We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
136
195
133
69
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
195
133
69
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop garden original cabin communal showers shared bathroom provide ear plugs new york rooms are small short stay lower manhattan lounge area earplugs lowry chinatown nyc subway bunk shampoo
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 629 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Although the room was quite small overall I had a great stay, first time in New York City and I will definitely be back as well as recommend my friends to stay here. Was checked in by Tiffany who was extremely sweet, proficient and professional, not to mention a stunner! She was very patient with me and answered all my questions as well as guided me throughout the whole city.

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wferin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Wferin,
Thank you for your stay and review! Our cabins offer a traditional and very affordable way to visit New York City. As you experienced, our staff want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Staff can help with maps, subway information, directions and tickets to the best of the city. Please stay with us again!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed at The Bowery House for 3 weeks in February, this was my second trip to New York first to The Bowery House. I thought it was one of the best budget accommodation in New York City.

The Bowery House is in the perfect location to stay if you want to explore down-town like the World Trade Centre and Statue of Liberty, you can even walk to Times Square which took me about and hour.

The rooms a small just have a bed and a side table just enough room for your luggage. Its safe and secure. Bathrooms and toilets where cleaned everyday. The Bowery House isn't really suitable for people who want a good night sleep, as the cabins have no ceilings but don't let that put you off.

Perfect for Solo travellers and also couples, good location, friendly staff, safe and secure.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Jeff H,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We are thrilled you enjoyed our excellent location. It is so easy to explore NYC from The Bowery House. Our cabins are affordable so you can spend more out enjoying the city and the sights. As you noticed, we take cleanliness very serious - it makes for a better stay. I am so glad our friendly staff was able to help you, we have some of the best staff in the city. Always ready to help in any way possible.
I hope to see you on your next trip to NYC.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

actually there are no rooms, just small cabins without ceiling. so you will be hearing all your neighbors throughout the night. it is a budget friendly hostel with a great location. also there are no elevators, so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs if you are not a backpacker.

Room tip: would recommend rooms with window..
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Manolya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Manoyla K,
Thank you for your stay and review! Our cabins are perfect for the traveler to sleep and stow luggage while visiting the great city of Manhattan. No elevator, but our staff is always glad to help with luggage, just let us know you need help!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Perfect for solo travellers. Small cabins, literally use just as a place to sleep and keep belongings safe. Would recommend to friends, and will be staying there next time I'm in New York. Free wifi and lovely communal living area. Bathrooms are super clean,

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Daisy V,
Thank you for your review and stay! The Bowery House is the perfect place for solo or couple travelers. We look forward to having your friends stay with us. We offer fast wifi to keep our guests connected and a beautiful lobby to enjoy, relax and meet others. We are proud to keep our bathrooms 'super clean' for our Super Guests.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Rooms are clean. Small, but this is Manhattan so wasn't surprised. Bathroom is very clean! Reception desk are the best. Very friendly and willing to help. Christopher was very friendly and so were all the other receptionist that I came into contact with. A great deal.

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nycworldtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear nycworldtraveling,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We are proud to offer guests a great place to stay when visiting NYC. We take cleanliness very serious and are glad you noticed! Our staff at the front desk is glad to help in any way possible. Restaurant recommendations, local travel insights and subway directions are only a few of the things we are happy to provide to our dear guests. We hope you will call The Bowery House home when you are in New York.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews