We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Union Square NY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W New York - Union Square
Ranked #139 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“W Union Square NY”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel had a decent size gym for NYC hotel standards, but the room was pretty small.
unbeatable location, but you'd expect that for what you're paying!
Typical hotel where the staff looks hipper than any of the guests...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello Laura V,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your experience with all of us. It is always nice to hear such raving reviews on our hotel and our team. I will share your comments with the members of my team. If I can be of any assistance on a future stay with us please feel free to contact me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com.
All the best,
Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    465
    184
    69
    38
See reviews for
279
454
135
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. It was one of the largest we had ever seen in NYC. The price of the room and parking were high, but the location right near NYU and union square is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubbs605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello Dubbs605,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with all of us. It is always nice to hear from our guests after their stay with us. I am glad you have found your new home away from home in New York City. If I can be of any assistance on a future reservation please feel free to contact me directly at Gerald.Tellez@Whotels.com.
All the Best,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I've stayed in several W hotels earlier - boston, Washington Dc etc, but this one doesn't quite live upto the standards set by the rest. The rooms are tiny and service is unremarkable. The lobby is complicated and unimpressive. There is nothing terribly wrong, but nothing too great too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TusharBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello TusharBhatia,
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for us not hitting the mark and not exceeding your expectations. I will share your feedback with the leadership of our hotel. If I can be of any assistance on any future bookings at our hotel please reach out to me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com.
I look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummonds, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel was awesome, Check in was awesome, the service so accommodating. I have allergies, and had no idea the hotel has a preferred smell. I called the front desk and inquired about the nice smell, but was turning my allergies inside out. LOL, they immediately asked me to leave the room for 45mins and sent brought this little machine that removed the fragrance from my room. I was beyond elated and happy. Although the smell is still in the covers, I laid my blanket from home on top and slept very nicely.....

Room Tip: Always research fragrance if you suffer from allergies......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slalexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello slalexan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with all of us. First and foremost I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Can you please reach out to me directly so I can ensure your SPG profile is updated with your personal preferences on W Scent. This will help on any future bookings at any W Hotels worldwide. I look forward to your response.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
gerald.tellez@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bound Brook, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here at the W Union Square for a weekend getaway with the Wife and kid in September, opted for the hotel for the Location. Steps away from Union Square, we enjoy the market here on weekend which was a big plus and also the Union Square Subway lines have great access all over the city. Great dining options all around and a Baby's R Us right next door for all our Baby needs!! Now the hotel itself is getting a bit old and the refurbishment that has been carried out may not be to everyone's taste..the bright colors that they have used in the rooms contrast with the old building creating a bit of a mish mash of designs...especially the blues,oranges and white's in the rooms...The house keeping is on the slower side which is expected in some of the larger hotels I guess...but we had to call and remind them twice for the evening turn down service.This wasn't half as bad as the door men!!Don't expect the Door men at the W for most parts to help you with the door even if you are juggling a stroller, a baby car seat a pizza box and a baby!! There was one Door man out of three who was helpful and friendly but unfortunately I cannot remember his name. The other doormen just hang around the front of the building. Now the front desk is not all that friendly either, except for the gentleman who checked us in I think his name was Leonard...who was genuinely friendly and caring the rest of them seemed to be in a world of their own. We have stayed in so many Hotels around the world and have never seen such indifferent service....In most hotels these days the staff at the front desk and most anywhere in the hotel wish the guests with a friendly greeting throughout the day, which makes guests feel at home and welcome...but here the front desk which looks straight at the bay of elevators that guests use all day rarely make eye contact with any of the guests even when they are not serving guests and are seemingly oblivious to where they are and what they are expected to do..which is be welcoming and friendly to your guests...hospitality is what its all about. I found my self looking eagerly at the staff ready with a "thank you" or "you too" in response to a "have a nice day" or "a good morning" or a smile...but couldn't get them to even acknowledge my presence...anyway I think the W team has to look into this as guests are used to a lot more these days.... a great location can only keep us coming back so many times. There are a few other hotels around Union Square and next time I might give the Hyatt a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Jerry J,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with all of us. We appreciate all of our guests feedback and concerns. Please accept our sincere apologies that we didn't exceed your expectations during your stay. I will share your comments with the members of our team, as I too agree with you it is all about the service. Especially at our front of the house, where pleasant greetings and smiles are simily a must. If I can be helpful on any future stay with us please let me know directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com. I thank you again for sharing with us. I look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the high point of this property : location, location, location.
By Union square and Park AV, close to all good Manhattan spots this is one of my faves. Check the green market Mon/Wed/Fri

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Monica S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on W New York Union Square. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If I can be of any assistance on any future bookings please feel free to contact me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com.
We look forward to your next visit.
All the Best,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we went to the W to go to the NYCC in october. the staff was amazing and nice . we arrived early and got your room early too. the doormen were nice and we loved the area. we were on the 14th floor and it was quiet. made some requests and got them fast. the front desk was nice and the restaurant was great. i will go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Front Office Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello There Teresa N,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with all of us. We truly appreciate reading reviews like yours. I will share your wonderful comments with the members of our team. If I can be of any further assistance on any future stays please feel free to contact me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com.
I look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 466 in New York City
1,670 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#93 of 466 in New York City
1,441 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 466 in New York City
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 466 in New York City
599 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 466 in New York City
1,159 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#55 of 466 in New York City
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Union Square

Property: W New York - Union Square
Address: 201 Park Ave S, New York City, NY 10003-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Union Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringed by the essential: shopping, music, and art; the W New York Union Square's landmark 1911 beaux arts Guardian Life building, re-invented by David Rockwell, has the city at its fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Union Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Union Square
w Hotels Union Square
w Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing