We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Long Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Union Square
Ranked #140 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Long Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, close to subway, shops and endless restaurants. Stayed in a mega room which had plenty of space and comfort. Staff attentive especially the doormen! Pretty pricey but it IS NYC. Would stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello John - Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Our team love surfing Tripadvisor and reading all the valuable feedback, especially when it recognizes their attention to detail and passion for our guests. We hope you will come back and visit us soon. In the meantime, have a great holiday season! Gerald (gerald.tellez@whotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    464
    183
    68
    38
See reviews for
276
451
134
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Spent two nights here in November. Rooms have been refurbished and are comfortable and clean. Excellent bed and good bathroom. I was on the 17th floor at the back of the hotel but it was very noisy at night. Sirens and street noise woke me on several occasions as did the bathroom of a neighbouring room.

I had been here ten years ago when the lobby was very much a place to be seen. The hotel has been renovated since then and it is certainly no longer the fashionable place it once was. Lots of families here for shopping.

Location is great for shopping and easy walk to Greenwich Village and SoHo.

Best thing about the place was the staff. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming. Very personalised check-in and check-out.

Bottom line is it's a good place if you get the right price but for 400 dollars a night, I'd be tempted to look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skotti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Skotti - Thank you for complimenting our service and welcome team! We apologize that external noise interrupted your rest. There is nothing more important to us then ensuring our guests enjoy a comfortable night's sleep. Please reach out to if you are returning, it would be my pleasure to upgrade you to a room with minimal external noise. All the best, Gerald (gerald.tellez@whotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I've stayed at this W location a few times over the year. I love its location - it's fairly central with lots of great stuff nearby either walking or biking (CitiBikes!) distance. Plus, it's away from the madness that is Times Square.

I do think this W is lacking on the service side. I felt that staff in the lobby weren't that friendly. For example, it bugged me that no one was there to grab the door as they say me approaching, lugging my suitcase, in the rain!

The rooms I've stayed in have been on the larger side, especially by New York standards. Although based on the other reviews I've read, I might have just picked the right room at booking.

The rooms are clean on the surface, but try not to look too deep because you're bound to find flaws. With all my stays, I've encountered open candy wrappers under the bed and dirty bathroom mirrors. Relatively minor, but you also try not to think too much into it (I mean, if they missed that, what else have they missed...).

Given the option, I'd chose another hotel option in NY (to be honest, I've found a new favorite in town anyways). This place just doesn't match my W/SPG expectations.

If you ended up staying there too for whatever reason, it's not the end of the world either. Like I said, I do love the location. And while service could be friendlier, you're not spending your timing socializing in the lobby. And if there's something dirty in your room, call housekeeping to address it (everything I've seen was manageable).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haioson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello - So glad that you love our location and all it has to offer. We very much appreciate your valuable feedback with regards to service and deep cleaning. If you are returning to NYC do not hesitate to let me know. It would be my pleasure to ensure you are allocated a room that exceeds your expectations. All the best, Gerald (gerald.tellez@whotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This W Hotel staff here is Awesome! My second trip here this year. Both times I was impressed how well the staff has been trained. Courteous, Friendly and Helpful. Way Above and Beyond the expected level! Great bar area with WIFI. Rooms are bigger than I would expect in NYC. I won't stay anywhere else when I come to NYC!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Steve - Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Our team love surfing Tripadvisor and reading all the valuable feedback, especially when it recognizes their attention to detail and passion for our guests. We hope you will come back and visit us soon. In the meantime, have a great holiday season! Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have been coming to NYC yearly now for almost 20 years, the last 10 times I have stayed at the W Union Square. The location is the best as far as I am concerned. There is a wonderful Farmer's Market in the square every Friday and Saturday morning that is fun to stroll through before you start your day. Keith, the doorman is such a delight to see each time my taxi pulls up. The hotel recently updated their rooms with new bedding and paint and carpet. Their beds are just as described, WONDERFUL & HEAVENLY! I never want to get out of bed!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1102 this past time and the room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy32461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Cindy - Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Keith is indeed an asset to our Hotel and was excited to read your feedback about him! We hope you will come back and visit us soon. In the meantime, have a great holiday season! Gerald (gerald.tellez@whotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a Fantastic Suite on a December weekend and it was a great stay. The room was extremely clean and had a very large bathroom for NYC. The small living room area was also very handy. We had one small issue with a minor leak and Gerald the manager handled very quickly and efficiently. We stayed on the 5th floor and there is some road noise and would probably try for a higher floor room next time. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Jason - Thank you so much for your positive feedback! Glad you enjoyed one of our Fantastic Suites. It would be my pleasure to allocate you a room on a higher floor when you next visit. Please reach out to me at your convenience. All the best, Gerald (gerald.tellez@whotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is one of the nice W hotels in NYC, great lobby and bar for mingling and drinks. Rooms are updated and modern and large by NYC standards. Bliss spa amenities are awesome, save me having to bring my own products. Located right at the square, convenient short walk to lots of great food, shopping and movie theaters. Subway station hub, so you can catch pretty much any lines to access other parts of NYC. But hotel can be pricey but would definitely stay here again if I want to be downtown. Other hotel in starwood chain that I love in NYC is the Parker Meridien if I want to be closer to Central Park or uptown. Was here on a conference, come in early to spend the weekend playing tourist.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and complimenting our rooms, bar and Bliss amenities! We are so lucky to have a prime location on Union Square and love that our guests can enjoy all it has to offer. Please reach out to me if I can assist you with a future reservation. All the best, Gerald (gerald.tellez@whotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,654 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#174 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#54 of 467 in New York City
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Union Square

Property: W New York - Union Square
Address: 201 Park Ave S, New York City, NY 10003-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Union Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringed by the essential: shopping, music, and art; the W New York Union Square's landmark 1911 beaux arts Guardian Life building, re-invented by David Rockwell, has the city at its fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Union Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Union Square
w Hotels Union Square
w Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing