We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean rooms and in great location”
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #300 of 467 Hotels in New York City
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super clean rooms and in great location”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Prior to staying I read the reviews so there was no surprise that the rooms were small... It cracked me up as to how many people were "shocked" at how small the rooms were.. Come on people it's stated in almost every review! I didn't care because I didn't go to NY to lock myself up in a room. It was clean and served it's purpose. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The location was great! Really close to the subway (1 block) and close to the museums. Times Square was a hop, skip, and jump by subway. Would def go back and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luv2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    537
    337
    101
    111
See reviews for
141
630
158
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was the cheapest we found in Midtown NYC. Still it was a wonderful hosting!
Bedrooms very clean, the staff always helped needed. There are also employees who speak Spanish.
It's just a pity not to have morning coffee or food at the hotel, but this is no problem in New Yourk, because there is always a delivery.
Best of all is receiving packets no charge for this service.
Before we went we read some comments about bedrooms be small, but we stayed in a room for persons with special needs and the size was very comfortable and spacious.

Room Tip: Bedroom for persons with special needs and the size was very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbnerTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. I can echo the other reviews:small rooms, no coffee machine, very very noisy heating. Our TV worked , and we had to choose between heating and tv, as together was not possible for the noise. Our toilet broke down but was repaired the day after. Internet was slow but worked.
Apart from noise, good place to stay. With earplugs this is a "go!"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapengobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Have just finished a 15 night stay here and it has been great staying there.

We went in with very low expectations and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very small but they are clean and cosy.

We had a private bathroom in a twin room and the bathroom was AMAZING! So modern and the shower was powerful. The room also had a wardrobe which was unexpected along with a flatscreen television.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Location is perfect for if you want to be away from the chaos of midtown and experience something with more of a neighbourhood vibe. It's very easy to get anywhere with the various subways.

It's definitely a no frills hotel but this is what we wanted. When we did have issues including the television breaking and the toilet flooding they were fixed immediately.

My only negative is that the heating system is EXTREMELY noisy. Even when ours was turned off we could hear next door's and at first we thought it was a helicopter outside. We had to turn ours off because it was VERY VERY noisy.

But apart from that, a great stay!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are better as they have extra space between the beds and also an extra space where the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Benson830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a great affordable hotel on the upper west side. Rooms are small as others have said but if you're on holiday in NYC you're not there to stay in your room. Rooms are clean and the location is excellent, minutes away from the subway and a short walk from Central Park. The cleaning staff were lovely. Only thing we'd have liked was a mini safe in the room but otherwise this seems hard to beat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank roxanne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed ther with a friend of mine during holiday season 2013. The hotel was very clean, decent size of rooms, the staff was friendly and helpfull. One of the great points in our stay there was the location of the hotel. % minutes walk from subway, made the whole trip transportation a piece of cake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stathis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a clean, safe, convenient landing place for anyone visiting New York.
Subway and buses are steps away to get everywhere in the city. The rooms are clean (wood and tile floors let you see how clean!) and very comfortable. The heat and air work well (tested during the week of snow and below zero temperatures in January), the bed and linens were top notch. The bathroom was updated and spotless.
The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Questions were answered, requests were fulfilled (I too experienced the mysterious noise, but they responded and resolved whatever it was immediately), and they were always pleasant, day and night.
The room was not spaceous, but if you are only sleeping there, there is plenty of usable space. In my full week's stay the internet and tv worked without a hitch!
The price is right, great location, good people...GO!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 467 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#391 of 467 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,608 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 467 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Property: Belnord Hotel
Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing