We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, perfect service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our daughter's wedding was held nearby and we utilized a block of 10 rooms for the weekend. The location looks out over lower New York Harbor with the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island outside the windows. The rooms even come equipped with a telescope. The bed was very comfortable and a luxury bath with two robes, two sinks and separate shower and bathtub. Even better than the luxury accommodations was the service we received from each and every staff member. Laura at the front desk remembered that we had visited 2 months before. One couple in our party is deaf and they set up the room with special facilities to help them (vibrating alarm clock, door bell which turned the lights on and off, TTY to speak to front desk) and then Jason, a member of the guest relations staff, came to the room when they checked in to explain the special features. A week before we arrived, I received a 3 page survey to inquiring about special needs, who was paying and for what.
The housekeeping staff anticipated the needs in the bridal suite and staff arranged for photos of the bride and groom to be taken from a closed-off outdoor roof location. If I didn't know any better, I think they may have actually arranged for the perfect weather as well. In summary, while it is expensive, the Ritz is a beautiful luxury facility located at the tip of Manhattan with exquisite service. My wife and I will come back to stay for special weekends in New York CIty.

Room Tip: the rooms are well described on the website, so you know what you are getting. Ask for a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    469
    168
    55
    40
See reviews for
513
659
76
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here over Easter with two kids aged 7 and 11 and while the stay started slighty shaky with our telescope broken and also one of our phones we used to complain, however, Abdel, the head of front of house and Laura really changed our perception by providing exemplary service in upgrading us to use their club lounge which kids really adored. Abdel even took me there personally to show what was available and both Laura and Abdel provided their direct contact details if we needed attention.

The lobby is a little unassuming and I am not sure what the hotel can do to improve that but the attention to detail in our room was great and the views breathtaking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Abdel and Laura are real gems and all the staff should take a lead from them..90% are nearly there but 10% could still learn, the guy who checked us in, for example. However, I am a great believer in second chances and Ritz c certainly with the help of Abdel made this a great holiday!

The restaurant also is great and the staff there absolutely superb, they really know how to make you feel special.

Room Tip: Ask for view of lady liberty...breathtaking esp at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here during a recent family vacation and we were very impressed.
We had arrived late evening with our 2 young kids from along flight and it was really nice to have such a good welcome at the hotel, the even sent milk and cookies up for the kids shortly after we got there!!!

At breakfast everyone was also so nice and friendly. the concierge even gave us nice tips on places to visit.

I have stayed in quite a number of hotels but i must say, I would stay here again!

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable

Room Tip: It's worth the extra staying in a room with a view of the statue of liberty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAjCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I booked an all-inclusive Easter weekend break with British Airways, which included 3 nights at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park. The option to upgrade our rooms to deluxe club level for only GBP30.00 per night was 'snip', and the overall package cost (circa GBP1800.00pp including Club Class flights from NCL) was less than the flight only offer from London.
I contacted the hotel well in advance of our arrival and thanks to Mary and Jay for their professionalism throughout. Transportation in a Lincoln Town Car though a little expensive, ensures the smoothest of transfers from JFK to the hotel. The cost of a round trip is circa GBP230.00, but when you take the cost of a taxi, plus tolls, plus luggage, plus extras and a 20% tip, then this makes for a much more refined alternative. We were met in the arrivals lounge by our driver, and whisked to the hotel in less than 45 mins.

On arrival at the hotel, we were checked-in quickly and in a relaxed manner, and were allocated 2 rooms on the 11th floor, 1106 and 1107. The rooms located on the side of the hotel overlooking Little West Street, and had great views of Battery Park, and the bay beyond. If you were close to the window you could clearly see The Statue of Liberty to the South and the 'topped out' Freedom Tower to the North. The rooms were very well appointed, with 'American' King beds with pillow tops, large plasma TV's, Bose sound system and plenty of open space. Bathrooms were very well appointed with separate tub and shower, robes, slippers and designer toiletries. My daughter even got cookies on the first night (she is 18 but still thought this a sweet gesture from the hotel).
The Club Lounge on the 14th Floor is well equipped, though there is only one computer available, and offers breakfast, lunchtime snacks, afternoon tea and evening canapes along with drinks throughout the day. Service is Ritz standard, and the staff headed by Max, are the epitome of attentive professionalism. They were approachable on any issue, and regularly chatted on issues of the day - excellent!
The hotel is only a 200m walk from the Ferries to Ellis Island and the 'Lady', and I would recommend booking in advance to avoid the considerable (up to 2hr) queues which snake around the park at the peak of the day. The walk to 'Ground Zero' takes less than 10mins, and the nearest tube station at Bowling Green is less than 5 mins from the hotel at the corner of Battery Park. From here the number 4 or 5 uptown trains will whisk you to Grand Central station in around 10 minutes (USD2.50), from where you have less than a 5 minute walk to the sights of 5th Avenue and the Empire State Building.
The hotel is close to Wall Street and the cluster of bars, restaurants and outlets which surround the financial district, and across the park from the Statton Island Ferry Terminal (free of charge to use). If you want to venture further afield, then Pier 17, Pier 54 and the 'Highline' walkway are all reachable with a 15-30 minute stroll.
What we found particularly appealing was the effort displayed by the hotel on Easter Sunday, when the pre-arranged 'egg hunt' was clearly a cherished local occasion, and there appeared to be free sweets, chocolate and bunnies in every direction.

Overall a superb hotel, in a great location and with impeccable staff and service.

Many thanks to all!

Room Tip: You do not necessarily need a 'Statue' view, but the Club Level is well worth the extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCBDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here 6-12 April in an Executive Suite with Statue of Liberty view. Beautiful view from a large suite which had king size bedroom, large bathroom with bath and shower and an adjoining lounge space complete with telescope to explore the view. We used the sofabed in the lounge for our daughter which worked well. The room was well appointed and the king size bed was very comfortable. Service at the hotel was very friendly and Carlos the Concierge was particularly helpful. Only one bar/restaurant in the hotel but the food was good especially for breakfast. Didn't use the small gym and the spa treatments (no pool) were a bit pricey. Location is fine; there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed a good steak at Harry's in the Financial District and great sahimi/sushi at reasonable prices at Kaiju on the waterfront. Also went up to Tribeca and Soho by cab to eat. Travelling to other parts was easy by subway (30 minutes to Coney Island, 20 minutes to Central Park).

Room Tip: Choose a Statue view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Superb hotel, first-class rooms, sparkling clean, outstanding staff. Only had breakfast in restaurant but it was great. Location is interesting; across from Battery Park, you can walk out the front door and grab a boat to Statue of Liberty--or have a room with a Statue view--or take a $10 cab ride to SoHo. But still not exactly central location. Bathroom was huge, big closet; room in general seemed very large for NYC. Still the overall experience seemed ... a very high-class version of an outstanding Hilton or Holiday Inn rather than a 5-star. Room decor is OK, seems dated even if not. Lobby is small. USA Today at the door ... just like a Hampton Inn. As others have said location has little in walking distance to do. A very fine hotel ... I would gladly use it again, and also gladly experiment with another, more unusual place that offered something more unusual.

Room Tip: Defintiely ask for a Statue of Liberty view if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VACrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

All of our previous NYC vacays have been further north: Mandarin Oriental, Essex House, Plaza, Ritz Carlton Central Park. I was a bit concerned that the Battery Park location woulld be a problem and it was--slightly. There is very little within easy walking distance, especially at night. We still loved the Staue of Liberty views and the people watching in Battery Park. Also, there are several subway lines within 1/4 mile walk, so if you are willing to deal with 4-5 extra stops on that, or fight traffic in a taxi I recommend you stronly consider R-C BP.

We stayed in a Statue View Club Suite booked via AmEx Fine Hotels and Resorts. The price was very reasonable. Service is on par with the other places we have stayed. There were a couple of minor mixups on check in and checkout that were quickly remedied with typical R-C aplomb. The propery is beautiful and well-maintained.
The club level here was terrific, as good as any I have seen anywhere. Lots of great small bites, snacks, drinls, and very relaxing. We had breakfast there each morning.It's a good thing, because we found the restaurant to be utterly lacking in selection, flavor, and efficiency. The bar is cozy and friendly though. Concierge knowledgeable abd helpful.

Our suite was roomy and very well appointed. Typical R-C bed and bathroom appointments. Very comfortable and luxurious. Separate bathtub and shower areas not quite on par with other R-C as far as size but still very nice.

You will know without doubt that you are staying at the Ritz. The staff is well trained and helpful. Somehow it does seem a bit...muted? comapred to their sister property on Centrl Park. Didn't bother us one bit.

We told them we are celebrating our wedding aniversary and they went over thee top to help us celebrate. Rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom, flowers, and a different little gift each nigt definitely scored points with my wife and me. Very thoughtful and appreciated. SO would we stay again? I think so!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing