We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the bagel I was looking for.....”
Review of Murray's Bagels

Murray's Bagels
Ranked #43 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the bagel I was looking for.....”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I just wanted a bagel and a smear. The bagel seemed a bit tough. Not what I was looking for. Good coffee. Very limited seating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pnmbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    81
    23
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Lentil Soup ever!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was recommended to go there for the Bagels, but after a cold morning in NY we went in and got the lentil soup! Amazing! Hearty & affordable! We had both people seating next to us ask us what kind of soup we were having and they went and got one! We totally recommend for a fast, accessible and hearty lunch!! (We went back two days later on our 6 day visit!)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointing & expensive”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perhaps it was the type of bagel (I like mine chewy and soft) this was crunchy and hard. I just didn't care for it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bagels and spreads”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I don't have bagels often but when I do, I travel to Murray's because their bagels are so dependably great and chewy, the way I like them. They have a large variety of types and I love the scallion spread, and the lox spread too. The bench just outside is perfect for a few minutes rest before I hurry on. Long live Murray's great store and bagels!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Totally Overated With Dire Staff”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Tried this place on after a recommendation. A huge queue made me think it must be worth the wait, how wrong could I be, Ordered a couple of egg bagels, one with no cheese so not a complicated order. They are quick to take your money and ridiculously slow to give you your food. One bagel turned up then it took another (not an exaggeration) 25 mins for the second. I repeatedly asked the cashier where the second one was and he kept shouting to he back and telling me it would not be long. Eventually I asked for my money back at which point a rude little man picked up a wrapped bagel off the back counter and said its been there all the time, shoving it towards me. It was sweaty and soggy and I was made to feel that its was my fault, despite it being behind the counter!!! Problem was they already had my money so they didn't care. PLEASE don't waste your money here, Bagels on the Square down towards Bleeker Street is far superior with friendly staff and much tastier bagels.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murray's Bagels also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Murray's Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing