second stay with this hotel. The location is simply wonderful; away from the hustle and bustle of midtown, on the Hudson. The park is just across the street, which lends to wonderful walks along the waterfront.

The staff, from the doorman to the front desk and waiters were all very polished and professional. The hotel lobby and lounges are very upscale, and the hotel room is pristine and simply perfect! The view of the Statue of Liberty from our room never fails to amaze me, and having a telescope in the room is an added bonus!

Staying at this hotel is worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Statue of Liberty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikesToTravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Ritz Carlon is very well located on Battery pak with nice view on the harbour rooms are confortable but needs refurbishment to meet five stars properties like the Peninsula
there is no decent spa and the gym equipment is poor
would still recommend the hotel as the staff is very friendly and prices are affordable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#26 of 467 in New York City
271 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 467 in New York City
3,285 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#14 of 467 in New York City
430 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,934 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#70 of 467 in New York City
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing