We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!”
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great little hotel in a very convenient location. European style with tidy, well-appointed rooms. Great little courtyard to take a coffee or breakfast. Located a few blocks from Times Square and most of the theatres. Rooms are on 4 levels, but there is no elevator, so if stairs are a challenge for you, make sure that you reserve a ground floor room. Courtyard rooms would be quieter than the street side, but our street side, 4th floor room was no problem for noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Brokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for 414 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the 414 Hotel this month (July) and could not have been more pleased. Its prime location made dinner, sight seeing, and getting around extremely convenient. The rooms are very clean . It gives the feeling of a brownstone buildng combined with a bed and breakfast type facility. Staff was very polite and quick to help. I highly reccomend the 414 Hotel for domestic and international travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayaConor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel 414 is one of my new favorites among New York hotels. Be aware that it's small and there's no elevator. But the location is perfect for sightseeing and theatre, the beds are comfortable, my room was clean and quiet (in the back building facing the courtyard), there's free wi-fi, the breakfast is just right (good fresh breads, cereals, coffee and tea, yogurt). There's a fridge in the room, so I kept fruit there to supplement the breakfast items. I'm not usually a bed-and-breakfast person; I don't like feeling that I'm staying in someone's home. But the rooms at 414 are more like a boutique hotel than a B&B, and the staff is helpful and friendly without being intrusive. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadwaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here with the July in the city special. Great location, only had to walk 11/2 blocks to both theaters that we went to. The bus stops are on either corner, subway 2 blocks down(super easy to take subway from JFK). We arrived at around 10am, just planning to drop off bags until check-in, told room would be ready within 20 min and to help ourselves to breakfast. I had requested a lower floor room since my back had gone out recently and facing courtyard which was recommended by other Trip advisors for quiet. Very pleased got room on first floor. Very comfortable sized room with large bathroom. There is no closet, but we had packed light for the hot weather and the clothes bar with hangers and dresser were enough for us. The room was very quiet, only had people talking in courtyard first evening, but with air conditioner and tv we drifted right to sleep. Staff was very nice. We also got a bottle of sparkling wine with our room, which was very nice, to have a glass every evening. Just bought fruit around corner to eat with croissants and bagels for breakfast. Nice quiet tree lined street. Lots of restaurants just down the street. Will definitely stay again. Intrepid just down the street as is Circle line cruises.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank bernice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location is perfect, located "deadsmack" in the middle of all the excitement. Staff is very helpful, friendly, specially the night guy Fernando. Was very helpful planning my night when my plans got cancelled, one phone call and he got my into club Pacha, right down the block from hotel, which was great.
Cant really think of anything to complain about the 414, hotel is exatly how it is described online. Stayed in the second floor facing the streetside, a bit loud at night, but hey it was the weekend and plus its NYC!
Will definetely recommend to my friends and becoming a repeat guest would not but dificult.

Room Tip: street side room can become noise a night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy85_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ideally located between Hell's Kitchen and Times Square. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet street. Free wifi and basic breakfast. Basically a converted townhouse on a residential street. Air condition worked well which was vital for the day I stayed. Decent sized room but no desk to work on. TV remote broken but I didn't really need it so didn't mention to staff until check out. Be aware that there is no elevator with rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor and stairway is narrow. I would stay here again when I need to be in this part of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I were there for a week in July.


At first, we were not so happy about the Hotel, but we realized that the employee at the front desk was not really good. A bit too laid back.

As the days passed, we found that the other employees were all very nice people.

The room was ok for NYC. we went to see friends at another hotel and it was more or less the same thing, ie small room in the 200-250 $ range. We wouldn't have paid more for the Hotel. Our room was bigger though.

On the plus side : the site. There are plenty of restaurants in Hell's Kitchen and you are at walking distance of a lot of places like Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue, etc.

The breakfast was sober. Fruits would be appreciated and a bit more varieties. The coffee was great.

Although it was not a problem for us, there are no elevator in the Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLedMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#3 of 468 in New York City
360 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $266 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing