We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Brighter and Happier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Union Square
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Brighter and Happier”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed at the W Hotel Union Square recently, and was happily surprised to see that the hotel had gone through a recent refurbishing, and the rooms and hallways are so much brighter now! My family never had a problem with the darkness of the hallways and rooms, but now that they have new, brighter paint and furnishings, what a great difference! is all I can say. The service is just as great as I have always experienced, with the staff remembering my name after checking in, but now the hotel seems happier with the new, brighter refurbishing. Well worth the extra cost of the hotels in the Soho/Village area. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe T, General Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted to hear you were pleasantly surprised with our new look. Our recent guestroom refresh offers the latest in W design – the headboard is actually an artistic representation of our Union Square neighborhood! Thank you for taking the time to highlight our service as well. Our talent members are committed to delivering the most personalized service possible for our valued guests and it is quite gratifying to hear we have consistently delivered on that end. We can't wait to welcome you and your family again! -Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    464
    183
    68
    38
See reviews for
277
451
134
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stopped by here as we had visited before and it was a handy place to meet with friends before going to a restaurant nearby. The bar was smaller, it seems they have sectioned off some to refurbish some parts of the hotel however it was done so well it looked permanent and we could only tell as we had visited before and the bar was larger! Service was attentive, cocktails were a little too strong but ok. NY has lots of lovely bars and its not somewhere to make a special outing too but if you need to meet somewhere in this area its a decent choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe T, General Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Living Room Bar. OLiVES Restaurant is currently undergoing a facelift which explains the temporary change in our setting. As always, it is extremely gratifying to hear that the service from our team members was attentive. We are excited to announce that OLiVES will re-open with a fresh look in mid-May 2012. We invite you to stop by and make yourself at home the next time you’re in the area. -Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My mother, sister and I were here to celebrate my birthday with NYC nieces and Boston kids. My mom has major mobility issues, and the room worked for her with her rented wheelchair. The rooms were comfortable - but we arrived in the midst of a 100 degree heat wave! Only one elevator worked at a time (out of three) and there we long waits. Then, on my birthday, I was stuck alone in the elevator. For a claustrophobic person, it was the fear of a lifetime! After 15 minutes or so talking to the staff on the elevator phone, they got it going, thank God. Stella at the desk (desk folk were lovely) promised me Starwood points enough for a night's stay as compensate. When i checked months later to use them, they didn't exist. I've called repeatedly. She hasn't been there once. Frustrating - and a ghastly experience, to boot.

We went to the restaurant several times, due to my mom's problems moving around - dinner and brunch. It was decent, but overpriced and not overwhelming. The brunch was better than the dinner.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitaowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe T, General Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to experience W New York Union Square for your Birthday. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not have a perfect experience and would like to extend my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our lift. I’m happy to hear that our talent team was able to resolve the immediate situation. With reference to the points, I am confident we will be able to sort everything out. I would be delighted to continue this dialogue whenever you are available so that we may look into this matter. You may contact me directly at your convenience. I am at your service! -Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Just completed our 2012 booking for the W Union Sq. and realized we had neglected to review our wonderful May 2011 stay. We have been traveling to NYC for our anniversary for a number of years and now consider the W Union Sq. our preferred hotel in the city. The hotel is in a wonderful location for shopping and dining...both uptown/downtown. We find the entire staff (doormen/front desk/housekeepers) go out of their way to ensure that we happy and enjoying our stay. On our last visit there was a small issue with our room and Mr.Tellez personally took us up to the new room (the new room was spectacular btw) just to be sure we were completely happy. The staff has also kindly remembered our anniversary each year by sending up a card, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Bottom line, we are not high profile/VIP guests but we are always treated as such...you will not be disappointed if you stay here. Looking forward to the newly updated rooms and public spaces for our May 2012 stay.

Room Tip: We find that the higher floor rooms offer great views of Union Square and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenSwan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe T, General Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in commemoration of such a special occasion. It is truly an honor to be your hotel of choice in the Big Apple! Our team of talent always tries to ensure that our guests receive the best experience possible and I am delighted that we did not disappoint in that regard. We are excited to welcome you back and look forward to delivering another memorable escape! If there's anything you need to help make your stay more rewarding, please don't hesitate to contact me directly! -Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel was really great. Platinum member at Starwood for years and have stayed at the other 2 W's in Manhattan and this exceeded my expectations. First room I was given was suite on the 4th floor which was nice but way to noisy based on its proximity to the street. We were then moved to the 18th floor where the room were refurbished and this made a world of difference -- not a suite but a really large Fabulous room (room 1810). Elizabeth B. (front desk manager) made our stay. She was extremely pleasant and helpful and sent up a bottle of sparking wine -- free of charge for our room swaps.

I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 1810 was great, higher floors seem to have more rooms renovated. Be prepared for small and slo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_ski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Welcome Scuba-Ski99,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on W New York Union Square. We always appreciate when our most loyal Platinum members share their thoughts. I am glad our teams went above and beyond to make you feel right at home. I will share the wonderful comments with our teams. We look forward to your next visit to W New York Union Square.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Upfsted rooms are a bit overdone but clean and spacious for NYC. Restaurant currently closed and restaurants close by are limited. A bit pricey but good location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrmondBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hello OrmondBeachFl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write on your recent guest experience at W New York Union Square. We always appreciate when our guests share their feedback. Our new room refresh brightened our guest rooms and created a much needed larger work space. We hope you can return to W New York Union Square in the future.
Sincerely,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The location at Union Square is perfect for whatever activities you're interested in. Close to great shopping, restaurants, and theatre. Just a short taxi or subway ride to lots of New York attractions.
Many rooms have been completely renovated and have a new, modern luxurious feel. My room overlooked Union Square on the Park Ave side with a spectacular view by day and night. The staff was very friendly and professional. The restaurant, Olive's, is great with a small but exceptional menu and a bar/lounge area for enjoying drinks and conversation in an intimate setting with small groups.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhoehn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtellez, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Union Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Welcome Mhoehn5,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on W New York Union Square. We appreciate when our guests share their stay with everyone. I am glad you have now found your new home away from home! We look forward to your return once our room refresh has been completed. We are very excited to be returning that spotlight to W Union Square.
Warmest Wishes,
Gerald Tellez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,654 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#90 of 467 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#175 of 467 in New York City
684 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#54 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Union Square

Property: W New York - Union Square
Address: 201 Park Ave S, New York City, NY 10003-1634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Union Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringed by the essential: shopping, music, and art; the W New York Union Square's landmark 1911 beaux arts Guardian Life building, re-invented by David Rockwell, has the city at its fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Union Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Union Square
w Hotels Union Square
w Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing