We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 West Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
3 West Club
Ranked #367 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My daughter was married here in September 2013. The experience was very thing she had hoped for and more. Several of us spent the night and the rooms were very nice. My daughter and her husband has a suite that was truly lovely. They were doing some updating work, but where more than helpful in seeing that the workers had very cleaned up before the wedding. The food was excellent and the service superior. We highly recommend this place for a wedding, other event of just a weekend get away. This is a very old building, and it was amazing that once you closed the door, there was no sound for the hallways.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baileysmom928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
37
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked via a Thomas cook agent and they were not wrong at all when they said it was in an ideal location. Just a 5-7 min walk to Times Square - close enough to get to but far enough away to hide from. On arrival at the hotel we were early, this wasn't a problem as the very helpful and friendly reception staff at first said we can store our bags as our room wasn't ready but was then able to check us into a different room that was ready - we were room 805 (8th floor). On entering the hotel it is noticeable that it is of the older fashion design and is not 'fashionable' but it is tasteful, nice, clean and welcoming. The entrance is still grand. From the decor and the lifts you can tell this is an older hotel but this was defiantly not a problem for us visiting as a young couple. When we got into our room we were very pleased ... It was a very good size, very presentable and clean. The bed was a queen size! There was 3/4 bedside units for storage, a nice spacey bathroom and a storage cupboard/wardrobe. The view from our window wasn't great but we were only there to sleep, we could see the church which was beautiful. Our bathroom is due a refurbishment in my eyes, it was nice and it was clean but there was some rust visible, some marks in the bath and the tiles needed a bit of love. In the whole of our room we could also only find one plug socket that would work, and that was the one in the bathroom. Also, the lights didn't all work in our room so at times it was darker than I would have liked. There was a little noise from outside which started earlish in the morning but it didn't cause us any problems at all. Don't be put off by the heat of the reception area or lifts (which is very warm) as once you are in your room it is the right temperature. We were told on booking that the hotel had wifi however; we were never able to connect to this - wifi would be a very welcomed addition to this hotel. We didn't visit the restaurant/bar/solarium so would be unable to comment. The deli/cafe next door to the hotel is fab for breakfast! There was 2 weddings taking place during our 5 night stay and at first when we got back one evening we were worried that the loud music would be a pain however; once in our room with the door closed we didn't hear it at all! We were able to keep our bags safe as our flight was way after check out time. The hotel is so close to Rockefeller centre too!! We would defiantly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again if we were to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lucyandscott25052012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

very nice hotel, recommended it to me my friend and I am impressed, clean, and the quality is pretty good as the more expensive hotels, is close to the city center, the atmosphere welcoming as the family home, all ok and no problems would recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank adrianek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Decent value, friendly staff & excellent location. This is a members club and you can stay there by invitation. No frills, however, if you just need a place to sleep and shower I would recommend. Taxi drivers did had some difficulty locating but once I new how to explain there was generally no problems getting there. It can be congested around that area as shows are busy at night so allow enough time to catch cab or other transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Centrally and superbly situated for exploring Manhattan. 2 subway-stations very nearby The staff is very friendly and very helpfull, The rooms are large and clean but a little bit old-fashioned. No breakfast in the week-end

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grotenbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with the beautiful and quaint boutique hotel. The food is delicious and fresh, and the table linens freshly pressed. Staff really accommodating. Front desk clerks great with info, maps, and general help. The best part is the location - West 51st and 5th Ave in midtown.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinghall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had 5 nights here and were unsure as to what to expect for the price and some reviews on here. It was infact nothing less than excellent and anyone who has said otherwise has very strange ideas of a good hotel! The rooms were clean, beds comfy, staff excellent and couldn't do enough for all guests. We unfortunately chose to stay just before, during and after hurricaine sandy and said before we left that the reason for paying less for our hotel was 'we are not going to spend anytime in our room when we are in New York'! This was put the the test as we couldn't really leave the hotel for a couple of days during our stay while the storm was passing! We found during this time, we felt safe, reassured, welcome and well looked after despite there being only 3 members of staff instead of approx 25!! One of the fantastic men on reception even lent me his own mobile charger after I was unable to get another - most accomodating.

We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and its staff for a stay in New York and if we ever visited again we would not consider looking anywhere else - the location was MORE THAN 5* and a New Yorker that gave us a tour said you could expect to pay $500 a night to stay where we were!!

Thank you again everyone, what a fabulous find!

Room Tip: We were room 701 and found this brilliant - expect some noise you are in NEW YORK!! We slept perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tanya U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#256 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#103 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#169 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#362 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#308 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#244 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 West Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 West Club

Property: 3 West Club
Address: 3 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6909
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 3 West Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 West Club is ideally located in Mid-town Manhattan. Steps away from Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, St. Patrick's Cathedral and shopping on 5th Avenue. The 3 West Club offers 25 hotel rooms including two spacious suites for your enjoyment. We also have over 7000 sq feet of meeting space perfect for your next reception, dinner party, board meeting, corporate seminars and elegant receptions. As we are housed in the clubhouse of the Women's National Republican Club, we do require guests that utilize our Pub and Restaurant adhere to a dress code. Men are required to wear jackets and ties and women should be attired in dresses, skirts or pant suits. Jeans, shorts and flip flops are not allowed in the restaurant or bar area. Please contact the front desk for assistance with the dress code. We also do not have a business center. Our check in time is 3 PM and our check out time is noon. We cannot guarantee early check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your 3 West Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 West Club Hotel New York City
3 West Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing