We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burgers, chaotic at lunchtime”
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #288 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good burgers, chaotic at lunchtime”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

These burgers are yum. The meat is well flavoured but I found the bun a bit too sweet.
The shakes are unbelievably tasty! I would come back again for a shake.

It's not the best place to be at lunch. It's chaotic and hard to get a seat. The idea is not to loiter, you get in, eat and then give your table up. So I don't recommend if you want to chill out for a bit.
Close to the natural history museum so a food place to go before or after a museum visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hkj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    485
    169
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Plan to stand in line, have someone in the party grab a table. It is a great burger and awesome shake. A great place to go if you are at the Natural History Museum with the family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GardenDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious but super crowded...”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is great here, the people are nice but the wait time for a seat is ridiculous. I don't want to blame this place for not having the capacity to hold the amount of demand it attracts but, last night was a nightmare. There really isn't any method to the madness. A gigantic free for all for getting seats. If you're claustrophobic, avoid like the plague.

Burgers are small but tasty. French fries are great and the custard is delicious. However, mine was pretty melted by the time I got a seat. It's in a great location from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History so I'm sure that is why the lines are out the door and wrapped around the corner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Forget McDonald's and Burger King”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was surprised by the quality of the burgers and fries, as the place reminded me of a fancy Burger King. It was pretty crowded, and you need to be in the game before you order, because everything is fast here.

Shake Shack is a perfect place for a quick bite, and the food is so much better than what is served at the traditional junk food stores.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great tasting burger, on the expensive side!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visited the Shake Shack in the financial district after hearing some excellent reviews. The queue was long and daunting. Unless you know the shake shack and have been there before you do not have much time in which to decide what to order.

We had the Smokehouse burger and shared some fries. The burger was amazing, so delicious and fresh. The bill for two of us, for 2 burgers, 1 fries and 2 diet cokes was about $26 a bit pricey. Having said that, it was a great burger.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruggedadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing