We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - not much activity in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - not much activity in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here overnight for a conference. The hotel is wonderful, staff very attentive, rooms are large and nicely furnished. I had a corner room with a view of the Freedom Tower which was great all lit up at night. Since superstore sandy, the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island is closed so there is really nothing to do at this end of the city other than visit ground zero - which in and of itself is a very special opportunity. However, I would also opt to stay uptown where there is much more to do and see.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmc1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    462
    164
    55
    39
See reviews for
500
649
76
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went to NYC for the first time for my birthday this year (7th Feb) and it was AMAZING!!!!! The hotel was lovely and the staff were brilliant and made the whole experience even better. Manny on the Concierge was the best. Room was HUGE and the bed was soooooo comfortable and was also HUGE. NYC is a beautiful and magical place, we went to the 9/11 Memorial and it is makes you realise that life is so precious and puts stupid worries into perspective......it was surreal that with the hustle and bustle around the site it is so peaceful inside the site. I love New York and will go back as soon as I can. I also got engaged in Central Park which made the whole trip more meaningful. If you are going to NYC than stay here you won't find anywhere nicer. Xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
812 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,537 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Battery Park is a nice hotel with friiendly staff and comfortable rooms but it is not located in a great spot. There are too many other nicer and less expensive hotels in Times Square that are a better overall value. Staff is competent and friendly. The room is clean and the beds and pillows are comfortable. There is not a lot of dining options in the area so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newrock
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a two night stay here during a business trip and loved this hotel. It's in a great location in lower Manhattan, an easy walk to Wall Street, but in a zone with very moderate traffic by New York standards. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and probably the quietest I've ever had in Manhattan. Highly recommended for anyone staying in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Although I am not of the means to be staying here frequently, I did splurge for a special occasion and it was well worth it. First class treatment, classy service, and not phony like many places. Had a suite overlooking the harbor, with a telescope to peep interesting things. Not a place to stay every trip, but every now and then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

my husband surprised me with a trip to NYC for our 20th wedding anniversary and made reservations to stay here. Upon check-in, I mentioned it was our anniversary. Immediately a young man at the desk was talking into his shirt cuff (like a Secret Service agent!) and within a minute 2 flutes of champagne were presented to us. It didn't stop there - they upgraded us to a suite overlooking the Statue of Liberty complete with telescope. It was beautiful, the staff was so nice and went above and beyond anything we could have imagined. It was a dream weekend, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed a short family vacation at the Ritz-Carlton on our first trip to New York and after staying at the Ritz-Carlton, we will definitely be back and to this hotel. Excellent customer service from our arrival until we left. Nothing was too much trouble to the staff and although the hotel may be further out from Times Square, it does not detract from the quality of the hotel. The Subway is a short walk away and there is plenty of cabs to take you to Times Square ($20) or beyond if it's sightseeing you're after. The location is ideal if you want to go for a walk without the bustle of a more central hotel. The ferries to Staten Island, Ellis Island and Liberty Island are all within a couple minutes walk and Ground Zero is reached within 5-10 minutes walk. Excellent hotel, service and location. Looking forward to going back...soon.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra and get a Liberty View room for excellent views over to the Lady Liberty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#323 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing