We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Union Square
Ranked #143 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing, good location”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The W is truly a very modern and friendly place. The lobby is small, but houses a very well designed lounge, with vintage type writers and chess boards. The rooms are very modern, and quite big! The staff was great, they had also gven us an upgrade with a great view. The chocolates under the pillows are delicious. The bathrooms are great, and house nice bath products. Doorman was nice, and so were the reception desk. Good stay

Room Tip: views of union square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afljdsajlkfdsljkfdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Welcome afljdsajlkdsljkfdsa,
Thank you so much for your kind review on W New York Union Square. We truly appreciate your nice words. I will share these comments with my team. We look forward to your next W experience.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    461
    183
    68
    38
See reviews for
276
451
134
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Only stayed one night - first time at this hotel. I was pleased with the size of my room....I have been in hotel rooms in NYC that were basically an oversized closet with a bathroom attached. Room was clean, nice amenities, bed very comfortable. Nice location, right at Union Square. No complaints. Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffyMonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Well Hello There BuffyMonsoon,
Thank you so much for your nice review on W New York Union Square. It is really nice to hear such raving reviews from our guests. I will share the great comments with my teams. We look forward to your next visit.
Warmest Wishes,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a fantastic weekend at the W! Everyone was very pleasant and happy to help me. More so than I have seen in most hotels of this caliber.
The concierge(Joseph) and Michael(Beverage) were both very helpful on all of my questions. I would highly recommend this hotel. I was really treated like a guest and not a number. If you want to feel at home in a large hotel, stay at the W, Union Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movieman94025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Movieman94025,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with all of us. We appreciate all of our guests feedback. I will share your wonderful comments with both our concierge and our Beverage & Food teams. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great hotel, in excellent location just off Union Square. Stayed on business in lovely modern room. Room wasn't huge but quality throughout and this is New York! Comfort and style are the order of the day at the W. Friendly, helpful staff. Worth checking out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2809GPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi There 2809GPL,
Thank you so much for your raving review on W New York Union Square. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the Big Apple. I will share these wonderful comments with my team. We look forward to your next visit.
Warmly,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a typical W. The location is great, the Todd English resto in it is always buzzing, there's great music playing in the lobby and elevators all the time.

The rooms are another story. It's not that they are uncomfortable (W, Westin, all Starwood properties in fact have those incredible "heavenly" beds) but it just looked a little tired, as though it was really cutting-edge and cool when it first opened but could do with a little TLC now. We were upgraded to a better room, but I still found it kind of small and dark- I guess this is to be expected from a hotel in Union Square however. The bathroom was small, the showerstall was small.

There was nothing wrong with this hotel per se, but I wouldn't stay again. It wasn't cheap, and for the price I would look around for something less 'cool' and more luxurious. We had a double room (wonderful, they call it).

PS I have to say the W's Whatever, Whenever service is excellent and really lives up to its name. I broke a heel on my shoe (first world problems...) while I was out on Friday night and I called them at 2 am when I got back to the hotel. They picked them up from my room right away and had them fixed by midday the next day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imanifesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Imanifesto,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us here at W New York Union Square. We appreciate all of our guests feedback as it often times points out areas of needed attention. Our hotel did undergo a recent room refresh, so all of our rooms should be in a fairly new condition. I am sorry if you found your room to be not quiet up to par. I hope you did enjoy your time in the Big Apple and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The W in Union Square is a very classy hotel. Upon my last stay, I was upgraded to a spectacular room which had a wonderful view of Union Square. The rooms are quite big for NYC standards, and as with all W hotels, there are some wonderful touches which make a stay quite unique.

The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bathroom and shower clean, large and well fitted with utilities for guest use. Service was also fantastic - I asked if the front desk had any razors, and immediately I was provided with a W shaving kit. It may not have been the best razor, but the provision was highly appreciated.

I did not try the food at the hotel, but the bar downstairs is very cool and again service top notch. The gym is a little small and they could do with putting in a few more machines, and A/C into the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Luke W,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and our team. I am glad you enjoyed your Spectacular room. Next time you are in town you should try our restaurant. The food is amazing! We look forward to your next W Union Square experience.
Warmest Wishes,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great hotel in a great location, right on Union Square. The service could not have been more attentive, and the addition of the hotel SUV adds a great convenience. The only negative comment is that for the second time, we waited an excessive amount of time for our car at checkout, even after calling down first as instructed to do. This hotel will be out "go to" place in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Paraguy99,
Thank you so much for your review on W New York Union Square. I am glad you had a wonderful time at our hotel. I appreciate you sharing your concerns with us about the attentiveness of our staff. We will share these comments with them in efforts to improve on our guest services. I am glad you found your "home away from home" in Manhattan.
We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Wishes,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 468 in New York City
1,631 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,419 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#107 of 468 in New York City
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
670 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#55 of 468 in New York City
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Union Square

Property: W New York - Union Square
Address: 201 Park Ave S, New York City, NY 10003-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#106 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Union Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringed by the essential: shopping, music, and art; the W New York Union Square's landmark 1911 beaux arts Guardian Life building, re-invented by David Rockwell, has the city at its fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Union Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Union Square
w Hotels Union Square
w Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing