We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, trendy, friendly and central”
Review of The Bowery House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bowery House
Ranked #30 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here with my friend and loved it. Its got a nice atmosphere, clean and staff are friendly. Food downstairs in the bar is great, I recommend the chicken sambo, eggs plate plus the hazelnut dessert. Guests get complimentary coffee and 10% off.
It is central for everything especially handbag shopping as Canal St is only around the corner. The subway takes you anywhere you want in a couple of minutes.
The only issue that you may have is space, the individual/double rooms are tight but we were not in the rooms much.so didnt bother us. Plus the rooftop makes up for it as you get to know the other residents up there or just chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 594 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was the rooms decorated to look like ships' cabins that caught my eye - something different from than the usual same old-same-old you find in most hotels. In the heart of the Bowery, up two flights of black/white marble stairs and one short flight more. It did indeed look like the inside of a ship - dark wood panelled halls and doors that opened outwards. Bed, some space, a window - that's it. Tiny? Yes. Workable? Yes. Shared bathrooms. By the way, they're not rooms: they're cubicles with trellice-like slats above and the hotel offers ear-plugs with the towels. Great place to stay - they do have larger rooms if you want them. Watch out for the 15% tax on top of the cost - I forgot and the total bill was higher than I expected. One small downside: the lighting. So dark I could barely see where I was going. A little more light would have been good.

Room Tip: The more you pay the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is ok and is well placed for getting about New York and is also near some great eating places. The staff on the desk are very friendly and helpful for most part. The rooms are not great but the Bowery House don't try and hide this in their description. I was surprised at just how thin the walls were though and was disturbed on more than one occasion, by lets just say inappropriate behaviour, by one particular male guest, even though I had my ear plugs in. This is also because the rooms have no ceilings. I had to ask for a change of towel half way through the week and my room wasn't looked at by a cleaner (not that there was much to clean) the whole week I was there. The bathrooms are clean and there is a good supply of shampoo etc if you forget your own. I wouldn't stop there again as the room was far too small and felt claustrophobic but for a budget conscious traveller you pays your money and takes your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank tibbsthetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in a single room. First of all the negatives; do not expect a room, it's a cupboard. It is made of wood, has a tressel roof on each cupboard and a bunk that is about 5'5" in length. It is incredibly cosy and you can hear people breathing in the cupboard next door. That's the downside. The good side is that it's incredibly clean. The bathroom facilities are sparkling and the amenities are great including free wifi, cafe/bar downstairs with discount for guests, communal seating area, air con etc. The service is excellent and the guests are mainly friendly, like-minded tourists from business people to foreign backpackers. If you are looking for somewhere just to put your head down or if budget is the main issue then this is your place as I don't think you will find accommodation of this standard for this price anywhere in the city. Great Value.

Room Tip: Request a corner room or an end room as these tend to have more floorspace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed in a single room, it's TINY but really clean abd comfortable! You are provided with Ralph Lauren towels and earplugs. There is free wifi, 24 hour front desk, a restaurant right below. It is right by Bowery subway station on line j. The view of the new York skyline is amazing. This place is amazing value and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is not too bad, it is what it is, a bed for the night in Manhattan for a reasonable rate, plain and simple, it's got shared bathrooms which were nice and clean just ask for fresh towels, bed was comfortable and sheets were lovely and clean, the rooms do have open mesh ceilings but just use your earplugs and you'll be fine, I was here for 5 nights it was nice and quiet and no anti-social behaviour, staff were very friendly and helpful particularly girl on the front desk and the location is great with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants and interesting neighbourhood's Chinatown etc nearby and the Bowery metro stop 2 mins walk away, i've stayed in a lot worse places in New York I'll tell you that but if you're after a luxury hotel then just don't stay here, but if you're after a clean comfortable bed for the night in a central spot at a good price then this is the place.

Bruce
Wolverhampton UK

Room Tip: Try The Prince Room for a bit more privacy and flat screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#372 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Manhattan
Carlton Arms Hotel
Carlton Arms Hotel
#19 of 78 in New York City
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#23 of 78 in New York City
62 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
375 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery House

Address: 220 Bowery, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $70 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bowery House 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property, 220 Bowery, was built in 1927 as a manufacturing building. It operated in this capacity until it was reborn as The Prince Hotel in the 1940’s to serve as temporary lodging for soldiers returning home from World War II. All floors of The Prince Hotel were rebuilt with single room cabins that were just large enough for a bed and storage of essential items. The bathrooms were made communal so that the hotel operators could maximize its occupancy and house as many soldiers as possible. With its prime location and easy access to vices such as gambling, prostitution and saloons - some of the soldiers never left and decided to make the majority of the 200 cabins their long-term homes. It was in these single rooms that many of the Bowery’s most eccentric characters lived for decades adding to the lore and drama of New York’s former skid row. At The Bowery House, we have decided to preserve and restore every detail of the remarkable 1940’s cabin craftsmanship and in turn provide unique, authentic and historic accommodations to travelers from around the world. Part museum and part hotel, we hope you enjoy not only the neighborhood but also the living history that is The Bowery House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bowery House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowery House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing