We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Union Square
Ranked #142 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you prefer to spend your time in the City below 14th Street, this is the spot ! Right outside the the door is Union Square with a Farmers Market on the weekend. Across the Square is Whole Foods and a 15 minute walk to the High-Line.
The room was bright, clean and very comfortable. Would have prefer free Wi-FI in the room instead of Lobby area. Staff was please and very helpful and accommodating. It's not cheap but as anything else you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Welcome Dave E,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on W New York Union Square. I will share your wonderful comments with our teams. Should you need anything for any future stays please reach out to me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com. I look forward to your return.
All the best,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    461
    183
    68
    38
See reviews for
276
451
134
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
586 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am not a huge city fan but this was in the right place where you could walk around and enjoy the city. We were there on the weekend and had a great time. The hotel was amazing and of course you pay for these types of accommodations but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Welcome Pixtonian,
Thank you for your review on W New York Union Square. We always appreciate when our guests write and share their wonderful experience with us. I will share your comments with our team. Should you need any assistance with any future stay please contact me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,194 reviews
383 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was perfect for a short stay - had stayed uptown earlier in the week and moved to Union Square to get a feel of a different community - everything about this part of town was so much better. It had more of a "people" atmosphere rather than just shoppers and business people and I loved the produce markets. The hotel is in a perfect location to enjoy the best of this community.
Although it is a "W", it didn't have the over-the-top modern contemporary feel to it - it is a grand old building and it reeks of class and style.
Had a corner suite facing the square and this was a wonderful view whether watching the sunset or an early morning sunrise.
It's a good base to explore one of my favourite New York areas from the Flatiron district, Gramercy Park, Greenwich Village etc.

Room Tip: corner suites facing the square offer so much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Welcome RonW,
Thank you so much for your great review on W New York Union Square. We always appreciate it when we hear such great stories from our guests. It is nice to know you have a new home away from home in New York City. We look forward to your return!
Warm Wishes,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I came here after just proposing to my girlfriend. The staff was extremely friendly. Aisha made the experience wonderful by coordinating a flower arrangement to be set up in the hotel room upon arrival. The room was great - clean, nice size, good view of the park. Keith, the door man, was extremely helpful with recommendations, retrieving items we accidently left in the car, and anything else we needed during our stay. Also had fun at the club downstairs as well as at the restaurant. Great place and will probably be back again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garrett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Isle, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family recently enjoyed an all-to-quick weekend stay at the W Union Square. This was only my 2nd stay in the hotel, but I plan to make it my "go-to" hotel, no matter what my reason for being in the city is. The guest relations are phenomenal. Nelson Baez at the front desk always had a smile and always greeted me by name, even if I was just passing through. Aisha Thomas at concierge is exceptional as well. She took care of every last minute reservation/request we needed. The rooms are spacious, clean and bright. The entire staff is efficient, courteous and helpful. I can't wait until my next trip to NYC -- this hotel is a MUST!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddycakes9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Welcome Maddycakes9,
Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us. It is really nice to hear such raving reviews on our hotel and staff. I know that Aisha and Nelson always go above and beyond with all of our guests to make sure they are feel right at home. I will share this review with all the members of my team. Should you need anything on any future reservation please feel free to contact me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here - this was the 3rd or 4th visit to the W Union Sq but the first since they have revamped the rooms. The new rooms are spacious and bright and my friend and I had a lovely twin room on the 8th floor. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful (a blessing after being delayed by 12 hours getting to NYC!). The location of the hotel is amazing though - walking distance to SoHo and the High Line etc, but also close enough to Time Square to experience some touristy things. Will def stay here again. Only thing is the gym is a little on the light side re the equipment but I used Crunch or Equinox for a fuller work out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Welcome Ant M,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with all of us. It is always nice to hear such nice comments about our hotel and our location. We always appreciate all of our guests feedback. I am glad you love our newly refreshed rooms. It has really brighten up and giving our hotel a brand new look. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future visits to our location. Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com
Thank you kindly,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The decor of the hotel is very modern and stylish but not off putting. Once you enter the hotel you receive a complimentary champagne cocktail. The front desk staff were very friendly and check-in was a breeze, and we got an upgrade which really made my day.

The room was beautiful, spacious but cozy. The bed was so comfortable it was probably the best sleep I’ve had in years. The best part of the room for me by far is the bathroom we had a walk in shower and a tub the great toiletries are by Bliss and they smelled heavenly also the towels were nice and fluffy.

The staff was very nice, helpful and friendly especially since I need help with turning on the radio. I had a wonderful stay. I’m already planning a mini vacation at the same hotel in October.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Well Hello There Denise B,
Thank you so much for your review on W New York Union Square. We always appreciate reading such wonderful comments about the rooms, location, and of course the service we provide. I will share the wonderful comments with the members of my team. Should you need anything on a future booking please feel free to contact me directly at Gerald.Tellez@WHotels.com.
Thank you so much-
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 468 in New York City
1,626 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 468 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#186 of 468 in New York City
670 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#53 of 468 in New York City
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Union Square

Property: W New York - Union Square
Address: 201 Park Ave S, New York City, NY 10003-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#106 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Union Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringed by the essential: shopping, music, and art; the W New York Union Square's landmark 1911 beaux arts Guardian Life building, re-invented by David Rockwell, has the city at its fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Union Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Union Square
w Hotels Union Square
w Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing