We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel. Great finding.”
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've stayed with my fiancee for only one night at the 414 hotel.

Finding a good hotel with a reasonable price in the heart of NYC is not an easy task - but 414 may be the solution.

414 is a really nice small hotel, close to Times Square, Port Authority Bus Terminal and Broadway Theaters, but in a quite calm part of the 46th Street.

The room was spacious, new and really clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only problem was the noise that came from the upper room and from the street at some moments. Not enough to ruin the night, but enough to not allowing me to give a 5 stars review.

As other reviewers have already stated, there is no elevator in the hotel, so be prepared to carry your own luggage up and downstairs.

If you are willing to stay in the region, probably you will not find a better option in this price range.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilianTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

The 414 is a relatively small hotel, with a good location near Times Square with plenty of restaurants nearby. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms could do with some refurbishment.
Since they do not have a restaurant, the breakfast is a bit basic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location, the staff, the breakfast, the bed, the loveliness! Was thrilled to find this place, its very well priced and so easy to be in. I was very happy here and didn't want to leave! It's right near the theatre district, Times Square and the major train stations. Just one hint, don't get Gray Line bus tours, they are just around the corner and made for a terrible experience (for me )

Room Tip: A room at the top would be best as you can hear everyone above you however if you have lots of lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furious c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hola all,

We travelled to NYC and stayed for 4 nights at the 414 hotel. We stumbled upon a Groupon and booked a great deal. I had to email the hotel twice with questions and received a prompt reply each time.

The hotel itself is close to the action and yet far from too much noise, a rare find in NYC. The room we stayed in was at the front of the hotel and faced the street. There was street noise however it was manageable and we slept solidly every night. The room was clean and spacious with down bedding and all the basic-necessity toiletries.

Breakfast was a highlight each day. Each morning there was fresh bread, bagels, croissants and cereal. There was 3 types of juice, coffee and tea as well. The kitchen stayed open from 7-7 providing fresh coffee, tea, hot chocolate and ice.

The day we departed we used the complimentary computer in the lobby to print our boarding passes. The hotel held our bags for the day (we had an evening flight) free of charge and hassle free.

Book this hotel with confidence! A gem in the city!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room for a silent sleep experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playalover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Traveled to NY before a cruise. Great staff who were friendly knowledgeable and helpful. Coordinatec the travel to the cruise ship terminal for all six of us. We were traveling with a 89king year old mom and the staff was gracious and made everything easy. They gave great food recommendations and sight seeing tips. Rooms are clean and simple. Not super large but since we were not in the room much thus was not a problem. We will be back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabogirl1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I absolutely LOVED hotel 414. It was small and cute and i went in christmas time so it felt so cosy walking in after the rain and being greeted with a smile from the staff and a fire going.The room was cosy and very modern with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall and the Bathroom was delightful compared to some others i have seen! the room had an i-phone dock which was very convenient A basic breakfast of pastries and bagels was included in the morning which was great to just grab and get going. The location is fantastic, as it is about a 5 minute walk to times Square, it is also situated amongst a jungle of fantastic restaurant's and is tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of times square, but not too far. The only thing with the Hotel is that there is no elevator so you have to make sure you can carry your bags up the narrow stair case. Overall I would Highly recommend the 414 hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabbySac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I took my wife away for a spantenous night out in New York City. Early evening, we had dinner at Copacabana Restaurant and then planned to club out later in the night. My wife wanted to rest for a few hours before we dance the night away. So, I looked for a hotel in the area and found this chic hotel tucked in the quiet street just walking distance from the Broadway Theatre District.. The minute we walked in this beautiful hotel, we felt extremely welcomed. The small lobby offering fireplace along with bistro tables and potted fresh flowers was extremely warm and inviting.
We had room 501 - Wow, what a charming spacious room wiht modern modern decor. The room has a nice view of high rise buildngs. The minute my wife laid on the bed, she was in heavan. The bed was felt rich/expensive, extremely comfortable with down pillows/duvet, felt as if we were staying in a 5-star hotel. We didn't plan to spend a night in the city, so we didn't have anything with us, but rest assured, the room offered an i-phone deck to charge our phones, the bathroom has all of our toiletry needs.
The hotel, the room, the bed, the view, the decor felt so nice, so perfect that we decided to just stay in and romance the night away. We slept so well - It was the best night we had in a long long time. It didn't end there; the morning massage shower was a wonderful experience, the complimentary breakfast was so fresh, offering pasteries, bagels, variety of coffee and tea. It was nice to see other guests had packed up the lobby having breakfast by the fireplace. We ended having herbal tea, crossants and begals in the hotel's charming courtyard, situated just between the front building and the back.
We truly had a better time than we have had at some of the 5-star hotels & without spending a fortune. It was an amazing one night - that we will never forget. The personal touch by the staff and management was so evident; it showed that they take pride in offering clean, comfortable, warm accommodations to the guests. The 414 Hotel is now the hotel of our choice; it is just perfect in all aspects.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
424 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 469 in New York City
7,235 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $265 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing