We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called Lame”
Review of Slane - CLOSED

Slane
Cuisines: International
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Should be called Lame”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Trust me, there are much better options in the Village than this place. There’s no where to sit or stand, and it takes forever to get a drink. Also, I noticed a much older crowd and a lot of dudes in here so take that for what it’s worth. Do yourself a favor and don’t waste any time in this place… not worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great Find!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wandering around looking for a place to have lunch during a recent visit to NYC with friends, we decided to go into Slane, knowing nothing about it. What a great find! It was cool and quiet inside. The server couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and it was only his 2nd day on the job!
I had the vegetarian quiche, which was excellent. Others in our party had a turkey wrap, a turkey club and a burger. Everything was very tasty and we ate everything. I'll go back to Slane the next time I'm in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaceJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great ambiance!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

What an amazing place! We ambled off the street, cold and tired. The dimly lit restaurant had niches in the old brick walls where candles have dripped wax in long, varying droplets. It was a warm and friendly place where we were greeted upon entering.

The food was incredible...a true Irish fare. We dined on fish and chips, shepherd's pie, beef and onion pie, mashed potatoes, and baked salmon.

We ate by candlelight and were delighted when two young men, one on keyboard and the other on guitar, began to entertain us with the most amazing voices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank currina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great time at Slane”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We go to Slane every time we visit NYC. The bartenders are always nice and fun. This time was no different...Stephen, the bartender, was a riot. We could only understand about 1/2 of what he said, having such a strong Irish accent, but he said it all with a big smile. On our last stop in, he bought us a round and introduced us to the manager, Glenda Sansone. The bar has a lot of locals (always a good sign), but we never felt unwelcome. On the contrary, we found ourselves involved in great conversations each time we stopped in. If you're looking for a cold pint and warm people, go to Slane.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelbw1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch tactics when it comes to them catering for their next door club, Alibi”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Food tasting at Slane's restaurant in preparation for a party at Slane's sister bar, Alibi, was inconsistent in quality and display with what was promised and discussed with management at time of tasting. Smaller portions, cold food, substititions, aluminum take out trays instead of platters, plastic utensils instead of cultery, plus too numerous disappointments to mention left a bad taste in the guests' and hosts' mouths.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
Thank ChanteuseSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slane also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing