We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small room”
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #303 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although the room was very small, it was very clean and the location was ok. The staff is friendly and fast. It was very surprising, my friend and I didn't expect it to be this good because it was much cheaper comparing to the other options we had booking at last minute. The metro station is close and there are some markets near, where you can buy some food to make breakfast and dinner cheaper than in restaurants.

Room Tip: If you don't want luxurious rooms, get the cheapest one. Even if it's small it's enough...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raissaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
There are newer reviews for Belnord Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wasn't so sure about this place when we booked, but it was a pleasant surprise 'coz it ticked all the most important boxes (at least for me): a.good location, b.clean rooms and beds and
c.good quality Wi-Fi. The room's really tiny, but it's always clean, comfortable and doesn't smell mouldy and no carpet stains. Helpful and friendly staff, specially the south-american ones. Great Upper West side location to the ones who rather avoid the super crowded and noisy areas of Manhattan, at least for when it's bed time. Really nice local restaurants, cafes and bars on the surrounding area with less tourists - good to get a better feeling of the new yorker life style. Easy to get around, as you have a subway station right next door on 86th and Broadway. Also quite a few good designer stores in the area for the shopaholics. A very good option for the ones who wanna avoid the crowds and don't wanna spend too much on accommodation to shop, eat and drink more.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 4th floor. Much quieter than the ones on the ground level.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabriciocampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was here for four days on a work trip, and for this purpose, the hotel was sufficient. The rooms are rather small, and the bathroom was REALLY small, even for me (I'm only 5 foot 2). Still, the room and bed were comfortable, and the hotel is in a great location on the upper west side of Manhattan, a short subway ride to Times Square. I'm not sure this is somewhere you'd go for a romantic holiday, but if you want be near the centre of New York, and you're on a budget, you could do worse than this place! The staff were also really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the elevators as possible.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great Upper West Side location, helpful staff. Literally have never seen a smaller hotel room. There was nowhere to lay out the suitcase on the floor. Even the halls are narrow. But you can't beat the spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room size of the Belnord, given the location in NYC could be forgiven if it weren't for the atrocious service. We booked our room on travelocity and despite showing the front desk attendant our reservation confirmation, he refused to honor it because he could not find it in his computer, stating that Travelocity did not enter it into the system, which he said has happened before several times. Rather than contacting Travelocity himself to resolve the issue, he told us to contact Travelocity and forced us to sit in the lobby for the next hour at midnight. Travelocity stated they they sent him info, which he says had not been received and continued to argue with us about what Travelocity should be doing, prompting him to force us to call Travelocity a second time. It was only when we became insistent that he resolve the dispute directly with Travelocity that he finally called them, and then proceeded to talk down to the person on the phone and not believe them either that the reservation was real (despite them giving obvious details on the phone of our reservation) and demanded to know their names and how to contact them should it be false so he can track them down and hold them accountable. While sitting in the lobby for an hour we got to witness the same staff being rude, abrupt, and unclear to multiple people that came to check in, mostly because they handed over debit instead of credit cards to put a hold on the room, which meant that the Hotel would put a $200 hold on the debit cards...this is a fairly easy explanation, but he managed to make it into a semi-hostile and confusing encounter with many guests. In the end, when we were finally allowed to check into the room at 12:30 am, he apologized, but we were pretty frustrated by that point.

The room: Oy, other reviewers are not exaggerating when they say how small the room is. It actually made me laugh multiple times whenever we would try to maneuver through the room because it was so small that you could almost touch all four side with your arms and legs outstretched, almost...if you were a basketball player, you totally would. It was a modern feat in architecture really to be able to design a usable space that small that was not a prison cell. I don't think a TV would have fit in the room if they did not have the modern wall mounted kind. The beds are very hard and the blankets are rough and uncomfortable. The temperature of the room could not be adjusted to a comfortable level, despite having an adjustment box available.

The pros: it was clean, the price was great for NYC, and the location was perfect, just a little ways from Central Park. However, given the frustration we encountered, I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect quite safe location to explore New York. The staff are very friendly, informative and helpful. Although our twin room was small it was very clean (the maid service was excellent & we came back to an immaculate room each evening!) with a nice bathroom with a walk in shower! Although there isn't a lot of storage space there is a large cupboard which is sufficient for clothes and luggage! We made good use of the ice making machine for drinks when we were in our room! We stayed here for 6 nights & thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The one thing that would make a stay here even better would be tea/coffee making facilities in the room!
Thank you to the staff for helping to make our stay in New York perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacimp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Belnord Hotel is located in the Upper West Side, which is a great area: quiet, close to Central Park, surrounded by subway stations. It's a really good place if you are looking for a cheap hotel in Manhattan. It serves no breakfast, but there's more than one Starbucks in the surroundings: it's definitely pleasant to have a bagel and a coffee as a real New Yorker. The rooms are tiny, but absolutely clean. No carpet on the floor, which is quite nice. Before I got there I checked some of the comments here: I understand the bedrooms are not huge, but who comes to New York to spend time in the hotel? The Belnord is perfect for tourists that do not pretend too much and love to enjoy a quiet and simple New York City experience! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlottaTedoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#315 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 468 in New York City
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#393 of 468 in New York City
1,615 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 468 in New York City
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $85 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing