We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ritz Lite"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #98 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As others have mentioned, this is a nice hotel...but not quite in the same league as most other Ritz-Carlton hotels I've been to.

Positives --- Staff was mostly very friendly and helpful. My housekeeper and room service staff were exceptionally cheerful. The location was actually very good for me with business split between Brooklyn and the Wall Street area, and the quiet evenings were quite refreshing compared to holiday madness in Midtown. Statue of Liberty views from the room were fantastic.

Negatives --- The overall feel of the hotel is like a nice JW Marriott or Hyatt. All nearby hotels were very expensive during my stay, but this wasn't worth $700/night. A weekend stay at half that or less would be a good value. The breakfast in the restaurant on 2 mornings was mediocre at best, and it'd take 10+ minutes for anyone to notice an empty coffee cup. Bar service in the evening was friendly but took forever to get a check. The biggest thing that bothered me --- an absolute hotel cardinal sin in 2012 --- is charging $12/day for internet use when your bill for 4 days is over $3,000 with minimal incidentals. It's short-sighted and outrageous that hotels continue to charge for wireless, and the principle of it just bothers me...especially in a luxury business hotel where 95% of travelers will need to use the internet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lagunadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,541 - 1,547 of 2,336 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

My grandmother and I stayed here during a recent Christmas shopping trip to New York. We enjoyed a pleasant stay in this comfortable, modern property and believe it provides good value for money.

As many other reviewers have noted, the staff are almost uniformly attentive and competent. Everyone from the bellmen to the bartender to the housekeeper was friendly and welcoming. They seemed to be enjoying their work, which is always a good sign.

Despite its location at the southern tip of Manhattan, the hotel is close to Rector Street and Bowling Green subway stations allowing you to get uptown very quickly (20 minutes) using the express trains. The hotel also provides nice private cars at short notice and we found them to be cheaper than taking cabs.

Our room overlooked the harbour and, although not the most luxurious and well-appointed room I've ever stayed in, it was more than adequate: clean, modern and spacious with a Bose sound system, HD cable TV and plenty of storage space in the cupboard.

Room service was expensive but prompt and well presented. Coffee, tea and pastries were all up to the required standard.

On the negative side, the rooftop bar is closed and there are no wet spa facilities such as a sauna or steam room. The hotel charges for Wi-Fi access, the products available from the minibar are disappointing and there are no in-room tea/coffee making facilities. At the time of visiting, Christmas-themed music was being piped throughout the lobby and bar areas which I thought was a little uncivilised and presumptuous, especially given the lack of an alternative bar and restaurant within the hotel.

Nevertheless this hotel is a good value alternative to the extortionate rates of midtown. At the time of reservation we paid a similar rate to those being offered by three star properties in the Times Square area and in that context, choosing The Ritz-Carlton Battery Park is an absolute no-brainer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillJMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family of four decided to visit New York for Thanksgiving week and were able to secure a nice reservation at the Ritz Carlton, Battery Park through American Express. Arriving late on a Sunday from the subway, by way of the Long Island railroad, the very nice desk staff informed us that with the upcoming holiday we had been upgraded to an even nicer suite than the one we reserved. That was an example of how gracious and customer-focused the staff was for the whole trip. The New York hospitality industry has real career professionals and it showed at this property. It was a short walk to the Bowling Green subway stop or Rector to take the 1 line, so we found this location to be just fine. Best of all, you did not feel like you were entering a busy freeway on-ramp when exiting the hotel, as is often the case mid-town. We found the club lounge to be worth the extra expense given the food and drinks served at various times during the day.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Statue of Liberty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCalBusTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Battery Park Ritz is in an odd area at the lower tip of Manhattan, and unless you have business in the Wall Street area, there is no reason to stay here. This is a solid hotel, but nothing special or "Ritz-like." This is reflected in the price, which is far lower than its counterpart on Central Park South.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved the executive floor of this beautiful location. The ease of coming and going with access to snacks, food and drink in great comfort was terrific. It was a great business location for work downtown. Even got to walk to the 9/11 memorial site. Location a bit isolated but venue, views and quality of the facility were top shelf!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debrapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are New Yorkers who no longer live in New York. So we know the City extremely well and love coming to this Ritz every Christmas season. Let everyone else stay uptown at the over-priced properties and deal with the frenetic crowds. We come down to the peace and quiet of Christmas season Wall Street, when employees are few and the lower part of Manhattan is as quiet as it gets. We still go uptown to see shows, have dinner, etc - but this hotel also gives you quick access to the ever-improving Tribeca, for example.

We think this hotel has great value if you pick the right dates. We love the people there (so disagree with the assessments of others) and love having breakfast and taking a walk along the beautifully restored water-front. They try to upgrade you and some of the rooms that face the Statue of Liberty are just lovely. We always try to stay in the corner suites - great rooms.

This hotel is a five star oasis away from the crowds but perfectly accessible to everything New York City. The views are better than any New York hotel - with the possible exception of those that overlook Central Park. Give it a try - we have now for eight years.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golflefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved staying at the Ritz in Battery Park. We used to live in Battery Park and love the neighborhood, even though it is farther away from the main attractions in Midtown. The staff at the Ritz are exceptional, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the views of the Hudson and Statue of Liberty unbeatable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaitlinSmith54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
409 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#70 of 473 in New York City
1,541 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 473 in New York City
3,525 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#45 of 473 in New York City
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: Two West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $315 - $783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing