We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME: The Bowery House”
Review of The Bowery House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bowery House
Ranked #30 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the moment I called to check availability, I knew The Bowery House was the place I wanted to stay during my search for an apartment in Manhattan. The Bowery House location at the end of Prince Street and Bowery, is ideal for walking to Soho restaurants, as well as the trendy East Village, the place to be if you like to have a beer and good food at a decent price.
Everyone of the Bowery House Team Members has been very friendly always asking how my stay is going. Thank you Tyler and Val for all of your help with my second reservation, you both are awesome! The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The noise level is minimal, I have had some of the best sleep yet.
I highly recommend The Bowery House.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stealth_ninja_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 594 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Supet clean beds. Common bath is always clean, the housekeeping ia making sure that it stays like that. The crew is really friendly, no matter what time it is they always chat with pleasure and a big smile! It was a nice journey that made me forget the missing elevator :). Promiscuity was not a problem, it was even funny to share the room with people you don't know!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Selim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sskunkel, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Selim,

Thank you for your review of The Bowery House. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct, it is a fun time to share the room with other travelers. It's the best way to make new friends and explore NYC. I hope you can visit us again!


Sincerely,

MGMT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is very trendy, and I didn't mind the tiny cabin room, lack of window, or shared (reasonably smart) bathrooms. But with open ceilings in the cabins it was essentially like staying in a dorm. So quite noisy in the morning and certainly not somewhere you could share a bed! (For privacy and size reasons). Next time I'll probably revert to the Pod Hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solarize_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was disappointed by the Bowery House. I knew I would have a tiny cabin and a shared bathroom and was OK with that, but I wasn't expecting to carry my baggage to the 4th floor using the stairs or to use a less than clean bathroom. On the other hand, staff was helpful and the location is good -a cool yet 'alternative' neighborhood, maybe not for everyone. It's convenient, close to many subway lines, including one that takes you to JFK.

All in all, I wouldn't stay here again. I would save some more money and stay in a real hostel, or pay a little bit more and stay in a real hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinAdrogué
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sskunkel, Owner at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Martin:

Hi - thank you for your feedback on your stay here.

I'm sorry it was less than ideal.

Typically, we have a bellhop on duty to handle all guest's luggage from the moment they arrive and during all check out hours. If you checked in/out during normal hours he should have been there to help. I'm sorry if that was not the case. We would have loved to help you with your luggage up the 4th floor.

If the bathrooms were anything less than spotless, that is unacceptable. Rest assured this message has been passed along to the housekeeping team and property manager. If you come back to NYC, we'd love to have the opportunity to impress you a second time. Our bathrooms will be spotless. That is the backbone of our business.

Best of luck in future travels. We sincerely hope you will give us a second shot. I'm sorry we did not live up to your expectations or ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

you can find fault with the concept, the noise, the creaky bathroom door etc, but it's a cheap place to stay in NYC and as such, it's difficult to reasonably make any of the criticism stick. if you're travelling on your own and you sleep like the dead, then you'll get on just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I believe the Bowery House was designed to make me hate it. First, it's located on the Bowery, and no amount of gentrification can wipe away the street's skid-row charms. And the Bowery House itself has "former homeless shelter" written all over it. The rooms -- "cabins" -- are tiny, just big enough for an undersized bed, you, and maybe your carry-on luggage (but probably not your carry-on luggage). Also the cabins don't have ceilings, which is to say that the walls don't go all the way up to the ceiling. Perhaps you've wondered, "What if I could sleep in a fitting room at JCPenney's?" Well, at the Bowery House, you can sort of have an answer to that question, although not quite, because the Bowery House cabins don't have wall mirrors. But.... I spent ninety-five percent of my time at the Bowery House asleep and the other five percent taking a shower, and the Bowery House was more than adequate for that. It's fairly easy to get past the place's idiosyncracies when you're asleep. The Bowery House was clean, private enough, ill-lit but not thoroughly depressing, secure, and fairly cheap, considering. Wouldn't want to live here, but wouldn't mind coming back for a night or two either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kempshalltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Is this a joke?
I'm not really one to write reviews or vent like this, but this place deserves to be moaned about!
Fine - it's slightly cheaper than a Comfort Inn, but that is its one and only pro. The staff are friendly but didn't seem at all surprised when I cut my stay short.

The cons - endless.

3 flights of stairs to get to reception.

Rooms are not rooms but cells the size of closets. You do not have a ceiling, rather a lattice. As a result you can hear EVERYTHING on your floor. No room to do anything - no storage, no extras, just a bed and a tiny bedside table.

Window rooms only have curtains covering your section of cell. As a result, the top part is letting in light and noise (as its open). No a/c running, so in summer it must be stifling.

Bed bugs!

There is only one bathroom for each sex, and on another floor. Showers have curtains and there is no private space to get dressed. Oh and you'll be sharing with some cat sized roaches.

To the hotel management - your replies to criticism on here are laughable. Dressing up a cramped and poorly finished hostel as a historical hotel is apalling. Your website is totally misleading and you know it.

This is nothing more than a greedy hotelier trying to cram in as many bodies as possible.

I can only assume the positive reviews on here are from friends or staff, or the those with criminally low standards.
I read the negative reviews on here before booking and figured the positives outweighed those. Wrong! Please take notice of this review and do not waste your money - you'll not get any sleep and you will have a miserable time in NYC.

As much as I want to support independent businesses, I think in this case you may as well spend an extra $50 a night to feel safe and comfortable in a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greek_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sskunkel, Owner at The Bowery House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hello Greek_80:

Well, first of all, I'm sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here at The Bowery House. The fact is, the vast majority of travelers do. And I must admit, your review is probably the most extreme and sensational one we have ever encountered.

Due to the historic nature of our building (National Historic Register), we have some physical limitations that we have to work with as a result of restoring and preserving the 1940s cabins that were built for soliders coming back from the war.

If at any point, you saw a bedbug or a roach and alerted management, your stay would have been refunded. However, you did not do this. And we have NEVER had one complaint about any roaches here. Your words are dangerous and we take this stuff very seriously. Bedbugs are a part of life in NYC, they come with travelers. And even with that fact, this has never been an issue for us as we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the facilities.

Its a shame you chose to voice all of your frustrations online rather than in person. Commenting on what it is like in the summer without having ever stayed here is particularly frustrating. If you do your research on the web or on any online travel agency we are very clear about what we offer here, which is one of the best values in NYC.

Better luck in your future travels. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but we're glad you enjoyed the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#372 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Manhattan
Carlton Arms Hotel
Carlton Arms Hotel
#19 of 78 in New York City
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#23 of 78 in New York City
62 reviews
The Park Ave North
#17 of 78 in New York City
71 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery House

Address: 220 Bowery, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $70 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bowery House 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property, 220 Bowery, was built in 1927 as a manufacturing building. It operated in this capacity until it was reborn as The Prince Hotel in the 1940’s to serve as temporary lodging for soldiers returning home from World War II. All floors of The Prince Hotel were rebuilt with single room cabins that were just large enough for a bed and storage of essential items. The bathrooms were made communal so that the hotel operators could maximize its occupancy and house as many soldiers as possible. With its prime location and easy access to vices such as gambling, prostitution and saloons - some of the soldiers never left and decided to make the majority of the 200 cabins their long-term homes. It was in these single rooms that many of the Bowery’s most eccentric characters lived for decades adding to the lore and drama of New York’s former skid row. At The Bowery House, we have decided to preserve and restore every detail of the remarkable 1940’s cabin craftsmanship and in turn provide unique, authentic and historic accommodations to travelers from around the world. Part museum and part hotel, we hope you enjoy not only the neighborhood but also the living history that is The Bowery House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bowery House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowery House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing