We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #99 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great view of the harbor. Loved having the telescope to look at The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. It is away from the chaos common to the rest of the island, so we like it as a perfect spot to decompress at the end of a day. It is perfectly positioned for any transportation you care to use in NYC, so being so far south was never inconvenient.
Staff was wonderful, gym was very good, and the food/drink (club floor) was excellent. Service was every bit what I would expect from a Ritz-Carlton Property.

Room Tip: Get a Harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draym85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is ideal for business with easy access to Wallstreet and adjoining businesses.

Had a huge corner room, although missed the harbor view. Nice bathroom with separate room for toilet and shower.

The fitness facilities are nice and clean. Restaurant is a bit small and inadequate for what you would expect for Ritz Carlton, although the food and drinks are very nice.

Could also recommend the hotel for holiday, as there is super easy access to uptown and soho with the subway only 300m away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHH1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a huge room which you don't get to say often in NYC. We didn't get a harbor view but truly a massive room. Very comfortable and might have been the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Staff was great, food was good but being near battery park doesn't do it for me. It would be ok if the subway was closer or more cabs. Everytime we went out a cab was $20 and the drivers kind of need direction to get back to West Side drive from the hotel. Great for a business traveller that wants to be downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sftraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was very nice. We received a room upgrade to a 1 -bedroom suite which had a beautiful view of Lady Liberty. The brunch at the restaurant was very good. Ask for the pretzel rolls with the honey-mustard butter.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 nt work/play trip. I loved that I could enjoy a hectic day in the city and then come back to a quiet, clean, and comfortable room at the end of the night. The harbor view was amazing. I know I will be choosing this RC when I come back with my kids because they will love the view too.

Room Tip: Get harbor view suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandTfamily29621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband, daughter (10) and I recently stayed here for one night. We had a Liberty view room, which was outstanding. The room itself was large and comfortable. My daughter referred to the beds as "princess beds," as they were so comfortable. The bathroom was also fantastic-all standard Ritz. We had drinks in the bar which were fine, I didn't think overly priced at all. Room service for dinner was a disappointment for the most part but breakfast downstairs was excellent! We had a glitch with receiving our car from valet, waited over an hour, but the valets were quick to make amends to have the parking charge removed. Overall an excellent experience and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff at this hotel was superb! Everyone was helpful & informative. The hotel itself is a bit on the older side but very well maintained. Very clean and rooms are nice. An older feel to the rooms but still very tastefully decorated. The area is very peaceful and walking distance to many areas. Rooms had a small safe & basic amenities. Loved the water pressure in the shower. This hotel made for a very quiet and pleasurable stay. If you like the hussle & bussle of the big city or the more modern younger hip hotel then I would say stay in Time square not in this area.

Room Tip: Staue of liberty view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv-2-travel-36DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 470 in New York City
363 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 470 in New York City
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Langham
The Langham
#18 of 470 in New York City
2,313 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#125 of 470 in New York City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $369 - $1,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing