We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must eat here when in NYC!”
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #305 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must eat here when in NYC!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Everytime we visit NYC we make it a point to eat at Shake Shack at least once. The burgers and shakes are absolutely amazing! The prices are fair for the quality of the food. Give this place a try, I know you wont regret it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hicksbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    493
    174
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
414 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The very best!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Great Hamburger. Awesome Fries. Outstanding Service. Excellent concept.

I definitely recommend it... and any location.

Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Megadelicious burgers...”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I'll write about this Shake Shack, the first one we've been, but, more or less, the same could be written for any other of their restaurants.

After visiting the Natural History Musuem, we were so glad to find, right on its back, this restaurant we've been so much told of. Shake Shack did not exist last time we've been in the US!

Even if, as we later discover is the rule for Shake Shack, finding a seat is hard, this specific place has the advantage to be located a few minutes away from Central Park, but even if you don't want to go there, some shady benches are just 2 steps away.

As for food, tasting burgers, chips etc. makes you feel the difference - and it will make you come back!

Recommended for burgers lovers!
,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabio_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Tx
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Burger Heaven”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The burgers and shakes are fantastic here. Our daughter in law had told how good this restaurant was and she definitely was right. We found this location near the Museum of Natural History on a freezing night in November. It was so worth it.. They really know how to make a hot, delicious burger with fresh ingredients. The shakes (with malt) are thick and decadent. This location had plenty of room (2 stories) and we didn't wait long for our food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KillerB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“First Shake Shack experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

My first ever shake shack experience was at this location and I was looking forward to it for a long time! I had been recommended this location as it was quieter than many of the others, and while there was a line and full dining room on the main level, the lower level had plenty of empty seats. I did go around 11:30am to beat the rush and there were mostly young kids there. Foodwise, exceeded any expectations. Such a great burger and an awesome peanut butter shake. The cheese fries were also delicious. I tried another location and it was good but way too busy to enjoy it as much. When I return I will definitely be back to this location!' Thanks shake shack!

Helpful?
Thank AmyFromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing