We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #302 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Not a bad hotel if you plan on staying in the city just a few nights. The rooms are pretty small though so any prolonged stay in this hotel may leave you feeling pretty cramped. With that said, the rooms are very clean and are cleaned daily. I would have given this hotel four stars if it wasn't for the poor wifi signal throughout the hotel. The wifi signal is very weak and is hit or miss. I was lucky if I stood connected to the internet for five minutes before the signal was lost and took me another 20 minutes just to try to connect again. I wasn't the only guest with this problem, I heard another man in the lobby complaining at the front desk about the wifi problem. Overall this is a great hotel, but if you need the interent to work/study you might want to find another place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ron316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

They gave us the key to an occupied room and we walked in on a man in his underwear. When we went downstairs, there was another couple at the desk and they asked us, "Did you get someone else's room key too?" The desk clerks were laughing about it, but it wasn't funny to the man in his underwear. We were scared to leave anything in our room because they were just handing out room keys downstairs.

Also, the rooms are the size of a bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without any other people in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The good:
+very inexpensive for NYC
+newly renovated (was an apt until recently) including stone surfaces in the bathroom
+upper westside location a bit calmer than midtown/Times Square - this is mainly a residential neighborhood but with many local restaurants, stores etc
+clean
+convenient to bus & subway including the bus lines that cross Central Park

The bad:
+very compact - we had a room with double bed (not queen or king), one nightstand, wall-mounted tv and no "extra" space - we did not mind (especially for the price), but you should know before booking
+there is a tub in the bathroom but it is small, maybe 4' length (vs 5' for household standard)
+most tourist sites are a bus/subway/taxi ride away (not a walk)
+rates are capacity controlled; we paid under $100 for our room, when we asked the front desk if that was typical they said during a busy time our room could be $155 - which is *still* very inexpensive for NYC but is a big % more than we paid on a Tuesday

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is a very simple, but quite cosy structure. The rooms are small, but they have parquet on the floor and the bathroom is newly renovated with everything you need inside. All the rooms are cleaned daily, they even change your towels and sheets. The wifi is working in all the room, but you have to ask for a new password everyday. The location is very good to reach almost all the city. The red metro is just crossing the main road. Stuff is kind. There's no possibility to have breakfast inside. Anyway starbucks, supermarkets and other places are very close.

Room Tip: my room was at 5th floor and it was ok. You have to switch off the heating while you are in because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_fox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was really insistent about the area we stayed in as safaety was a priority and I was really pleased with this choice. Although the room was small and the bed was smaller than ours back home it was really cozy and the service was very good. Front desk even called my shuttle service for me to confirm the reservation and made no charge for the call, they stored our luggage away safely whilst we enjoyed our last day after checkout as we had an evening flight. The area was absolutely spot on, two blocks from central park, one block from the subway and 3 major roads all within walking distance that housed many fine eateries and bars and shops. The price we paid was cheap as chips however since it was off season I expected we'd get a good deal. A great first time location, would consider again. Only one downside, no coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnep_Willerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels and this one is run by some hard nosed people who lie. This is not the best area to stay in but it was within 8 blocks of where I was going so I booked as I was visiting 8 blocks away. Primarily for the prices. They denied me a credit after they said on the phone I could cancel. Major Snowstorm. City completely closed. Two days notice. I called on WED for FRI cancel. When I called to re-book they said "WE are a small hotel", and denied any credit. Woulnt even give me buck off as a credit. THEN ... I found their prices were actually higher than The Days Inn on 94th, next to where I needed to go. Skip this budget hotel and their lies; and stay at the Days INN. Cheaper and a big upgrade.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HillClimberEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed there 1 week in august 2011.
Nothing to complain about, rooms was clean and very big (i don't know why but they gave us the invalid people room) with wood on the floor and not the stupid moquette.
Very clean and spacious.
I definitely will come back if I return in Ny!
Metro at 5 minutes walk.
A lot of restaurants nearby.
A starbucks 1 minute from the hotel :) perfect for breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliponiuoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 469 in New York City
1,567 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
648 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 469 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#393 of 469 in New York City
1,629 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#433 of 469 in New York City
1,992 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $63 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing