We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #86 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff at this hotel was superb! Everyone was helpful & informative. The hotel itself is a bit on the older side but very well maintained. Very clean and rooms are nice. An older feel to the rooms but still very tastefully decorated. The area is very peaceful and walking distance to many areas. Rooms had a small safe & basic amenities. Loved the water pressure in the shower. This hotel made for a very quiet and pleasurable stay. If you like the hussle & bussle of the big city or the more modern younger hip hotel then I would say stay in Time square not in this area.

Room Tip: Staue of liberty view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv-2-travel-36DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    440
    158
    55
    38
See reviews for
483
613
73
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay the Ritz Carlton in Battery Park. It is a peaceful area in which to stay over the weekend compared to other areas of Manhattan. We had a Statue of Liberty view room which was great since the hotel provides a telescope in the room. The large bath room had a separate shower big enough for two. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. We ordered room service for breakfast and the service and food were excellent. Nicely equipped, uncrowded gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallivanter152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
267 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The service at the Ritz was stellar! The hotel is beautiful and the harbor view room with a telescope for viewing Lady Liberty was just outstanding! Highly recommend this property and will absolutely return on future trips to the city!

Room Tip: Request a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Ritz was a great place to stay on my recent business trip to New York. The rooms were as nice as you can find in NYC and the views were great. The room was large and I had a view of Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty, The restaurant in the lobby was also very good. I highly recommend the Ritz for a business or pleasure trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter & I stayed for a week long holiday. We knew the area and wanted to have a peaceful place to return to at the end of what we knew would be hectic days. The hotel is built at the very tip of Manhattan Island with views over the river to the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island & the New Jersey shore line. That part of NY is relatively quiet and Battery Park is just a few steps away. There is also a lovely pedestrian walk way along the side of the river right up to and beyond the World Financial Centre.

We had chosen a Statue of Liberty room as we both like to watch the activity on the river. Our welcome at the hotel was warm and courteous, the check in very quick. Our room was very nice, the beds were very comfortable as were the pillows - an essential when tired from long days sight seeing. The housekeeping staff did a good job and the slight irritation about a faulty plug in the hand basin was remedied immediately. Good quality shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion were replenished every day.
The concierges were very helpful and friendly, they were able to provide extremely useful subway and street maps as well as making suggestions about places to visit that might not be on the usual tourist list.
The food in the hotel was of good quality but slightly pricey, but the prices were not out of keeping with the standard of the hotel. We certainly did not experience the poor service mentioned in Theapprenticelondon's review.
All of the hotel staff were very friendly and some went out of their way to be very helpful.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay somewhere quiet but within easy subway travel of all the major areas of interest in NY.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river & the Statue of Liberty it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have recently spent four days in New York and the Ritz Carlton at Battery Park was recommended due to its waterside location. This is indeed a great spot with fine views over the Statute of Liberty and Ellis Island.We only had a few drinks and one room service meal in the hotel. The service was mediocre and both the food and drinks were very expensive. It looks as though it was outdated when it opened. There are better hotels in this class in New York.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel at least have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THEAPPRENTICELONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed here to celebrate our birthdays and we were treated so well from the moment we arrived. We stayed Club Level and the food and drink selection was wonderful. We were expecting a better view in the Club Lounge but that was the only negative. Our room was wonderful. The beds were plush and comfortable. I'm very tall and was able to use the tub for a relaxing bath. The shower also had wonderful water pressure. We had a Liberty view room which was a lovely view - with a telescope to use! The staff was wonderful. We were greeted by name when we arrived and even sent up a birthday cupcake. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karabee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,956 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#90 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#85 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#114 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#61 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing