We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days in August. Our stay here helped make this one of our favourite vacations ever! The hotel is located just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of a Times Square but close enough to all the great restaurants in Hell's Kitchen. The owners genuinely cared about our time at their hotel and were very informative about things to see and places to eat. The breakfast was a great way to start the day and the wine and cheese was a nice way to take a break. Rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet. It was a great hideaway in the middle of a big city. I would stay here again and again. Thank you to Susan and Andrew for the amazing customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    264
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
195
655
99
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

There is not one thing bad I can say about this hotel. From the staff, to the rooms, to the cleanliness, to the location, to the overall experience, the 414 Hotel excelled them all! My husband and I stayed there this past weekend and loved it! We were accompanied by my parents who were equally satisfied. The staff were GENUINELY nice and really made you feel comfortable!! The rooms were actually spacious for a typical NY hotel and super clean! The breakfast and happy hour are a plus you do not find in most city hotels and allow you the chance to enjoy conversation with family or fellow visitors (especially in the beautiful courtyard!). Thank you 414 for everything this past weekend! We truly enjoyed it and will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We just stayed three nights at Hotel 414 in New York City and the staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a renovated brownstone and has a great location on 46th St., near theatres, restaurants and two subway stations. The rooms are a good size and very clean. They are a little dated and the air conditioner is loud, but the owner told me that they were going to be starting a room renovation program the week after we left, so the hotel should be even better next time we visit. The manager's daily wine and cheese hour is also a very nice touch. You get all of the above at a very reasonable price. This is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

My son and I recently stayed at the 414, we love love love this hotel! The location is excellent, close to Times Square but far enough away to be quiet. Our twin bed room was spacious with a lovely big bathroom and an excellent shower. Breakfast was good and the Cheese and Wine each evening gave us a chance to chat to other guests and the staff, share what we had done that day and swap tips about restaurants, museums etc. All of this was great, but far and away the best thing about this small, boutique hotel was the staff. Susan, Andrew and the staff are always ready to help with reservations, travel advice or reccomend a good restaurant. Everyone who works here is, without exception, friendly, helpful and fabulous. Almost impossible to single anyone out for a special mention, however I must commend Jackie on her fantastic knowledge of the subway, her written instructions never failed to get us to our destination! And it was always a pleasure to return to Drew's big warm smile. It is Susan's warmth, friendliness and genuine manner that makes the 414 such a pleasure to stay in, she really wants you to love New York as much as she does. So would we stay at the 414 Hotel again? Abso-bloody-lutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 231Sueg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod HaSharon, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

A gem in the big city ..a home away from home
Aviv and Susan are amazing.
Lovely breakfast and happy hour with good wine and cheese
The location is top notch
And above all Susan that brings light to the place
Be blessed.
we'll definitely be back again
josh judith zilinsky

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shuky Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Conveniently located, especially for shows and restaurants. Great staff. Willing to help get a reservation or available tickets. Susan and Andrew (and for that matter the entire staff) make you feel right at home. Plan an annual visit and stay at 414Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Ron -- We're so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay enough to want to make it an annual destination. It will be great to see you and Richard walk back through our door. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We deeply appreciate it. Fondly, Susan and Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

I and a friend had the pleasure of being guests at 414 Hotel recently. We simply love it.
From the moment we arrived until the day of departure everyone of the staff had always a friendly smile for us.
Susan and Mary were so sweet even before our arrival, helping us by email to get tickets, transfers and so on.
In the evenings they have a wine and cheese gathering where the guests can interact. It was soooo nice to listen the multitude of accents and languages. Like us, it seems everyone there was feeling at home!!!
I believe every detail was thought to give us the best experience. They also have a good breakfast, and excellent location.
We were trying to avoid the big and impersonal hotels and found the PERFECT one!
Next time in NY? 414 HOTEL for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosanaBetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Property: 414 Hotel
Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing