We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice....but...location is off.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice....but...location is off.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a huge room which you don't get to say often in NYC. We didn't get a harbor view but truly a massive room. Very comfortable and might have been the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Staff was great, food was good but being near battery park doesn't do it for me. It would be ok if the subway was closer or more cabs. Everytime we went out a cab was $20 and the drivers kind of need direction to get back to West Side drive from the hotel. Great for a business traveller that wants to be downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    494
    188
    61
    45
See reviews for
592
706
81
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. We received a room upgrade to a 1 -bedroom suite which had a beautiful view of Lady Liberty. The brunch at the restaurant was very good. Ask for the pretzel rolls with the honey-mustard butter.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 nt work/play trip. I loved that I could enjoy a hectic day in the city and then come back to a quiet, clean, and comfortable room at the end of the night. The harbor view was amazing. I know I will be choosing this RC when I come back with my kids because they will love the view too.

Room Tip: Get harbor view suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandTfamily29621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband, daughter (10) and I recently stayed here for one night. We had a Liberty view room, which was outstanding. The room itself was large and comfortable. My daughter referred to the beds as "princess beds," as they were so comfortable. The bathroom was also fantastic-all standard Ritz. We had drinks in the bar which were fine, I didn't think overly priced at all. Room service for dinner was a disappointment for the most part but breakfast downstairs was excellent! We had a glitch with receiving our car from valet, waited over an hour, but the valets were quick to make amends to have the parking charge removed. Overall an excellent experience and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff at this hotel was superb! Everyone was helpful & informative. The hotel itself is a bit on the older side but very well maintained. Very clean and rooms are nice. An older feel to the rooms but still very tastefully decorated. The area is very peaceful and walking distance to many areas. Rooms had a small safe & basic amenities. Loved the water pressure in the shower. This hotel made for a very quiet and pleasurable stay. If you like the hussle & bussle of the big city or the more modern younger hip hotel then I would say stay in Time square not in this area.

Room Tip: Staue of liberty view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv-2-travel-36DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay the Ritz Carlton in Battery Park. It is a peaceful area in which to stay over the weekend compared to other areas of Manhattan. We had a Statue of Liberty view room which was great since the hotel provides a telescope in the room. The large bath room had a separate shower big enough for two. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. We ordered room service for breakfast and the service and food were excellent. Nicely equipped, uncrowded gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallivanter152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, USA
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The service at the Ritz was stellar! The hotel is beautiful and the harbor view room with a telescope for viewing Lady Liberty was just outstanding! Highly recommend this property and will absolutely return on future trips to the city!

Room Tip: Request a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#26 of 467 in New York City
272 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 467 in New York City
3,284 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#14 of 467 in New York City
431 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,934 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#70 of 467 in New York City
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing