We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burger joint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #263 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great burger joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Wow, great burger and shake! Love the concept ie fast food made with some care and attention and made with real food. Nice ( but a bit scary ) touch adding the calorie values against the good.

The fair shake which has coffee in it is amazing!

Hey it's a holiday a small indulgence is OK

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    465
    160
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We read about this place in our Fodor's NYC guide. We were exploring Central Park and this location was about a block away from the park. We went around 2PM on a Thursday and the line was out the door. We almost didn't wait but I'm glad we did. The line moved quickly to place our order and then we were given a device that lights up when the order is ready. I think it took about 10 minutes to get our food after we ordered. There is not much seating but there are a few tables upstairs and downstairs and we snagged a table downstairs. I saw lots of people who had taken their food to go and were eating it in the park. The burgers were great - the meat was delicious and the bread was soft - the special shock sauce is a tangy mayonnaise and it was really good. I would definitely go back again if we had the opportunity. One of my kids got the caramel shake and the other got a chocolate shake which he didn't like. I tried it and agreed that it was too "chocolate-y" for my tastes too (maybe they make it with chocolate ice-cream instead of vanilla?) It cost $33 for 2 burgers, 1 hotdog, 2 shakes, 1 soft drink and 1 order of fries - the shakes are $5 each.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LUVSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“As Good as Everyone Told Me Shake Shack Would Be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family stopped here on a rainy day in NYC on our way to the Museum of Natural History. The milk shakes were creamy and delicious. The burgers, hot dogs and french fries were delicious, but my favorite was the Fair Trade (coffee) milkshake. Seating was very limited on this rainy day, as one would expect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had visited Central Park and had stopped in for dinner. This was a place our granddaughters loved. The hamburgers were delicious. Each of us tried a different ice cream--strawberry shake, chocolate shake, and peanut butter marshmallow ice cream (which was the special that day), and they all were awesome.

There was a line getting in down the street, but it moved quickly. The only problem is there are few places to sit and eat. Some tables in the crowded dark basement with many steps down. Would be better to take out and eat in the park across the street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank spoon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible Hamburgers, Great Prices near Central Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a great restaurant because it is not touristy, the locals eat here as well. The hamburgers are all grass fed beef and taste incredible, the best I have ever had at a restaurant. The menu even had offerings for dogs! The prices are very reasonable, a great value. We used this as our starting point for central park. Ate here, and then crossed the street to enter the park.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gcinptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing