We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually Amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #88 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Usually Amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every time we are in NY and always have a great experience. Front desk clerk Lee is very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, this stay we had someone who not only put us in a room with two doubles when we specifically booked a room with a king bed (he was then annoyed with s because we wouldn't accept the room assignment and told us he had no ther rooms). After we asked to see a manager he miraculously found us the room category we booked. Everything after that was terrific. It was a shame to start off our stay with such an unpleasant experience. Room service is friendly and prompt. Breakfast is delicious (the biggest eggs I have ever seen in my life) I would recommend this hotel . Very clean, comfortable and quiet location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank caramel102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    411
    138
    49
    32
See reviews for
413
536
67
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

by saying that the ritz in battery park nyc is better than the highest standard, it tells you what you need to know. The rooms are spotless, the view over the harbour to the statue of liberty, the proximity to all that battery park has to offer, every staff member we talked to from the front door, Kevin, to the front desk, to the concierge, the staff in the restaurant, service............absolutely the very very best. Why stay anywhere else if you can afford it.

Room Tip: well obviously the rooms facing the statue of liberty are very special, but they are a little more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have almost always stayed uptown in previous visits to NYC, but if your stay is largely going to be centered south of the Village, this is a very good alternative. Battery Park City is a quiet, residential area, and it's a reasonable walk not only to Wall Street but also to Tribeca and even Soho and the Village. As others have said, further north is definitely a taxi or subway ride.

The hotel itself is a far different experience from the typical hectic NYC hotel experience. It is quiet, new and beautifully laid out. The rooms are very large by any standards, and ours had a spectacular view of the harbor, Statue of Liberty etc. Staff service was friendly and largely efficient.

It is definitely not a typical New York experience to stay here, but if you are a frequent traveler to the city and your business is downtown, this is definitely a very good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great view of the harbor. Loved having the telescope to look at The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. It is away from the chaos common to the rest of the island, so we like it as a perfect spot to decompress at the end of a day. It is perfectly positioned for any transportation you care to use in NYC, so being so far south was never inconvenient.
Staff was wonderful, gym was very good, and the food/drink (club floor) was excellent. Service was every bit what I would expect from a Ritz-Carlton Property.

Room Tip: Get a Harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank draym85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is ideal for business with easy access to Wallstreet and adjoining businesses.

Had a huge corner room, although missed the harbor view. Nice bathroom with separate room for toilet and shower.

The fitness facilities are nice and clean. Restaurant is a bit small and inadequate for what you would expect for Ritz Carlton, although the food and drinks are very nice.

Could also recommend the hotel for holiday, as there is super easy access to uptown and soho with the subway only 300m away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHH1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a huge room which you don't get to say often in NYC. We didn't get a harbor view but truly a massive room. Very comfortable and might have been the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Staff was great, food was good but being near battery park doesn't do it for me. It would be ok if the subway was closer or more cabs. Everytime we went out a cab was $20 and the drivers kind of need direction to get back to West Side drive from the hotel. Great for a business traveller that wants to be downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sftraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. We received a room upgrade to a 1 -bedroom suite which had a beautiful view of Lady Liberty. The brunch at the restaurant was very good. Ask for the pretzel rolls with the honey-mustard butter.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#31 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,618 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#69 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,545 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#51 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#103 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,664 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
#87 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing