We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place - and Stellar Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place - and Stellar Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We excitedly booked the 414 Hotel for a long-planned weekend in NYC. Several friends had shared excellent personal reviews from their own stays, and were looking forward to it. Even with booking nearly three months in advance, we had the next to last vacancy for our 2nd set of date preferences. Think of the 414 Hotel as your personal, private brownstone apartment: the location is perfect, the room excellent (and quiet), the staff friendly and the advance communication prompt. We were welcomed warmly for an early arrival and spent one night before Hurricane Sandy stormed up the coast. As Jersey Shore residents, we needed to head home immediately on very short notice. The 414 Hotel was so understanding and immediately offered a refund of the unused nights. They gave their best wishes and said that the refund would appear within 48 hours -- and called a few hours after we left NYC to be sure that we'd arrived home in time. The refund was processed immediately and appeared well within the 48 hours and before our power was restored. Their staff and customer service --- and entire management team --- are stellar, and we look forward to returning!! Thank you--- and what a great place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEP425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    270
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
204
676
104
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oisterwijk, North Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

If you like small hotels on a good location at a reasonable price, this is the place to go. Good rooms with quite some space,, great diy breakfast, great location. I do miss the personal touch a bit...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Femke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Fab hotel
Clean cosy rooms
Fantastic location
Friendly helpful staff
Lovely breakfast
This is a great hotel at reasonable prices for NYC staff are super helpful and provide maps and local info on request
Breakfast is continental and tasty
Free tea and coffee all day and microwave in kitchen available
They also store your bags for free on the day you leave
A fantastic gem !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekimaddi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We got 102 on ground floor. Room normal but with the unavoidable carpet. Room just big enough for couple with 2 suitcases. Bathroom surprisingly big, bright and clean. Very positiv. window facing back yard with 4 tables, this was October and still possible to enjoy breakfast outdoors. Had to, not enough space inside for all guests around 8 AM.
Breakfast was like at home, people around the table making it easy to discuss matters with other guests. Very simple breakfast but ok. Very helpfull staff. Location very good.
An unexpected pleasure in a big city.

Room Tip: Facing back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

414 Hotel : Cute little "red-brick" hotel (approx. 20 rooms) with great location (2 blocks from Times Square) and excellent service. People working there are really helpful and charming :-) !!!
Spacious and clean rooms with confortable beds.
Good and simple breakfast with different variety of breads, cereal, jams, yogourts, coffee, tea, chocolate, juices etc.
We all enjoyed it and this will be the place where we will stay for our next trip to New York!
PS to Mary : Thanks again for the "limo", the kids loved it :-))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The 414 Hotel is located in a super spot. Right on restaurant row. Easy walking to many good restaurants. Subway access is close. Street is a nice neighborhood and reasonably quiet. Staff are friendly, helpful. Breakfast offering is enough to get you going.

Room Tip: Be prepared for having to hike the stairs, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCFarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 6 days and thought it was in a great location ( Hells Kitchen ), I loved the bed, so comfy, and the entire place felt like home. I would stay here again. I wish that they had plugs by the side of the bed for cell phone plug in,( you could bring a short extension cord for this) and I wish that they had an elevator, but have stayed in the city many many times, and this time was the best. We were in room 301, and it was so quiet. The walk to Times Square is only about 8 minutes. Loved the charming breakfast they served. Free WIFI is also great. The only thing wrong with our room, was we could have used more pillows, and extra hangers since we stayed for almost a week, and they did not have either. It was a boutique hotel for sure. The staff was wonderful also. I loved the exercise of the steps since we ate so much in the city. I loved being in the back facing the courtyard also. The blinds were wonderful at keeping the morning sun out of our face. I agree about the price being a bit high, but everything in the city is pricey. I can't wait to stay here again. And will be sure to tell people about it. The showers do need to be re-grouted, but very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Stay in ROOM #301 Excellent choice facing the back courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanputrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,444 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Property: 414 Hotel
Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing